No,no,no,if u were to include housing n transport and other miscellaneous stuff,then Singapore would be even worse.Originally posted by eagle:I wouldn't compare it this way.
We can get a can drink for a dollar 30 centres at coffee shops, less than a dollar in supermarkets
we can get very full meals at < 5 dollars
we can get a large main course < 8 dollars too
If you really want to save, there are still <4 dollars for rather full meals at food courts. Cai Png at $2.50 for 1 meat 2 vege.
You can't compare food prices just like that. Most would include housing and transport and other miscellaneous stuff.
Regarding Cinema, I can assure you that in Germany, the student price once a week is 4 euros. However, there are "hidden" costs, which can make the cheapest student ticket around 6.50 euros in the end.Originally posted by drawer:And food is not cheap in Singapore as well.Take a look at the recently open shoppong complex,AMK hub.The food prices inside the food court are incredibly high.I eat roasted duck Mee near my place for just $3,but at there,it cost $5.
Yes,of coz,i can choose not to eat there.But what about going to the Cinema there.They wont allow us to bring outside food,n sometimes,we have to buy their tibits down there.And i tell u,their "tibits" is not cheap.Its expensive "Wh0re"!!!
I was at Dusseldorf Germany for abt 3 mths last April. I'm agreed wif their average salary of 2-3k euro after tax for most of the middle income group. however, they hv no coffee shop, food court or snack bar as in sg. a simples meal in those very low end rest will oso cost u abt 10 euro. those bread from the bakery like our bread talk, cost ard 2-4 euro...Originally posted by soul_rage:As I mentioned, in Germany, after income tax, they still have 2k to 3k+ for the middle income group
And no, their cost of living isn't super high as well given their pay, coz I was there for a period of time.
The area I was in (Stuttgart), I believe avg housing is about 100+k euros to about 300+k euros.Originally posted by drawer:No,no,no,if u were to include housing n transport and other miscellaneous stuff,then Singapore would be even worse.
Its because you are not in their culture.Originally posted by baby hunter:I was at Dusseldorf Germany for abt 3 mths last April. I'm agreed wif their average salary of 2-3k euro after tax for most of the middle income group. however, they hv no coffee shop, food court or snack bar as in sg. a simples meal in those very low end rest will oso cost u abt 10 euro. those bread from the bakery like our bread talk, cost ard 2-4 euro...
a bottle of 1.5L mineral water cost 1.05euro
patrol at 1.4 euro per litter....
I cant imagine if i was to live there wif 2-3k S$
note : 1 euro = S$1.99
huhh...culture?Originally posted by soul_rage:Its because you are not in their culture.
Most of them prepare their own food for lunch or eat in for dinner. That's how they save money.
And believe me, if you are in their culture, you wouldn't be eating out so frequently as well. Its a Singapore culture to eat out for breakfast, lunch, dinner..
In Europe, you don't leave any restaurant without leaving behind 20 Euros after a simple meal! In Singapore, you still can get by with S$10 in a simple restaurant, S$6 for a plate of seafood hor fan, and S$2 for a drink, and the +++ add up to S$10. In hawker center, you definitely pay less, even a korean BBQ beef dish would cost you S$5,50, add S$1.5 for a drink, you get a good meal, where you find that in Europe?Originally posted by soul_rage:Amid the rising prices of hawker food (these days, you normally have to spend S$3 to S$4 for a meal, so I don't see it any different from the costs over there), my wife said that one day, if the hawker food prices hit a trigger point, we will become like Europe too, cooking our own food and bringing it for lunch or dining at home.
Originally posted by sgdiehard
huhh...culture?
if you can afford to eat out who wants to prepare, cook and wash up for every meal?
if you can have variety of food in the hawker center or food court, why would you want to eat simple and similar food at home day in day out? These days how many dishes can young wives prepare, besides BBQ and steamboat, and of course instant noodle and fried eggs?
if you can have different types of fruit juice everyday, would you want to wash your juicer or blender everyday just for one cup of juice?
In Europe, you don't leave any restaurant without leaving behind 20 Euros after a simple meal! In Singapore, you still can get by with S$10 in a simple restaurant, S$6 for a plate of seafood hor fan, and S$2 for a drink, and the +++ add up to S$10. In hawker center, you definitely pay less, even a korean BBQ beef dish would cost you S$5,50, add S$1.5 for a drink, you get a good meal, where you find that in Europe?
If it is just the two of you in your family, eating out would cost you S$12, how much you think you need to spend cooking at home, don't assume that gas, water...are free of charge. Even a bigger fridge will use up more electricity to keep your grocery. Where is the trigger point? how many days of instant noodle can you tahan?
erm what type of resturant did you eat at?Originally posted by sgdiehard:In Europe, you don't leave any restaurant without leaving behind 20 Euros after a simple meal! In Singapore, you still can get by with S$10 in a simple restaurant, S$6 for a plate of seafood hor fan, and S$2 for a drink, and the +++ add up to S$10. In hawker center, you definitely pay less, even a korean BBQ beef dish would cost you S$5,50, add S$1.5 for a drink, you get a good meal, where you find that in Europe?
