Why do you think that she thinks "customer is king" ? Are you by any chance.... " "Originally posted by kramnave:Wasn't she rude ? Shud go up to her and say:" You think customer is king ? Delusional, live life in reality.....".
Don't tell me you got the ......SYNDROME !Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:If this thread is to assert that "customer is king" is blulsiht... I agree. Those around should try to stop obnoxious behavior by barbarians. I stared at a woman once because she was treating an old waitress very rudely.
another delusional question/statement...Originally posted by kramnave:Don't tell me you got the ......SYNDROME !
Whoa don't tell me you can't read what you posted ah ?! You agree customer is king is bullshit. Then you say must stand up against these obnoxious people...Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:another delusional question/statement...![]()
No need to attend, i teach you the trick. Everytime you feel like gambling. Close your eyes and imagine Andrew pointing finger at you saying:"You're delusional".Originally posted by Chin Eng:it is quite funny when each thread that andrew enters, it will inevitably end up with him using the "D" word.....
so, got any seminar coming up hah? me want to attend......![]()
Because the reality is that many / most people are delusional, it is a matter of degree. Not that it matters much when people are delusional about non consequential things but people must be aware and conscious of their propensity for delusions...Originally posted by Chin Eng:it is quite funny when each thread that andrew enters, it will inevitably end up with him using the "D" word.....
so, got any seminar coming up hah? me want to attend......![]()
I take it that you are just joking... otherwise if you think that will work... you are, you know lah...Originally posted by kramnave:No need to attend, i teach you the trick. Everytime you feel like gambling. Close your eyes and imagine Andrew pointing finger at you saying:"You're delusional".
actually i'm quite use to it already lah....Originally posted by kramnave:No need to attend, i teach you the trick. Everytime you feel like gambling. Close your eyes and imagine Andrew pointing finger at you saying:"You're delusional".
i asked, but you did not answer.....Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:at least you are learning to "ask" and at least try to get good/proper information before you believe (be delusional).I am so proud of you. (Too bad if you take that as an insult, but I am all sincerity)
oh please, the last/first time I said that you were delusional was because you believed without finding out the truth of the matter or without any firm evidence.Originally posted by Chin Eng:i asked, but you did not answer.....
and i have not taken it as an insult..... so, back to the question, where can i get a copy of the book and when is your next seminar?
and likewise, you can also take it that i am not asking genuinely, but i am.
Originally posted by RedizAlertz:Rediz, thanks for sharing your views. I can't agree more... I do have guests who are really nice and accommodating. Asking us how is our day, before we do so. And yes, that is what keep me and my team going every single minute. We are hanging on there with the belief and hope. One day, just one day, someone will treat us with RESPECT that is well-deserved. It is our firm belief and faith in that which keep us in F&B service industry. Nothing means more to us than happy and satisfied guests plus that smile on their face; it just take all our sadness away. That's our goal everyday. The biggest bonus to us is the guest returns, regularly. And that is when we are able to provide the kind of service which we called it "The Personal Touch"..
Karen,
I hav been in F & B industry (restaurant) for abt 10 yrs . I totally understand how u feel.
F & B industry has always been the industry tat most Singaporeans (no offense to Sg'reans) wld think twice abt working. Cos in the mindset of most Sg'reans, being in service = being look down upon. Thy will think that if thy are to work in F & B line, it HAS to be in Hotel Industry, at least it sounds better, more high-class. Actually there is not much differences, Hotel Industry is ONLY [b]looking good if u r in higher managements. Otherwise, it's much worst than Restaurant Industry.
Anyway, i am out of track. Karen, what i wanna say to u is..It's not easy being in F & B line. Cos it concern abt interpersonal skill. It is abt how u r goin to deal with insatisfied customers using limited resources from the company. It is a challenge every day. A challenge to control our short temper cos certain customer is being difficult, dealing wif kitchen staff as well as our co-workers.
But it is really satisfyin when u hav seen another smiling face walk out of ur restaurant, or even a alittle thank you along the way from them.
For tat smile, Karen, I hav challenge myself to see more of those smiling faces everyday. Be it from my satisfying customers or my co-workers, it makes my day when i see them smile.
Karen, tis is not an easy task tat can be built along the way. We, being in service line, can totally understand how a fellow F & B staff feels..But we cant really expect the rest to understand, moreover, sad to say, thy r not oblige to. If u intend to carry on in tis line, challenge urself. Im sure the staff at Giraffe knows how to cope with this emotional + mental challenge, in fact those who stay in tis line do. So, ask urself, issit neccessary to get angry over such thing & insult them back? Isnt tat make u the same as them too??
Think abt it & challenge urself. U wll b amazed at the results.
Get it over & done with. Cheerz![/b]
Originally posted by cokeCan:Actually ah, i very nice but i don't tip as the place i drink rather ex and i super regular there. Am i bad not to tip when there are no service charges ?
Rediz, thanks for sharing your views. I can't agree more... I do have guests who are really nice and accommodating. Asking us how is our day, before we do so. And yes, that is what keep me and my team going every single minute. We are hanging on there with the belief and hope. One day, just one day, someone will treat us with RESPECT that is well-deserved. It is our firm belief and faith in that which keep us in F&B service industry. Nothing means more to us than happy and satisfied guests plus that smile on their face; it just take all our sadness away. That's our goal everyday. The biggest bonus to us is the guest returns, regularly. And that is when we are able to provide the kind of service which we called it "The Personal Touch"..
