You just said "Investment". You mean there are investments that are 100% making good money? How about those investment that the government did well? Did they lose billions every month? Did they ask you to pay up the losses?Originally posted by maven2:Is there a reason to believe that the opposition wouldn't be able to do at least the same?
Is there a possibility that Singapore might have progressed even further if the government had checks and balances to prevent some of the "bad decisions" made by PAP. For example, the tens of billions lost in foreign investment?
Could it be possible that we do not entirely know the "real" status of several of our governmental project because there is no one to check on them?
What if you could have both liberty and a rich economy?
Why shouldn't you vote for your opposition?
how much does a normal plate of rojak costs nowOriginally posted by rojak12:Pay also increase what. You mean you got your pay decrease compare to last year?
Wat minimum income? No such thing in SG leh!Originally posted by stellazio:Our pay increase? Its pathetic.
Why are our minimum income levels so low?
I wonder if you pay GST and been to Suzhou and Thailand.Originally posted by rojak12:Did they ask you to pay up the losses?
That's why those whose stomachs you cannot fill are always talking about politics.Originally posted by Gazelle:politics doesnt fill your stomach
There's no minimum income, but with $50 p.m., before you can feed yourself, the government wants to take your CPF.Originally posted by stellazio:Our pay increase? Its pathetic.
Why are our minimum income levels so low?
Voting in more opposition doesn't mean jepoardizing the stability of the government. The opposition needs at least 2/3 of the number of seat in parliament to have any say in the gov. So even if the number of oppositions increase by another 10 seats, I don't think it will cause any instablity of the gov. However, there will be more debates on each policy which will benefit the public.Originally posted by Gazelle:a) If we want to take the risk to change, we should be expecting something alot better, acheiving the same result it not a good enough reason for change.
b) The frequent fall out of party members within the opposition is a tell tale sign that there the opposition will eventually be fighting among themselves instead of fighting for this country if they run the government
c) There will be a cost for political freedom and one of the reason for Singapore economic success if the stablity of our government and its policy.
Yes, done all three. My life not affected.Originally posted by ^tamago^:I wonder if you pay GST and been to Suzhou and Thailand.![]()
Yes, debates with no real good sound proposal from opposition.Originally posted by royston_ang:Voting in more opposition doesn't mean jepoardizing the stability of the government. The opposition needs at least 2/3 of the number of seat in parliament to have any say in the gov. So even if the number of oppositions increase by another 10 seats, I don't think it will cause any instablity of the gov. However, there will be more debates on each policy which will benefit the public.
So easy to say : GST good, ERP good, COE good, Annuity good.Originally posted by rojak12:Yes, debates with no real good sound proposal from opposition.
So easy to say:
ERP sux, GST sux. I also can say and make people happy.
Easier said than done.Originally posted by rojak12:Yes, done all three. My life not affected.
Yours affected?
Ur life not affected = other life not affected?Originally posted by rojak12:Yes, done all three. My life not affected.
Yours affected?
TS is playing "masak masak".Originally posted by Spartans:Ur life not affected = other life not affected?
You got talent for rap. Cool.Originally posted by reddressman:So easy to say : GST good, ERP good, COE good, Annuity good.
Look who is talking. Rojak / Gazelle? that u? Mushroom, that you? TheGoodEarth that u? Mee Siam that u? Ai hum mai? sit boo boo.
Did I say that?Originally posted by Spartans:Ur life not affected = other life not affected?
Is it..how come I don't know?Originally posted by qlqq9:TS is playing "masak masak".
No debate means we have to accept everything the ruling party propose. If this is the case, there's no need a waste money on the parliament or hold election. Why pay mp to debate in parliament when everything already decided?Originally posted by rojak12:Yes, debates with no real good sound proposal from opposition.
So easy to say:
ERP sux, GST sux. I also can say and make people happy.
If the gov treat Singapore as a company, then we, Singaporeans are the shareholders. We have every right to be concern with how the gov spent the taxpayer (our) money.Originally posted by rojak12:You just said "Investment". You mean there are investments that are 100% making good money? How about those investment that the government did well? Did they lose billions every month? Did they ask you to pay up the losses?
See what happens when people INVEST their CPF money?
Exactly. Not everyone lose money when they invest. So does the government. They made some correct, some wrong.Originally posted by royston_ang:If the gov treat Singapore as a company, then we, Singaporeans are the shareholders. We have every right to be concern with how the gov spent the taxpayer (our) money.
By the way, not everyone lose money when they invest their CPF money. Do you mean you are unable to take care of your own saving, and rather have the gov hold your hand and spoon feed you?
It's no wonder foreigner label Singapore as a nanny state![]()
Every decision which the gov made can affect our daily life and livelihood so we can't afford bad decision. Which is the reason why opposition voice is important in the parliament. Every policy should be carefully scrutinized and debated, and the public concerns considered and addressed before implementation.Originally posted by rojak12:Exactly. Not everyone lose money when they invest. So does the government. They made some correct, some wrong.
Its always easy to sit & point & laugh. But did the opposition propose a better way to solve the porblem?Originally posted by Spartans:At least the opposition will raise the issue that "ERP sux and is useless" to the Government. Whether the government will brighten up and learn from their mistakes is another issue.
when do anyone ever come up with a solution before they become the ruling govt?Originally posted by chenc:Its always easy to sit & point & laugh. But did the opposition propose a better way to solve the porblem?
They do that in other countries....Originally posted by dragg:when do anyone ever come up with a solution before they become the ruling govt?
I'm not being skeptical ... but can you name some examples for our convenience ?Originally posted by kramnave:They do that in other countries....