SINGAPORE: By year's end, all adult male patients admitted to hospitals will be asked if they would like to take a HIV-screening test.Trust our "Opt-Out" Minister to come up with such an idea.
Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan told Parliament on Tuesday he is also changing the Infectious Diseases Act soon so that no one will be able to claim ignorance of one's HIV-positive status as defence against charges of high-risk behaviour.
He said: "All individuals who engage in high-risk sexual behaviour must go for regular HIV-testing. The Infectious Diseases Act makes it an offence for someone who is HIV-positive to have sex without informing his sexual partner of his HIV status. I will soon come to this House to amend the Act to clarify that ignorance of one's HIV status will not be a defence for those who engage in high-risk sexual behaviour."
My question in mind is; will they believe that you DON'T sleep around when you / I end up in hospital one day? I mean, if they are 'talking' about making it COMPULSORY to test every man who gets admitted into hospital, who's to say that they will take people's words for it???Originally posted by dragg:you neednt worry as long as you dont sleep around.
... ha.. nevermind all that.. what about when a screw up happens? A misdiagnosis, a mixed up of blood samples? And the poor chap get to be put through all the ordeal of being BRANDED HIV Positive?? Who pays for the mistake? You think they will own up, say sorry, and compensate???Originally posted by hisoka:1 he discriminates against males yet again after all the previous laws and protections.
2. how the hell are you supposed to know you have HIV when even if you go for check-ups everyday, as far as i know you can still be sticken but be undetectable for an extend period of time? Not only that the idea that you are supposed to know something you have no reasonable way or chance to know abotu is absurd![]()
if you hump about like a rabbit or are of deviant sexual orientation then you should get a check up...simple enough no?......Originally posted by hisoka:1 he discriminates against males yet again after all the previous laws and protections.
2. how the hell are you supposed to know you have HIV when even if you go for check-ups everyday, as far as i know you can still be sticken but be undetectable for an extend period of time? Not only that the idea that you are supposed to know something you have no reasonable way or chance to know abotu is absurd![]()
Originally posted by pooh_bear:How can u related HIV and common flu togther?
Trust our "Opt-Out" Minister to come up with such an idea.
What next?
I predict in response to the headline "60-year-old woman is 8th person to die from dengue this year", he will say "Ignorance of [b]dengue is no defence".
Next, if your kid goes to school and catches chickenpox, don't worry! "Ignorance of chickenpox is no defence!!" Follow the example of our health minister and sue the pants off the other child's parents for letting him go to school.
And when you catch a flu from your sniffling colleague.... you guessed it!!! "Ignorance is no defence!!" Sue your company as well too, even if they didn't know he was sick. After all, remember the motto of the day - "Ignorance is no defence!!".[/b]
literally it is akin to killing.Originally posted by boka:How can u related HIV and common flu togther?
It's purely a CRIME to have sex and pass the virus on to someone when u are aware that u have contacted aids.
ignorant mongrel

I wish u read the article before spouting your mouth off.Originally posted by boka:How can u related HIV and common flu togther?
It's purely a CRIME to have sex and pass the virus on to someone when u are aware that u have contacted aids.
ignorant mongrel
as i said even a check up is no gurantee that you know.Originally posted by countdracula:if you hump about like a rabbit or are of deviant sexual orientation then you should get a check up...simple enough no?......
Originally posted by pooh_bear:u think too much liao lah...
I wish u read the article before spouting your mouth off.
It is already a crime to [b]knowingly pass on the AIDS virus. I have no qualms with that.
What I object to is that dear Mr Khaw will throw u in jail even if you are NOT aware that u have AIDS.
May u get cut a razor blade next time u visit your barber and see what that means.[/b]
HIV screening can only be done after 6 months...Originally posted by hisoka:as i said even a check up is no gurantee that you know.
and even if the results are immediate which means you will know, so you have to go for check ups every day? as i said unreasonable onus of knowing on the person.
and what does being of deviant sexual orientation have directly to do with having hiv? A couple of deviant sexual orientation is as unlikely or likely to get hiv as a normal couple.![]()
Low chance doesn't mean no chance.Originally posted by ispyyy:HIV screening can only be done after 6 months...
But during this 6 months, the virus in the body is still not fully grown... and thus, it has very low chance of transmitting...
So, medically, u can asked the doctor what is the period of each testing to confirm that u are safe
actually, I say low chance is because I m not professional in these area... But if u dont mind been misleading, the low chance is near to no chance lor... u can surf on HIV website and learn on the details...Originally posted by hisoka:Low chance doesn't mean no chance.
By whats being proposed, even if you go for check-up and find nothing but you transmit you still get it.
partly becuase of the incubation period which you mentioned. and also becuase of the frequency you are go for check-ups.
medically you can ask the doctor, but that doesn't mean its a reasonable frequency a personc an be expected to do so. For example, say some new disease the screening causes 50 bucks and takes 1 hour. even if the doctor reccommends screening every week, i doubt it's a reasonable frequency for most pple.
I;m not going to read but whats near to no chance? like for condoms theres supposed to be very low chance of pregnancy right? but pple do still get it. So you punish them because they are unlucky enough?Originally posted by ispyyy:actually, I say low chance is because I m not professional in these area... But if u dont mind been misleading, the low chance is near to no chance lor... u can surf on HIV website and learn on the details...
u can spend $$$$$$ on casual sex... u cant spend $$$$ on screening??? Generally, the more u do this type of sex, the more u screen lor... it is reasonable 1... I am not against on casual sex but it is the social responsibility tat one must have if what he do may harm others...