Just as you know, this topic was started in FOOD but someone moved it here. It is still here because there is no way I can move it somewhere else that may be more appropriate.
Guess you might have the wrong idea, allow me to set the records right. I was a customer at Giraffe that night and was seated just right next to them with my 6 other friends; having our dinner, not working there. I am in F&B service industry for 14 years now though.
Simply can't stand ill-manner and arrogance of others, thinking they are high and mighty, especially most of our younger generation nowadays. On this case, I finally decided to write about than to let it slipped. [b]They are discriminating the service staffs by using bad command of english, assuming the service staffs cannot comprehend proper english as they are afterall JUST service staffs. And they even did that in both of their posts in two separate forums. It is an insult. They really are such disgrace to our society. Not only are they snobbish but ill-manner and discriminating at the same time.. That is what got me started with this topic...[/b]
Actually ah, i very nice but i don't tip as the place i drink rather ex and i super regular there. Am i bad not to tip when there are no service charges ?Kramnave, you super regular where?? Actually just for your info, place who claim no service charges; are all bull cause they already mark-up the prices in their menus. Maybe that explains why it is so expensive. But service charges do not go to the staffs but the companies though. And for some, even credit card tippings go to the companies. Not a cent will go to the staffs at all...
Care to share?Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i've heard worse...
Ooh...the irish pubs lor..their price never change one...all the years almost the same..absorb GST, no service charge no nothing..nett...but still very priceyOriginally posted by cokeCan:Kramnave, you super regular where?? Actually just for your info, place who claim no service charges; are all bull cause they already mark-up the prices in their menus. Maybe that explains why it is so expensive. But service charges do not go to the staffs but the companies though. And for some, even credit card tippings go to the companies. Not a cent will go to the staffs at all...![]()
Ahh, no worries abt the tips! Dun tip unless u know tat tips goes personally to the particular staff. Cos in some company, they combined all tips for the mths and share by havin a meal somewhere or watever, instead of givin out to the staff..It's not a fair deal. Esp to the one who provide excellent service & yet b treated as the fair performance staff.Originally posted by kramnave:Actually ah, i very nice but i don't tip as the place i drink rather ex and i super regular there. Am i bad not to tip when there are no service charges ?
errr.... what has my question got to do with my beliefs..... ???? i am merely asking where i can buy your book, how much is the book and when are you going to have your seminar. very very simple questions..... you've a link in your siggy but the link doesn't give that info.... c'mon, i am not even trying to be sarcastic... instead of answering these questions, you come up with this irrelevant reply.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:oh please, the last/first time I said that you were delusional was because you believed without finding out the truth of the matter or without any firm evidence.
I don't mean it as an insult or that it is bad (it can be bad like in the case of suicide bombings or good like if it leads to charitable acts) but "BELIEVERS" tend to believe without good evidence. In RELIGIOUS matters, that might be OK but I urge you not to carry that kind of attitude in your daily living. Still, it is your life, I can only advice.
I am giving you this advice because I have observed from looking at gamblers, they "believe" also, without firm evidence. They think of something and just because they thought of it, they believe it! You have, from our chit chats here, that propensity as well.
Originally posted by Chin Eng:Because you are delusional
errr.... what has my question got to do with my beliefs..... ???? i am merely asking [b]where i can buy your book, how much is the book and when are you going to have your seminar. very very simple questions..... you've a link in your siggy but the link doesn't give that info.... c'mon, i am not even trying to be sarcastic... instead of answering these questions, you come up with this irrelevant reply.[/b]
Originally posted by RedizAlertz:Needless salute me, it's the passion that keeps me going. I started when very young, tried a few other industries but still much prefer F&B service. Yourself isn't far either, 10 years huh. Keep it going. I've moved to training team from the front service already. I don't think nor feel everyone should know how it is like to be in our shoes but just strongly think and feel that we should treat everyone with RESPECT, whether they are maids, cleaners, service staffs & etc. We are; afterall, human, made of flesh & blood, with feelings and given birth by our parents, not some low down trash or freaks.
[b]Karen,
Ahh, NOW it's clearer to me. Thanks for the clarifications! I hav to salute to all those who dedicate their time & half their life in F & B service! It's not easy to stay in the same industry for 5yrs, let alone 14yrs, in ur case, karen! *Salute*!
Sometimes, being too long in an industry cause some of us "blindness". We hav been in the same industry too long to realise tat there r others who are not. We thot everyone shld know how it is to b in our shoes, whereas we ourselves fail to do so. Thus explain some bad service provided by some of us.
In my case, i wld go for every possible upgrads or courses i can hav, provided by te company, to "refresh" myself, & also to take some break from work. In tat way, I can see from another perspective better. Tat's how i survive in tis Be-Treated-like-a-dog-and-earn-bullsh!t kind of indusry.
Yup... Think I am getting "it" as well now... "It's" like a virus!! "Delusionally" believe that the treatment given to service staffs, will be changed, if we have this belief and faith...Originally posted by kramnave:Because you are delusional
Damn this is addictive !!
yes it is, o delusional one.....Originally posted by kramnave:Because you are delusional
Damn this is addictive !!