A world leader company , say IBN or Microshof or GD or P&E (example hypothetical companys) can still be the best company if they rename to other names. This means, its the talents inside and not the company name.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:As long as you have a good bunch of people running the show, there is not much to fear if one or two of them fail. You can replace them.
For example, PAP had their bad nuts. Teh Cheng Wan, a minister that committed suicide is a good example.
What is important is for the leaders to be honest, open, meritocratic and unbiased.
The present regime is filled with cronies, opaque, and refuses to be accountable.
Yet their performance is not as bad as what you would expect given their treachery.
The reason is simple, not everyone is a bad nut in the government.
What this suggest is that the opposition can take over any time as long as they uphold the rule of democracy, openness, honesty and meritocracy.
You don't need to be a rocket scientist to be honest, open yourself to be accountable and practice meritocracy.
hmmmm..... I have no doubts there are many in this forum who are very 'capable' in terms of running this country, the central bank, CPF and what not. But first I would like to know what they do now!Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Let's say Mr. Low Thia Khiang becomes Prime Minister and Ms Sylvia Lim becomes 2nd Prime Minister and being wise people and knowing that they do not know much about central bank operations, they than search far and wide for a candidate to be in charge of the central bank to run the day to day operations.
Even better, they form a central bank committee made up or honorable people and appoint one of them to be the chairman.
You think that they cannot find people like that to run the central bank?
In the same way, they can do it for every ministry.
Don't be stupid people and buy the propaganda that without those dishonorable dictators Singapore cannot run.
i think like this. family business is business for the family. The interest is in the family. listed company interest is mainly the shareholders who is the Public.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:In business, Brand is something. I think what you are saying is, a company's name is nothing.
Pizza Hut was sold to Auric recently. The company name behind the brand has changed but that is transparent to the consumers that see the brand Pizza Hut
What might be a better example are family owned companies.
It has been shown that the the best run family owned businesses are not those run by family members but those that are run by professional managers.
The point I was trying to make was that even family owned businesses, the best run ones are those that the family let professionals run the business.Originally posted by reddressman:i think like this. family business is business for the family. The interest is in the family. listed company interest is mainly the shareholders who is the Public.
Exactly, the PM's husband can lose one million a day (Micropolis) and get 1/4 million bonus and get promoted and then go on to lose billions in Shin Corp and Barclays this year alone.Originally posted by reddressman:I can see and understand what your concern is lah.
like their 29th cousin given post of director and screws up they cover up lah since kaki lang pa si bo what what lah.
And we would also be stupid if we buy your argument that the opposition can take over running Singapore any time.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Don't be stupid people and buy the propaganda that without those dishonorable dictators Singapore cannot run.
wah so simple and idealistic. Like that any fool can oso run the country. Greed is everywhere. If you wait till your MP cheat your money, it might be very late because everybody else will cheat you first! Now you tell me how opposition MPs can check corruption? Do they keep an eye like PIs, follow other MPs around, see where they go, what they eat, whose hands they hold, which holes they go to?Originally posted by sunnytv:I do believe opposition can take over anytime, so that we can compare who rule better. Plus competition led to brain storm. Most of our MP have slacken down alot. It oso test Singaporean adaptability and Flexibility to different rule. If it led to chao, I think Singapore is a total failure. But if we can adjust well, it mean we can take on bigger challenge. Opposition can check on govt & govt can check on opposition. A balance between Yin & Yang. 2 opp VS 80++MP is too big difference. Do we have to wait until all our hard earned money being cheated by greedy MP before we make noise? How sure r we that our MP r not corrupted? bcose there r no one to check on them.
Right.Originally posted by sunnytv:I do believe opposition can take over anytime, so that we can compare who rule better. Plus competition led to brain storm. Most of our MP have slacken down alot. It oso test Singaporean adaptability and Flexibility to different rule. If it led to chao, I think Singapore is a total failure. But if we can adjust well, it mean we can take on bigger challenge. Opposition can check on govt & govt can check on opposition. A balance between Yin & Yang. 2 opp VS 80++MP is too big difference. Do we have to wait until all our hard earned money being cheated by greedy MP before we make noise? How sure r we that our MP r not corrupted? bcose there r no one to check on them.
but of course, you know I was referring to family business in general and not about any particular one lah.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Exactly, the PM's husband can lose one million a day (Micropolis) and get 1/4 million bonus and get promoted and then go on to lose billions in Shin Corp and Barclays this year alone.
That is not considering Global Crossing and the others.
