Yes, it is possible. The other "carrot" could be the HDB upgrading again.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:All it takes is another "Progress Package" just before the next GE to make voters forget about the annuity fiasco.
If heaven allows, it will.Originally posted by jay_rocks:will singapore sink if so many heavy stuffs is on this island
Evil regime? That's a massive understatement...Originally posted by qlqq9:Oh no. so we will continue to be oppressed by the evil regime. If these people are voted out of power, the annuity plan may change or terminate.
PAP doesnt govern how much those greedy food court ppl price their food.....Originally posted by lolxzxz:we dont vote for PAP for crowded transport and expensive FOOD COURT food![]()
But they do give excuses for the food court ppl to raise their price, right? Don't forget, greedy PAP oso raise their salary, GST & ERP etcOriginally posted by venny:PAP doesnt govern how much those greedy food court ppl price their food.....
I think you have a brain of a sheep....Originally posted by eagle:If GST was not raised
If housing prices/taxes of profits from property sales were not raised
If CPF withdrawal age was not raised
If Annuity was not to be made compulsory
most people will want bigger and bigger houses
Solution? Increase taxes by so much such that you will never be able to earn enough to buy a big house. You will thus have to settle for a smaller house, which will in turn help Singapore achieve the necessary space for 6.5 million population
If ERP was not raised
If COE was not introduced
there will be too many vehicles on our roads. How then will our roads be able to accodomate 6.5 million of population?
Solution? Tax road users even more such that they can barely afford a car. Restrict COE further to restrict the number of cars (COE price will then be even higher)
What do you think?
Originally posted by Gazelle:I think you have a brain of a sheep....
U can think whatever you like.Originally posted by Gazelle:I think you have a brain of a sheep....
He has nothing else to say. Let him beOriginally posted by the Bear:pray tell, why say you that?
being cynical bastards created by the cynical bastards who are running and ruining the place, we need reasons
a) You dont pay GST when you buy propertyOriginally posted by eagle:If GST was not raised
Solution? Increase taxes by so much such that you will never be able to earn enough to buy a big house. You will thus have to settle for a smaller house, which will in turn help Singapore achieve the necessary space for 6.5 million population
If ERP was not raised
there will be too many vehicles on our roads. How then will our roads be able to accodomate 6.5 million of population?
Solution? Tax road users even more such that they can barely afford a car. Restrict COE further to restrict the number of cars (COE price will then be even higher)
What do you think?
c) Flats have been getting both higher AND smaller. Just compare a 5-room flat built in the early nineties with a 5-room flat built since 2000. The difference in size is very obvious, especially if you look at the living room. In the past there wasn't even such a thing as a Civil Defence shelter within a flat, but now there is, and it's counted as a room!Originally posted by Gazelle:c) Singapore flats and apartment will get higher and higher, that doesnt mean it will get smaller and smaller.
d) Singapore government is investing billions to widen Singapore MRT and LRT network and improving the comfort and efficicency of public transport system, eventually many people would prefer to take publich transport and use their car during off peak hours.
Originally posted by mancha:What happens when Singapore reaches 6.5 mil population?
Anything else is mere speculation.
But one thing is definite.
Queue.
You Q Q here
You Q Q there
Q here
Q there
Q everyhere.
I guess it'll not be too bad. Your turn will come.
Except for the toilet.
Six point five mil people gotta sh!t somewhere.
ERP?
Excretion Removal Pricing.
Bring Your Own Bag.![]()
This is the one thing the local government failed to compare with ...Originally posted by mistyblue:at least hong kong has a free market system and the people have a strong voice towards any government proposed policies.
Dr M has already warned of the possibilitiesOriginally posted by Spartans:Can u be more exact? Someplace = ...?
a) Note that I said taxes on profits on properties sales. How did u ever link it to GST when buying properties? I wonder...Originally posted by Gazelle:a) You dont pay GST when you buy property
b) Stamp duties and property tax has been steady for the past donkey years.
Only changes are development charges aiming to slowdown the current En Bloc fever
c) Singapore flats and apartment will get higher and higher, that doesnt mean it will get smaller and smaller.
d) Singapore government is investing billions to widen Singapore MRT and LRT network and improving the comfort and efficicency of public transport system, eventually many people would prefer to take publich transport and use their car during off peak hours.
Thank God that our government doesnt have a sheep brain like yours to think of your suggestion as a solution.
a) Then why link GST hike to buying bigger property? Do you think that by reducing GST by 2% a lower income family will be able to upgrade?Originally posted by eagle:a) Note that I said taxes on profits on properties sales. How did u ever link it to GST when buying properties? I wonder...
c) It is a fact that it is HDBs and Condos floor areas has been getting smaller. Are you to contradict that?
d) Many people => you mean you did a survey?
Lastly, please take note that I'm talking about the what ifs when Singapore reaches 6.5 mil people. Such a situation has not reached yet, and we are free to think consider what will happen.
I seriously wonder about your tiny brain capacity and poor comprehension skills. I listed my views and ask for what you think; not asking for you to call others with a sheep brain. A person with a normal EQ level will know not to put down others when others are listing their views on the possible future.
Thank god you are the only one around in Singapore like that (I hope). The government would be ashamed to even have a supporter like you.
There will be more crime since most of the new population is converted from foreign talant. When we import the talent from certain country, we import their social ills and what not ....Originally posted by eagle:If GST was not raised
If ERP was not raised
What do you think?