its the same everywhere, the only difference is that we dont rule by skin color.Originally posted by will4:Is it not the same in Spore? When the local economy is down or doing well, the local have trouble with those foreign professional except the local dared
not make racist remark.
Care to elaborate what u meant? In Australia, like what u said when the Australian economy is not doing well, those local Australian will be prejudicedOriginally posted by Gazelle:its the same everywhere, the only difference is that we dont rule by skin color.
There is no perfect solution but Spore is becoming like HK in which the fast paced life plus the small flat is causing more local to migrate to biggerOriginally posted by Gazelle:Singapore island is just too small lah...if everywhere is freehold, government will have to use more tax payers money to acquire land for infrastructure isnt it? Do you have a better solution to the problem?
beside price falling, US$ is also weakening against major currency. Good luck to your investment in US.Originally posted by will4:There is no perfect solution but Spore is becoming like HK in which the fast paced life plus the small flat is causing more local to migrate to bigger
developed countries. In US, the subprime mortgage is causing many foreclosure of many houses. Maybe local considering migrating to US should make use of this chance to buy the houses since the prices has spiral downwards.
HK one quite jialat.Originally posted by Gazelle:beside price falling, US$ is also weakening against major currency. Good luck to your investment in US.
How would you rate Singapore public housing vs. those in HK.
I would say Spore is definitely better than HK but aiya the two also small compared to the houses in Indonesia. HK people smart, buy houses n whenOriginally posted by Gazelle:beside price falling, US$ is also weakening against major currency. Good luck to your investment in US.
urm.....really? how many times have I heard chinese singaporeans calling indian singaporeans mangali ? In Primary and Secondary school in Singapore, I heard racist comments about other ethnic races. Face it - racism is everywhere- majority rules and my ethnicity aka chinese just happens to be the majority in Singapore . In Australia, it is the caucasians. I believe in respecting others as you want yourself to be respected. Your type of racism is related to whether the media wants to keep quiet or expose it . In the world, money just happens to overrule racism.Originally posted by Gazelle:its the same everywhere, the only difference is that we dont rule by skin color.
And you think if the US markets crash, Singapore won't be affected?Originally posted by Gazelle:beside price falling, US$ is also weakening against major currency. Good luck to your investment in US.
Originally posted by Gazelle:A) 6 million means more people they can tax . Or else how to sustain million dollar salary of ministers?
What is wrong with taxing people who come to Singapore to make money? Australian government dont tax people like you?
Oh they tax - but at least I get free hospital , a pension if I need one and welfare if I need it . Not to mention , education is so much cheaper. At least I know Australia is my home now - it was the country who nurtured me through scholarships and career growth ( even though it seems so racist to you) . Singapore didn't - Singapore hindered my progress forcing me to turn to Australia.
Does singapore government need to increase the population to pay of ministers salary? Will you be able to tell us how many millions are spent on ministers salary per year?
Hey , Singapore is the ONLY country in the world paying the ministers million. You can't deny it or twist the argument around. With million dollar ministers, how come Singaporeans have to pay so much for health care and other benefits?
B) Yes I agree with you on point B. Talent = skill. World is globalising . Singapore has to remain competitive by wage control. But not to worry , other developed countries need labour to remain competitive , so higher pay elsewhere if you want to take it up.
If you are nurse Australia will welcome you with open arms?
Yah so? Nursing in demand now - not enough nurses in the world. So if one place does not want to hike the pay of the nurses - there is always another willing to double up on the offer. Globalisation can be argued both ways . I am not a nurse now - just an health data analyst / statistician- which also happens to be in shortage now .
C) Rather be 2nd class citizen with my own freehold property and free hospital treatment with a pension waiting for me ,rather than be first class with third class salary and busy paying off a HDB 99 year old lease til I die. Anyways money make people first class everywhere lah. So if you have money , no one can screw you over.
