PM to step down? I think they are stepping up. Still remember the eternal ministers system in Singapore? PM, SM, MM, SMM, GMM, .... .Originally posted by bila_prem:Vote for another party lor. If Singaporeans are brave enough to make the current PM step down.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:Just imagine, or picture this; a man at 82 or more, very likely with some medical condition/s, & a monthly pay out to him of $300.
Tell me, by then with inflation factored in, what can the old sick man do with a measely $300 per month??
Don't come and tell me, it's better than nothing!!
It's a farking RIP OFF I'll say!!!
This ex debater put up a good wayang in the beginning when he become the minister by telling how initially he thought negatively of PAP. WAyang wayang. Anyway, he is from SGH, the ruling party simply loves to get doctors from that hell hospital to become ministers.Originally posted by Archirodon:A promising young debater was once challenging the political scene in a debating motion many years ago. Now, he's one of them... wahaha...
Its like you have a sum of money. Say $50,000.Originally posted by furb:hmm, can someone tell me how this annuities work? Well, I'm only 18 this year but I feel that this will affect my future someway or another.
Bingo!Originally posted by qlqq9:This ex debater put up a good wayang in the beginning when he become the minister by telling how initially he thought negatively of PAP. WAyang wayang. Anyway, he is from SGH, the ruling party simply loves to get doctors from that hell hospital to become ministers.
But friend, cool your exhausts. hold your horses.Originally posted by RatFink:Yes! I always feel like that in $ingapore. Like cash cow for PAP!!!
Everywhere parking fees, stop anywhere to buy things also bloody greedy PAP want to make money for leaving car at side of the road!!! Car tax already so high! Got road tax some more still put ERP more and more!!! PAP make so much money leasing flats made with tax payer money. LEASE!!! Not SELL !!! Still want to put property tax??? Already tax my pay, still want to put GST and tax some more!!! Taxi, bus, train also price go up, up , up!!! Electricity and water also up!!!
Stay here so stress!!! Becoming more and more and more expensive because of PAP but my pay also never go up!!!
Peoples life here like shit!!! Still PAP want to say they damn good and suck more and more money from us?
Always say we not welfare state!!! Then why their pay so high and got pension some more? Why our ministers can make up positions when suppose to retire and still grab millions every year? They not living on welfare with our money is it???
Originally posted by HyperFocal:To cut shot your long post ..... I would urge you to visit any old folks home or nursing home. I just visited one nursing home today (in Woodlands) and I asked the staff there. Here are the statistics: 2 patients are above 100 years. Average age of patients - 75 years. More women than men. Most suffered from stroke, dementia.
[b]LONG LIFE? I won't last that long, leh
Our poll shows more than half don't believe they'll live till 85
By Ng Tze Yong and Elysa Chan
September 19, 2007
ME? Live past 85? Such was the snorts and scoffs of Singaporeans polled when told they had a 50 per cent shot at fulfilling one of their biggest wishes - a long life.
Longevity, the ubiquitous greeting at birthdays, weddings, new year celebrations, the stuff of many a prayer, is now no longer wishful thinking.
According to the Department of Statistics, 1 in 2 Singaporeans alive at 62 in 2006 will go on to live beyond 85.
Statistics don't lie.
Your are correct to some degree. But allow me to point out that these really old, sick, uncared, & unwanted folks that you visited in those Homes, were likely former Farmers who led a laborious but healthier lifestyle, hence they ended up living longer... it would be fallacious of the government to based on these ageds of yesteryears & ASSUME that ALL Singaporeans will eventually live just as long or even longer.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:To cut shot your long post ..... I would urge you to visit any old folks home or nursing home. I just visited one nursing home today (in Woodlands) and I asked the staff there. Here are the statistics: 2 patients are above 100 years. Average age of patients - 75 years. More women than men. Most suffered from stroke, dementia.
Now, better to see with your own eyes than to talk easy here. THINK THINK THINK. If you were to live to 80s and beyond, do you have the means to sustain yourselves or would you depend on your (cannot be guranteed filial) children or relatives to support you???
Originally posted by reddressman:But friend, cool your exhausts. hold your horses.
The majority. In a democracy. Decided. And have always decided. Rain or shine.
