I have actually stopped signing online petitions that are subject to multiple signatures because the recepients themselves won't take them seriously.Originally posted by sunnytv:S'porean r not so stupid to swamp the MP office or parliament bcos b4 u can do that, u would be shot by the guards. I think even a fool would not have choose these option. Again, it is so simple bcos there r available opposition parties, just cast ur vote to them, confirmed u see no blood & protest. But whether they can rule wisely, it is reali up to them to prove. If prove wrong, u still have another 5 yrs to cast ur vote again, right? At least it give u time to see who rule better. As for petition, remember the casino, I remember a petition on internet opposing the casino but no use. Actually, I think even u send in 100 or more petition oso no use. That y S'porean oredi give up on them. HaHaBut u can try to see whether it work or not lah urself. Indeed, I dun need to be in the opposition but dun forget the gahman play by the rule of voting. If less vote, mean less power for them. Same rule (greed r everywhere) again, u need to pay me infinite dollars for chatting with u.
Good point. If more people join the opposition, then, naturally, the opposition parties become stronger.Originally posted by Melvin Tan:I have actually stopped signing online petitions that are subject to multiple signatures because the recepients themselves won't take them seriously.
In my view, political parties are the biggest yet most under-utilised platform Singapore people who are not with the PAP can use to ebb PAP's power on the country.
Regards
What propaganda has been sold in the press that suggests that joining the opposition is a bad and unwise thing to do ?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Good point. If more people join the opposition, then, naturally, the opposition parties become stronger.
Unfortunately, the propaganda causes people to perceive joining the opposition as a bad, unwise thing to do.
This is to the advantage of the ruling party. This is why having dishonorable people in power is such a tragedy.
The society cannot progress, other than economically, because for the propaganda to work, people need to become delusional.
Delusions and illusions are what the ruling party sells everyday through their propaganda presses, the education system and the laws and statutes of the land. A country that institutionalized illusions and delusions and that is what Singapore is.
People that support cannot see the defects and people that oppose cannot see the successes. In their heads, they have delusions like joining the opposition is bad.
Agree. If you want to be in politics, you have to be in a political party, so that people know where you stand and what your objectives are. Whether a petition is effective or not depends on how strong the support is. At end of day, it is POWER!Originally posted by Melvin Tan:I have actually stopped signing online petitions that are subject to multiple signatures because the recepients themselves won't take them seriously.
In my view, political parties are the biggest yet most under-utilised platform Singapore people who are not with the PAP can use to ebb PAP's power on the country.
Regards
you think other ministers are clean, you dont have their records and proof whereas they have Chee's record, that is why u said he is not clean.Other in fact many government sevants are not clean, it is just that either nobody finds out or there is no complaint, there was a retired MP who brought his crony into the business without tendering, is this clean?Originally posted by the Bear:how?
what are his policies?
seriously..
would he change the judiciary?
would he change the laws?
would he change the CPF things?
how would he handle the vast reserves?
look at his track record.. he could not even keep his travel expenses clean!
Maybe you could ask Slyvia or Low TK or Chiam ST if they honestly think that they could take over the govt anytime.Originally posted by sunnytv:I do believe opposition can take over anytime, so that we can compare who rule better. Plus competition led to brain storm. Most of our MP have slacken down alot. It oso test Singaporean adaptability and Flexibility to different rule. If it led to chao, I think Singapore is a total failure. But if we can adjust well, it mean we can take on bigger challenge. Opposition can check on govt & govt can check on opposition. A balance between Yin & Yang. 2 opp VS 80++MP is too big difference. Do we have to wait until all our hard earned money being cheated by greedy MP before we make noise? How sure r we that our MP r not corrupted? bcose there r no one to check on them.