In Singapore, we not so lucky lah...we pay very little income tax, our mortgage interest rate are low, very accessible hospital and polyclinic islandwide, good public transport infrastructure, no issues with guns, shops are always open, we are able to eat hawker good instead of having to eat that boring sandwiches, our children and families wont have to live with racist remarks and most of all, we are able to sing national anthem without being labelled as a fool.
O RLY? Your attempt at sarcasm fails miserably. Yeah my melbourne CBD apartment price is the same as a HDB 2 bedroom aka 3-room flat 99 year lease ....poor me. Yah public transport sucks here but cars are cheap ...still poor me. Free public hospitals and heavily subsidised doctors in Australia ....poor me. I have to tolerate and try not to laugh at rednecks .......wah such suffering..aiiiyoo buay tahan . Yah Singapore very free of crime such as murder - like real - sh*t happens everywhere. Anything better to say?
Originally posted by fymk:A) 6 million means more people they can tax . Or else how to sustain million dollar salary of ministers?
What is wrong with taxing people who come to Singapore to make money? Australian government dont tax people like you?
Oh they tax - but at least I get free hospital , a pension if I need one and welfare if I need it . Not to mention , education is so much cheaper
Singaporeans now hor are very smart leh, because mah pao tan teach us there is not such thing as free lunch. And hor, I believe not so long ago I have already shown you that Australian governmet collect more income tax than what they spend on your so call "free" health care and education...and not to forget that Australian are living on foreign debt and guess who is funding the borrowing? hard workers like you loh!!
Hey , Singapore is the ONLY country in the world paying the ministers million. You can't deny it or twist the argument around. With million dollar ministers, how come Singaporeans have to pay so much for health care and other benefits?
If you cant tell me how much the govenment spend in paying the ministers, then why do you say they need to increase Singapore population to 6m to justify their salary?
B) Yes I agree with you on point B. Talent = skill. World is globalising . Singapore has to remain competitive by wage control. But not to worry , other developed countries need labour to remain competitive , so higher pay elsewhere if you want to take it up.
If you are nurse Australia will welcome you with open arms?
Yah so? Nursing in demand now - not enough nurses in the world. So if one place does not want to hike the pay of the nurses - there is always another willing to double up on the offer. Globalisation can be argued both ways . I am not a nurse now - just an analyst.
It doesnt matter if you are a nurse or a surgeon
C) Rather be 2nd class citizen with my own freehold property and free hospital treatment with a pension waiting for me ,rather than be first class with third class salary and busy paying off a HDB 99 year old lease til I die. Anyways money make people first class everywhere lah. So if you have money , no one can screw you over.
In Singapore, we not so lucky lah...we pay very little income tax, our mortgage interest rate are low, very accessible hospital and polyclinic islandwide, good public transport infrastructure, no issues with guns, shops are always open, we are able to eat hawker good instead of having to eat that boring sandwiches, our children and families wont have to live with racist remarks and most of all, we are able to sing national anthem without being labelled as a fool.
O RLY? Your attempt at sarcasm fails miserably. Yeah my melbourne CBD apartment price is the same as a 2 bed room price ....poor me. Yah public transport sucks here but cars are cheap ...still poor me. Free public hospitals and heavily subsidised doctors in Australia ....poor me. I have to tolerate and try not to laugh at rednecks .......wah such suffering..aiiiyoo buay tahan . Yah Singapore very free of crime such as murder - like real - sh*t happens everywhere. Anything better to say?
Of course lah, most Singaporeans are not so lucky...our parents cant afford to give us money to buy CBD apartment overseas...wah CBD leh...what is that? must be very expensive right? but hor Singaporeans are not as heavily taxed as australian lah and our mortgage loan is only 3 over %....I read from some journal that Australia crime rate is among the highest in developed countries. is this correct?
[/color]
How would rate SG's chances of success without USA?Originally posted by Gazelle:beside price falling, US$ is also weakening against major currency. Good luck to your investment in US.
Sorry, we are talking about investment opportunity, not if one country can survive without another or if which country is better than the other.Originally posted by reddressman:How would rate SG's chances of success without USA?
I am with you all the way, that you know right, Gazelle?
