Originally posted by reddressman:Wait for tomorrow - they will bring this up in parliament. Tell you, don't expect any good from them.
Wow, singaporeans have resoundingly responded.
no response is also an answer.No response means no care.
[b]An overwhelming 800 signatures to date!!! my goodness! what are singaporeans trying to do? Riot?![]()
Hey, the Annuities policy passed already right? when har?
What diiference does it make even if you know when? Are you planning to skip town?Originally posted by reddressman:Hello,
can anyone tell me when will Annuity be made COMPULSORY as in a MUST to buy for everyone, rich or poor?
I mean, I am almost certain it will be COMPULSORY. When?
I think Low et al argue also no use wan lah. but then this is my humble opine only.
Originally posted by reddressman:Hello,
can anyone tell me when will Annuity be made COMPULSORY as in a MUST to buy for everyone, rich or poor?
I think Low et al argue also no use wan lah. but then this is my humble opine only.
CPF reforms carefully considered, govt can deliver: PM Leeminus all the wayang, it's a pretty dead sure thingy
By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 23 September 2007 1818 hrs
SINGAPORE: The latest CPF reforms were finalised after carefully calculating that the government can deliver on what it has promised, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Sunday.
Chairing a dialogue with five other ministers for some 500 grassroots leaders, Mr Lee said any scheme devised has to be fair to everyone.
The prime minister said a British pensions expert he met recently had three possibilities to solve the problem of living longer and providing for old age.
The first is to work longer and enjoy a shorter period of retirement, the second option is to save more while working, and the third is to choose to have less money when one grows old.
For Singapore, the CPF reform is the right thing to do as it will benefit many, especially the low-income ones.
He said: "It's not something that is going to make a difference overnight because we are talking about something when we grow old, and you are talking about 10, 15, 20 years from now.
"This is something if we didn't do, it will not disturb us now, it will not affect the next election, nobody will blame us until we are 35 years from now, when the problem is here, then people will say what kind of government did we have 35 years ago, (they) never took care of us. I think it is our responsibility to do that now."
Mr Lee said the CPF interest rate is better than that given by the banks, and he had a tip for wives.
"All the women should tell their husbands that the government's CPF interest rate is now very high, better than the POSBank anytime so better take your money from your POSB (account) and put into my CPF account," he quipped.
The extra one percentage point given by the CPF Board is something Singaporeans will find hard to get anywhere else.
Mr Lee said: "The government is taking care of it – 100-percent risk free. The money is there, it will never disappear. People say go with GIC, Temasek; GIC makes so much money, you should give me the same like GIC. But GIC invests long-term – they buy shares, the stock market goes up, the stock market goes down.
"(In the) last few months, the stock market has gone down. I am sure GIC's portfolio would have gone down. And not just your interest is less – that means your capital gets less. I was persuaded by MOM (Ministry of Manpower) and MOF (Ministry of Finance), against my preference, that it's better for the government to take on this responsibility for the first S$60,000 because it's a big burden."
Measures to ensure that Singaporeans have a secure retirement go beyond just improving the CPF system.
PM Lee explained that the various measures taken by the government to improve the housing programmes, education system and even Workfare all contribute to achieving that objective.
On the Longevity Insurance or annuities, Mr Lee said he is prepared to consider various options.
"You put the money, you buy the annuity, they pay you, you die, (but) they will continue paying your spouse until she dies. That is something we should consider and can be an option in the scheme which will address the needs of quite a number of old folks," he said.
Mr Lee said the CPF changes are major and hopes the dialogue will help community leaders better understand what the government is doing for the country's long-term good.
- CNA/so
Last Fri I scan thru ST there were 2 dead obi above 85 I calculated only abt 10% above 85, gahmen is lying it said half live above 85Originally posted by reddressman:I saw today sunday's obituaries. Maybe I missed one , I could not find any of the dead live to 85. Most are under 80 and even 70.
I so puzzled now ... are people living longer? I think even if so, is this a majority or minority? If minority, what does this imply about the annuity?
I so so the very puzzled liao leh.
Not the 1st time..... won't be the last time....Originally posted by BadzMaro:I bet the goverment has a group of think-tanks... thinking of all kind of ways.. that will directly or indirectly .. quell this kind of future protest. Its just a matter of time. slowly... patiently... it waits.. for the right moment.
Originally posted by gerrykoh:[quote]
I'm a housewife & I'll tell my husband to give me CASH rather than top up my CPF cos I can take it out anytime, what so good abt extra 1% more interest?
Must be very stupid to put in CPF, once inside, cannot take out!
The minister try to con u to put ur $ inside CPF, what is the actual reason to defer our CPF payment, and to buy annuity which is to be collected only after 35 years. At 85 we dont spend much, why the gahmen bother so much, there is something behind, CPF is our money, we want to gamble or call prositutes is our own funeral, they got no right to intefereOriginally posted by gerrykoh:[quote]
I'm a housewife & I'll tell my husband to give me CASH rather than top up my CPF cos I can take it out anytime, what so good abt extra 1% more interest?
Must be very stupid to put in CPF, once inside, cannot take out!
Have you not been flowing the news? The annuity thing is postponed. But i guess it would be made compulsory with some modifications like some people could be exempted, the pay out age, etc.Originally posted by reddressman:Hello,
If you are not so unhappy about the people here, go to PAP's website and don't come back here. YOu will be happy surfing PAP's website. YOu can feel free to praise PAP in their website and feel free to carry their balls.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:What are you people protesting about? Why so unhappy when you have CPF and soon 1% more? And if the annuity does come, it will cost you about $10k.
Why don't you do something better? Go and protest in Myanmar. The people there got no CPF, no liberty, no proper housing, no education. Go there, then I say you are great. Otherwise, I say you are just a bunch of weakling, good-4-nuthing, full of nonsense, complain till-no-end, talk only (and babies can do just as well), no-brainer lot!
Correction to the above:Originally posted by qlqq9:If you are not so unhappy about the people here, go to PAP's website and don't come back here. YOu will be happy surfing PAP's website. YOu can feel free to praise PAP in their website and feel free to carry their balls.