We all know how NKF can look so good when it is infested with worms. This is the situation now... wayang wayang with propaganda in the press daily... and sue people for defamation when they simply ask questions.
When Silvia in parliament questioned them about changing to law so that Ho Ching's wife can make two appointments into the judiciary committee, the barbarian issued her veiled threats.![]()
I read an article about that once... family businesses with professionals running the business did best of all.... when comparing family owned and non-family owned businesses...Originally posted by reddressman:but of course, you know I was referring to family business in general and not about any particular one lah.![]()
quote:Originally posted by pearlie27:And we would also be stupid if we buy your argument that the opposition can take over running Singapore any time.
yeah, it is so simple bcos u think too complicated. If Singaporean r unidealistic, can we reali come so far? U mean Singaporean r all fool except the 80+Mps who r talent bcos they r allow to run the country. Then, u & me r the greatest fool bcos we dun even have the chance to run the country. If greed r everywhere, should we let it be? Rape r oso everywhere, we should oso let it be, right? Opposition can have greater power to check the account handle by Finance Minister. u mean u reali trust them without asking & checking, then u r worse than a fool bcos at least they would ask a few questions b4 getting cheated. They dun need to follow them but they can hire professional like PIs & Accounting auditor to check on their accounts. The question is they cannot do so bcos unaccessible by the gahman. Why? Afraid dark secret will leaked out.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:wah so simple and idealistic. Like that any fool can oso run the country. Greed is everywhere. If you wait till your MP cheat your money, it might be very late because everybody else will cheat you first! Now you tell me how opposition MPs can check corruption? Do they keep an eye like PIs, follow other MPs around, see where they go, what they eat, whose hands they hold, which holes they go to?
Those that say the opposition cannot are insulting the millions of Singaporeans (like you said) that are working day by day towards the success of Singapore.Originally posted by Atobe:Singapore is what it is today due to the co-operation, contribution, and efforts put up by the ordinary Singaporeans.
Can anyone believe that a political party of a few hundred souls can perform the various tasks without the inputs of the millions of Singaporeans ?
With the support of Singaporeans, the Alternative Political Party can take over running Singapore any time - and the POWER OF ONE knows this as a fact.
bcos all the dust and dirt are lying low mah!Originally posted by fai:why would u put the word "lowly" beside road sweeper
Originally posted by sunnytv:hmmm .... I think complicated? Not sure whether I could think that way. Actually hor, SGreans are practical fools except the MPs. Why didn't they swamped the MP office or parliament and declare we can run the country. Also, anyone can petition parliament and put forward questions to the MPs or ministers. You don't need to be in opposition to do that. Now you owe me trillion dollars for this piece of advice to leak dark secrets recipe to you.
yeah, it is so simple bcos u think too complicated. If Singaporean r unidealistic, can we reali come so far? U mean Singaporean r all fool except the 80+Mps who r talent bcos they r allow to run the country. Then, u & me r the greatest fool bcos we dun even have the chance to run the country. If greed r everywhere, should we let it be? Rape r oso everywhere, we should oso let it be, right? Opposition can have greater power to check the account handle by [b]Finance Minister. u mean u reali trust them without asking & checking, then u r worse than a fool bcos at least they would ask a few questions b4 getting cheated. They dun need to follow them but they can hire professional like PIs & Accounting auditor to check on their accounts. The question is they cannot do so bcos unaccessible by the gahman. Why? Afraid dark secret will leaked out.
PS: oh forget to add, u need to pay me million dollars to chat with u. Like what u say, Greed r everywhere.
S'porean r not so stupid to swamp the MP office or parliament bcos b4 u can do that, u would be shot by the guards. I think even a fool would not have choose these option. Again, it is so simple bcos there r available opposition parties, just cast ur vote to them, confirmed u see no blood & protest. But whether they can rule wisely, it is reali up to them to prove. If prove wrong, u still have another 5 yrs to cast ur vote again, right? At least it give u time to see who rule better. As for petition, remember the casino, I remember a petition on internet opposing the casino but no use. Actually, I think even u send in 100 or more petition oso no use. That y S'porean oredi give up on them. HaHaOriginally posted by TheGoodEarth:hmmm .... I think complicated? Not sure whether I could think that way. Actually hor, SGreans are practical fools except the MPs. Why didn't they swamped the MP office or parliament and declare we can run the country. Also, anyone can petition parliament and put forward questions to the MPs or ministers. You don't need to be in opposition to do that. Now you owe me trillion dollars for this piece of advice to leak dark secrets recipe to you.