So, trust me and tell me, what are the chances?
Also, could SG be SG without USA in the first place? Lets just merely look at the economic aspect.
Of course . Those people who have not lived in another country should not start bringing on Singapore is better than all other countries. It's hilarious really.Originally posted by udontknowme:just about every other thread here will end up being something about Singapore VS australia.
and always the same old sh|t...
Originally posted by Gazelle:Singaporeans now hor are very smart leh, because mah pao tan teach us there is not such thing as free lunch. And hor, I believe not so long ago I have already shown you that Australian governmet collect more income tax than what they spend on your so call "free" health care and education...and not to forget that Australian are living on foreign debt and guess who is funding the borrowing? hard workers like you loh!!
HAHHAHAHA. If you would like to think so.
If you cant tell me how much the govenment spend in paying the ministers, then why do you say they need to increase Singapore population to 6m to justify their salary?
Common sense. There is no natural resources in Singapore. I didn't say that they are justifying their salary. As far as I know, they do not need to justify - they just pay themselves . I am only saying it is a means to sustain their salary. Big Difference.
It doesnt matter if you are a nurse or a surgeon
As long as you have a skill in demand, does it really matter? Your point?
Of course lah, most Singaporeans are not so lucky...our parents cant afford to give us money to buy CBD apartment overseas...wah CBD leh...what is that? must be very expensive right? but hor Singaporeans are not as heavily taxed as australian lah and our mortgage loan is only 3 over %....I read from some journal that Australia crime rate is among the highest in developed countries. is this correct?
Who say all of us have parents who gave us money to buy overseas apartments? My money was invested by my parents - still my money hor when it went into the apartment. Worked since 15...I am not so spoilt as some kids who just stretch out the hands and ask for pocket money.
Ya lor , some of us cannot act so rich by showing off the second Audi in Singapore or the 0.something percent of a property we "own" in whatever coast even though they say that Australia is so racist....why even bother investing then?
Don't act stupid and shame Singaporean education. CBD = central business district- even a secondary school kid knows it. Yah not taxed as heavily in Singapore but what to say when the pay after tax in Australia is actually still two to three times more than Singapore's salary?
Originally posted by fymk:I have been 35, how many have you been to?
Of course . Those people [b]who have not lived in another country should not start bringing on Singapore is better than all other countries. It's hilarious really.[/b]
Ah I didn't say that anyone is better.Originally posted by udontknowme:living in just two countries doesnt make one any better
after all, there are lots of people who migrate because they really like a certain country or really dislike a certain country
it's all really biased sh|t
You lived in 35 countries for one year at least? Or you went to 35 countries for a holiday? Or you are 35 years old? Which is it?Originally posted by Gazelle:I have been 35, how many have you been to?
My point exactly to Gazelle. I recalled he just said that he went to Australia for a holiday and his stupid fiasco picking up some first class ticket stub to show everyone he went first class to Europe.Originally posted by udontknowme:going to a certain place for horleeday doesnt count as 'staying' there ok![]()
i know...TOO many people. goes off to country A for a 2 week holiday. come back, decided that it's the best place in the world and wants to move there for the rest of their lives.
really, WHAT do you know about that place when ur there for 2 weeks?????? ><
esp if ur there for just a holiday....
and no matter how much u read or research on a certain place, it's never enough.
i lived in country A for 17 years.
and until today, im still learning new stuff about the culture, traditions etc about this country once in a while.
culture shock. reverse culture shock. this. that...bleagh!
Originally posted by fymk:fymk, stop give us all that stupid crap about free education, health and bla bla bla in Australia lah. Singaporeans are knowledgeable and well traveled enough to know that the reason you get them" free" is because you are paying taxes through your nose unless you are a beach bum living on welfare.
Ah I didn't say that anyone is better.
I am saying that if someone has not lived in the country he is criticising- [b]he does not have the right to make disparaging remarks about it.
Got a problem with that?
It 's almost akin to going to an orthopedic surgeon for a neurological problem.[/b]