If it is just the two of you in your family, eating out would cost you S$12, how much you think you need to spend cooking at home, don't assume that gas, water...are free of charge. Even a bigger fridge will use up more electricity to keep your grocery. Where is the trigger point? how many days of instant noodle can you tahan?
there are asian take-overs, that include rice, meat and veg at about 3 euros. And no, its not like our hawkers, taking the meat and counting the pieces. There, the portions are bigger.Originally posted by hisoka:erm what type of resturant did you eat at?
I went to berlin and didn't stinge on food. and i could goto a cafe/resturant and have a real full meal for like 8 euros or less . and its western food kind, ribs, etc with big servings. add a drink and its still just over 10.
You said it cost 2-4 euros for a "sandwich/pastry", it does and its enough for a meal. as filling as a hawker centre/foodcourt meal and its the same price.
theres more to cooking at home than instant noodles btw, although i guess its a cultural thing.
actually i prefered the bread, though not as fillingOriginally posted by soul_rage:there are asian take-overs, that include rice, meat and veg at about 3 euros. And no, its not like our hawkers, taking the meat and counting the pieces. There, the portions are bigger.
Instant noodles is a culture for Singapore, coz most of us don't cook anymore. I just whipped up steak, pan-fried salmon fillet, chicken wings, ommelettes, pasta, etc at home with minimal fuss.
I guess if I cook regularly, I get better and better at minimizing cleaning up.
Originally posted by soul_rage:I was in Paris, Cologne, Dusseldorf, on an average, I spent 20 euros in restaurant. Sandwick, lasagna take away from mobile stalls no counted. I don't dispute the figures you quoted, and it is a fact that wine is cheaper than water, rarely find freshly squeezed fruit juice. Drinking wine is a culture, but not cooking at home. remember how often your grandparents, or your parents eat out when your dad were young? Today it is the younger ones who are busy and not eating at home with parents, not the other way round, a change in culture? probably, for the better, no.
Hi sgdiehard
have you tried the carrot cake I mentioned to you at Lor 1 Toa Payoh beside the Macs?
Anyway, pertaining to your question, again I would like to say that its not in our culture to prepare food at home. In Europe, its not about the pains of cooking. Its about the healthy idea of preparing your own food and whipping up a meal with the private time you have (which is sorely lacking in Singapore since we work like slaves anyway).
Besides, Europeans love salad and sandwiches in general. Preparation isn't difficult. I have done that before, gone into their way of life. Quite healthy I would say
coming back to your idea of a restaurant in europe where you need to spend 20 euros, can I ask where were you when you ate in the restaurant?
Coz the restaurant I had in Germany cost me no more than 10 euros most of the time, and the portions are huge.
Try their pasta at 5 to 7 euros, its easily 2 x the portion we have here.
Oh and by the way, red wine costs as cheap as < 2 euros to 4 euros in supermarkets, and c.ocktails cost only 0.99 euro for 1 litre. And red wine is good for health.[/b]
both my ex-companies, local private companies, have more than 21 days, and off-in-lieu.Originally posted by eagle:So to claim a maximum of only 18 days of leave for Singapore is rather unfair.
What I am trying to ask is whether it is meaningful to compare pays if you do not also compare the cost of living. It was a major point of comparison in your post and I feel that you should have pursued it to flesh out your contentions. I have never been to a country in Europe or North America where I found that the higher pay was enough to offset the higher prices as compared to Singapore.Originally posted by soul_rage:I am just showing worklife. Basically, bringing too many things into the picture only makes it too complicated. You can choose to live on the streets or to take a loan and buy a house. Its a person's choice.
I am just putting up work-related information, its up to you guys to discuss whatever you want to discuss.
point agreed. Its tough to bring everything into the picture, but if you follow the information being posted up here, there are some more info on food, housing, transport, etc.Originally posted by sngyze:What I am trying to ask is whether it is meaningful to compare pays if you do not also compare the cost of living. It was a major point of comparison in your post and I feel that you should have pursued it to flesh out your contentions. I have never been to a country in Europe or North America where I found that the higher pay was enough to offset the higher prices as compared to Singapore.
well, I will have to agree but is 21 days the norm or its getting rarer?Originally posted by airgrinder:both my ex-companies, local private companies, have more than 21 days, and off-in-lieu.
soul_rage, think u can't compare the worklife just based on these information.
from what i see at least for not-senior/new staff, gettign 18 days is already on the high side though.Originally posted by airgrinder:both my ex-companies, local private companies, have more than 21 days, and off-in-lieu.
soul_rage, think u can't compare the worklife just based on these information.
