Taking your statement above in perspective, you are telling us that governance of a country is UNIQUE in EVERY country. So you are implying that we cannot learn from others?Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:I see your soul raging. I read local papers for information not judgment. Foreign papers cannot make any sense to me as they are not in our unique situation. Tell me which other country is having the same issue right now - compulsory annuity in CPF? By the same token, do you ask me to solve your problem when I have no idea what your situation is all about?
Reminds me of The MatrixOriginally posted by Poh Ah Pak:If you follow the links I gave for a week, TheGoodEarth, your eyes will be opened.
You will then realise that all this time, you have been living in a tightly controlled dream world.
A fool's paradise if you will.
No, no, I am short-sighted, just read this:Originally posted by soul_rage:Taking your statement above in perspective, you are telling us that governance of a country is UNIQUE in EVERY country. So you are implying that we cannot learn from others?
Answer the question above. You sound more and more myopic and narrow-minded.
By the same token, do you also mean that MPs and ministers should not be asked to solve the poor's problem, coz they have NO IDEA what the poor's situation is all about (since our leaders are all fed with silver spoons)?
hmmm ..... what truth are you telling us?Originally posted by soul_rage:Reminds me of The Matrix
Some would prefer not to face the truth, but continue to live an ignorant existence.
So where is your source? And why do you think they are superior? And why do you think I am doomed and you are not?Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:TheGoodEarth, if you use the local mainstream media for political content, than you are doomed.
Because when it comes to political issues, the local media is worthless as a source.
I repeat.
If you are talking about politics, there is no way in hell that you get anything of value in the Singapore mainstream propaganda media.
I am very disturbed in that you see value in the local media as a source of information.
PAP politicians are taking public money to pay themselves indecent salaries instead of using the public funds for the annuity, true or false?Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:hmmm ..... what truth are you telling us?
1) populace living longer - true or false?
2) low income earners do not have suffcient CPF savings to draw down if they live beyond 80years - true or false?
Don't change the argument. You only repeated one part of your argument.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:No, no, I am short-sighted, just read this:
By the same token, do you ask me to solve your problem when I have no idea what your situation is all about?
Maybe he's too busy with a lot of explanation to do with NatGeo for using their images so many times without permission...Originally posted by Coquitlam:Hi Hyper....sometimes I wonder why do we even bother with the gahmen....we've all left this little piece of rock....sometimes its pointless going thru all these...knowing we all have a much better life away from this congested superficial red dot....
by the way, where is that ever faithful servant of the gahmen.....gazelle...seems like he's disappeared.....well, good riddance to bad rubbish
I meant you.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:hmmm ..... what truth are you telling us?
1) populace living longer - true or false?
2) low income earners do not have suffcient CPF savings to draw down if they live beyond 80years - true or false?
Originally posted by soul_rage:Don't change the argument. You only repeated one part of your argument.
You said
(1) No other countries have a compulsory annuity scheme, so we should not compare with other countries
(2) THEN you ask the question, do you ask me to solve your problem when I have no idea what your situation is all about?
(3) You are implying that we should not look towards other countries for advice or guidance since they have no (1)
hmmm.... you got my message very well.
So I am asking
(1) You are implying that all countries are UNIQUE, so useless for countries to learn from one another
oh no, this is your own implication!
(2) By the same token, since I cannot ask you to solve my problem since you have no idea about my situation, then aren't you implying that MPs and ministers should not help to solve the Poor's situation coz MPs and ministers, being so well-paid, wouldn't know the situation of the poor?
No, the implication is yours! MPs are supposed to help their constituents as well as the electorate. That's why so many queue outside Meet-the-People session like going to see a doctor at a clinic!
(3) You are also encouraging a system of learning from oneself, and not from others. Sounds like North Korea
Again, this is your implication! I learned a lot here, from various forumers. But I stand up to debunk their statements just like I do to yours!
Originally posted by soul_rage:I meant you.
You would rather read from local newspapers and be happy about the 'good' news about Singapore, than to understand the dirt and filth that is beneath the surface.
oh, your implication? There are a lot of bad news in our local papers but the worse ones are found here!
Actually, I had a hard time trying to bring to the surface what all these gripes were about!!!!
Its the same as the traitor in Matrix.
He would rather go back to his self-deluding existence coz the real world is too painful to live in, so he betrayed the resistance to the Computers.
hahaha, I see your gripe with Matrix. You have a problem not me!
Since when did I get the implications wrong? You have consented that I got your message (ESPECIALLY (3)) well, so you are literally encouraging that we should not look for other countries for guidance/advice, and should be learning instead from oneself.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:quote:Originally posted by soul_rage:
Don't change the argument. You only repeated one part of your argument.
You said
(1) No other countries have a compulsory annuity scheme, so we should not compare with other countries
(2) THEN you ask the question, do you ask me to solve your problem when I have no idea what your situation is all about?
(3) You are implying that we should not look towards other countries for advice or guidance since they have no (1)
hmmm.... you got my message very well.
So I am asking
(1) You are implying that all countries are UNIQUE, so useless for countries to learn from one another
oh no, this is your own implication!