Should we not respect democratic decision?
should you not thank the majority for what is happening?
Is it not true that its only the MINORITY that think like you?
Is it not true that MAJORITY would have shown their disapprove had they not approved their actions? Well, what can you say except that The MAJORITY decided regardless if they kpkb all this while?
Is it not true that the Majority DENIED the Opposition any GRC?
2 seats out of 83 or so.
This is the TRUTH, the whole TRUTH and nothing but the TRUTH.
Does the MAJORITY know what have they contributed to singapore's vibrancy, transparency, democracy, tolerance of views ? I hereby salute this MAJORITY. Unfortunately, most likely, they are not watching this forum except for the counter insrugence team.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:what have they CONtribute to the shared responsibilities? yeah, come out with some crap and you pay. What have the fullfill as a responsible government? Sky high medical cost? public services that also makes money so they can justify their sky high salaries?
Here's more Kock & Bull from this ugly bloke...
It's basically more Hogwash...
================================================
[b]Retirement funding a shared responsibility between people and govt
By Julia Ng, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 22 September 2007 2124 hrs
SINGAPORE : The financial planning of one's retirement needs is the joint responsibility of the people and government(?), says National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan.
Damn true.Originally posted by dragg:i bet those people who came up with such great ideas are those who doesnt need their cpf.
Don't wayang how to score points ?Originally posted by qlqq9:This ex debater put up a good wayang in the beginning when he become the minister by telling how initially he thought negatively of PAP. WAyang wayang. Anyway, he is from SGH, the ruling party simply loves to get doctors from that hell hospital to become ministers.
That's the problem with Sillyporeans year after year after year, since 1965, never learn their lesson, that's why many of us including myself have left this useless piece of rock. CPF will be out of reach to most Sillyporeans in 15 years time.....To be realistic and fair, I'd say only 10-15% will live till 85, don't even mention past 85.....time and again, there are schemes to make CPF even more out of reach to most Sillyporeans......draw down age increased, now compulsory donation of some of your cpf to those who live past 85...soon they will tell you that you cannot even touch your cpf cause it belongs to them, frankly, I have given up cause they are capable of doing as they please, no wonder this is a city of possibilities, for the elite ie.Originally posted by thinker:PAP, pls do not touch our OWN INDIVIDUAL SINGAPOREAN money.![]()
keep PAP in... Vote him out... it can be done... sell this idea to Singaporeans... it would be more palatable to the pitiful sheep filled with irrational fears...Originally posted by bila_prem:Vote for another party lor. If Singaporeans are brave enough to make the current PM step down.
Originally posted by 4getmenot:lets say you are 50 now, take in the inflation factor.. does the gahmen actually take into account how much $300 IS WORTH IN 35years time??
Personally, I think that PAP are all Greedy & Stupid Idiots, to think & staunchly proclaim that a measely $300-$400 can sustain an old person of above 82 years with medical condition/s 30 to 40 years down the road...(!!!)Originally posted by 4getmenot:lets say you are 50 now, take in the inflation factor.. does the gahmen actually take into account how much $300 IS WORTH IN 35years time??
Besides understanding how annuity works it is also important that you know what it means for CPF members which you would eventually become one once you starting working for others. From NMP Siew Kum Hong's blog:Originally posted by furb:hmm, can someone tell me how this annuities work? Well, I'm only 18 this year but I feel that this will affect my future someway or another.
Correct. i think NMP Siew Kum Hong said it very well:Originally posted by Bloop...:Ripoff? Yes, but not in the way you are thinking.
This is just the start. They know if they take too much at one shot, we'll all walk righ up to the Istana and drag them all out by their ears.
So the solution? Take what they consider a "small amount" first. With the few thousand they take, this is the projected we will get back at 85 - $300 a month.
Once it's in place, the papers with sell us the idea that $300 a month isn't enough so the PAP needs to take more money "for our own good" so we get more than $300 a month because $300 a month is too little and can't sustain us (REALLY??? We are all stupid and never knew that $300 a month can't sustain us!!!).
No matter how they try to package it, that we are buying annuities or what ever gloss they want to throw on it, the money goes to them. Plain and simple.