Addition: They have Factory Outlets (which are very chic shopping buildings) there, and HUGO BOSS shirts costs $30+ to $50+ for working shirts, < $100 for handbags, shoes etc.Originally posted by soul_rage:point agreed. Its tough to bring everything into the picture, but if you follow the information being posted up here, there are some more info on food, housing, transport, etc.
Maybe I can put an info on recent Germany trip summarized here:
1) Housing (Normal landed property): EURO > $100+k
2) Cars (Mercedes, Audi, etc): EURO > $20+k, Sports car > $30+k
3) Train transport: 1 year 50% discounted ticket to travel unlimited (Eagle, correct me if I am wrong)
4) Wine (Standard bottle): EURO $2 - $4
5) Cocktails (1 litre pack): EURO < $1 to < $2
6) Fruit Juices (1 litre pack): EURO < $1 to < $2
7) Sandwiches, Bread: EURO $2 to $4
8 ) Restaurant main course: EURO < $8
9) Clothing: EURO < $10+ to $50+ for mid-range
10) Snacks: EURO < $ 1 to < $2 for potato chips, biscuits, etc, $2.90 for strawberries
Just some facts:Originally posted by soul_rage:point agreed. Its tough to bring everything into the picture, but if you follow the information being posted up here, there are some more info on food, housing, transport, etc.
Maybe I can put an info on recent Germany trip summarized here:
1) Housing (Normal landed property): EURO > $100+k
2) Cars (Mercedes, Audi, etc): EURO > $20+k, Sports car > $30+k
3) Train transport: 1 year 50% discounted ticket to travel unlimited (Eagle, correct me if I am wrong)
4) Wine (Standard bottle): EURO $2 - $4
5) Cocktails (1 litre pack): EURO < $1 to < $2
6) Fruit Juices (1 litre pack): EURO < $1 to < $2
7) Sandwiches, Bread: EURO $2 to $4Restaurant main course: EURO < $8
9) Clothing: EURO < $10+ to $50+ for mid-range
10) Snacks: EURO < $ 1 to < $2 for potato chips, biscuits, etc, $2.90 for strawberries
well its understandable with their pension system and ageing population , even japan is having issues with that (but lets not forget their population SIZE compared to the size in singapore), lets not compare that wif singapore, BECUZ IN SINGAPORE, YOU DUN HAVE THAT PENSION SYSTEM ..YOUR CPF IS NOT A PENSION NOR IS YOUR MEDISAVE...Originally posted by oxford mushroom:[quote]Originally posted by Atobe:
[b]Is it not ironical that Singaporeans need to be encouraged to work till pass 70 years of age, while other First World Countries are assisting their Citizens with programs to retire at 50 ?
[quote]
Once again the myopic Atobe is trying to pull wool over our eyes. All of Europe is facing the pension crisis on account of an aging population and every government is trying to raise the retirement age. People like Atobe would rather drive Singapore from the first world to the third with his idiotic, ill-conceived ideas.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/europe/6937301.stm
Oh, in europe, taxis are more expensive because the fact is that many people drive cars. Therefore, taxis are less utilized, and this results in a higher profit per trip.Originally posted by eagle:Just some facts:
Food wise, it depends on the country of production, the number of competitors, and the culture. You can't compare it like this.
Housing wise, Germany has so much free land that they cannot finish yet. Thus, landed property is cheaper.
Cars wise, most of the cars you mentioned are produced there! I would think that Japanese cars are rather more expensive in comparison over there. However, although cars may be cheaper, petrol is definitely more expensive. I forgot to take a photo of a petrol kiosk in Germany (feeling wasted), but I took one from Paris. The price for 98% (dunno for what) petrol is 1.55 euros per litre (price from june). Parking fees in the city areas of Germany is also extremely expensive as compared to here.
Train transport, I think is 200 euros for a 1 year Bahncard 50. Ya, I think it's for unlimited rides for that year. You can also get monthly passes for travel between cities (subjected to 50% discount if you hv the card). For Darmstadt to Frankfurt, the monthly ticket was > 140 euros (think around there). Even with the 50% discount, it is still more expensive than here. Of course, the distance travelled is much further, but that is the problem with big countries; you travel more.
Strawberries wise, Germany produces them, thus we can accept it to be cheaper. It is just like bananas or Yeo's Soya milk are more expensive over there in Germany compared to Singapore.
Lastly, just want to mention that a short 15-20 mins taxi trip costs about more than 40 euros. In Singapore, it doesn't even cost more than 20 sgd. The difference is extreme even when we do not take into account whether it is in euros or in sgd.