(2) By the same token, since I cannot ask you to solve my problem since you have no idea about my situation, then aren't you implying that MPs and ministers should not help to solve the Poor's situation coz MPs and ministers, being so well-paid, wouldn't know the situation of the poor?
No, the implication is yours! MPs are supposed to help their constituents as well as the electorate. That's why so many queue outside Meet-the-People session like going to see a doctor at a clinic!
(3) You are also encouraging a system of learning from oneself, and not from others. Sounds like North Korea
Again, this is your implication! I learned a lot here, from various forumers. But I stand up to debunk their statements just like I do to yours!
Originally posted by Rock^Star:There is sufficient empirical evidence that workers over the age of 40 already have difficulties competing with younger workers, even foreigners, for jobs. Even if they find work, there are issues about the amount of income, and job security. Part-time work or contract work is the lot for many.
It was reported in the press that in 2006, about 12% of the resident workforce or 172,000 workers were on contract work, the bulk of whom were older and with less education (ST 24/8/07). There must be unreported cases in the informal sector as well. It is not uncommon to find sole breadwinners doing odd jobs to feed school-going children.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Only you have the time and sanity to read all the links and their craps. Why don't you visit the old folks home or nursing home or hospice and spend some useful time there than to trash your garbage here?
[b]
Insane. This can only come from the mouth of someone whose eyes are still closed.
Non of what you said or implied is believable. But if you want to hold on to your belief, that is fine with me. I never trouble myself over other people's gripe.Originally posted by soul_rage:Since when did I get the implications wrong? You have consented that I got your message (ESPECIALLY (3)) well, so you are literally encouraging that we should not look for other countries for guidance/advice, and should be learning instead from oneself.
And do you think the MPs and ministers really understand the situation? Pretending to understand, and really understanding is 2 different things.
Holding back monies is helping the poor?
Increasing GST is helping the poor?
You really believe in the above?
Originally posted by CPTMiller:I can forsee those age 40s onwards will have a hard time getting a job. Unless you have special expertise eg. chef . Than perhaps certain sector still will employ you. Things have change since a decade ago. Even if FT do not directly compete in the jobs. The job market wont be big enought for all of us.
You have very valid point here, and I should think you have followed local events to know that this problem has been recognised not just recenlty but many years ago. It is also a problem for many other countries. Let's face it: if you are an employer, would you not want to employ someone you can afford to pay, which unfortunately means the lowest salary! And usually, a younger person would not demand a high salary for the simple reason that they lacked working experience and they do not yet have family commitment.
There are certain realities in life we must face. To put the blame squarely on just one party is not fair. In another thread someone suggested that the gahmen should create jobs. I said that is not difficult. If no one wants to buy bread, how do you create jobs for bakers? If no one wants to be janitor, how do create CEO posts?
So when you grow older, your chance of getting employ is lower. The goverment should know all this by now. Why they still expect us to work till 67? Live till 85?
They know but your understanding seems limited. I bet with you that if this Thursday you strike TOTO first prize, you might consider quitting your lousy-pay job straightaway! Who said you must work until 67? Also, if you can tell when you want to go, who said you must live till 85.
I think you have a genuine concern about employment but you do not grasp the entire issue or overall picture very well.
What a poor illustration then with regard to annuities considering the age difference between 60 and 85. (Refer to blue above) If you know nuts about annuities, then just "diam diam". Real, solid debate is much preferred.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Yes, I remembered posting question for you. Ah, don't be quick to jump off the table. Read the local papers and you get all the answers. I don't bother about foreign sources, not lazy, they are not reliable (that's up to you to disagree).
What about 60, well read again - it just an illustration that if one can draw CPF at 55 with no annuity scheme, that's one scenario to challenge you. Of course, you can come up with so many permutations until the cows mutate but it still the basic issue you all seemed to missed:
1) trend is populace will live longer (yes or no?)
2) those with low incomes may not have sufficient CPF to see them to grand old age.
Remove your fixation on 85, just tell me how you are going to solve this problem - realistically, not romantically!
As put forward by CPFMiller:Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:
As I said again, whether its annuity or something else, is secondaryOriginally posted by TheGoodEarth:Non of what you said or implied is believable. But if you want to hold on to your belief, that is fine with me. I never trouble myself over other people's gripe.
However, if you have a solution or alternative to the circumstances I posed, I would be glad to hear bcos it has impact for me. The rest of personal gripes and political vibes you can save if for yourself to live on till 85.
if u wanna talk bout yourself.. please do so.. but dun drag the rest of us in your 'class'..Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:For the rest of us, we are just out of sight and out of mind!
Shut up if you are finding fault. I did not talk big, it is in your own small mind perception that I talked big. You are the one who talk big here on this thread. YOu talk as if people should not give negative comment at all about the gahmen. Crap lah!Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:That shows you know little about the annuity scheme but you talk so BIG like you know everything. Hey, do not let your personal likes or dislikes cloud the issue here. You think I don't like to have my money at 55 so that I can have a good time with cheena concubine? If after good time I died at 60, that's OK - maybe my bank is still not broke yet. But what if I don't die at 60 and cheena concubine had milked me till zero balance, are you going to feed me??