Well Spartan, that's Sillypore for you. I've long given up on Sillypore as it does not take criticisms in an open way, perhaps its got something to do with how the gahmen has brought us up.....like a father who controls every aspect of a child's life....Originally posted by Spartans:There is NO nation in the world who embrace FULL DEMOCRACY. Not even USA. so the discussion on full democracy will be fruitless.
But seriously, I see no harm in Taiwanese political show criticising Singapore because they backed it up with evidences. Hence it is not baseless accusation.
Be more open to criticism help us to improve.
I found that some Singaporean forumnites reacted in a negative and ungracious way when faced with criticism. An good example is how some forumnites used vugularities against a "HongKong Bus Fan named BusHK" in another thread. Vugularities are really uncalled for.
In political discussion, we used rationale and not emotion.
Agreed, spartans know how to spar democratically.Originally posted by Spartans:I found that some Singaporean forumnites reacted in a negative and ungracious way when faced with criticism. An good example is how some forumnites used vugularities against a "HongKong Bus Fan named BusHK" in another thread. Vugularities are really uncalled for.
seriously i dun know why people are complaining about singapore again. If you all really dislike singapore so much, why dun you all migrate, if the pasture is greener on the other side.Originally posted by Coquitlam:Well Spartan, that's Sillypore for you. I've long given up on Sillypore as it does not take criticisms in an open way, perhaps its got something to do with how the gahmen has brought us up.....like a father who controls every aspect of a child's life....
Seriously, I do admire the Taiwan and HK way of life and their industrious never say die attitude. Yes they are corrupt and their system there is not exactly as ideal as Sillypore's, but they are tops in so many other ways....Will we ever see an Acer or Asus in Sillypore? Never! HK's shopping scene is much better than's Sillypore's....just look at Festival Market, Times Square, mid levels travelator.....man...so damn cool.
Well, many thousands of ex-Sillyporeans like me will wish Sillypore the very best....yeah right!
which part is inaccurate? care to elaborate?Originally posted by january:what they say are inaccurate. Seriously, they should focus on themselves first. I have seen many taiwan people also saying that Taiwan is corked up in TV.
The problem is Taiwan's past history has little to do with "democracy". In fact, today's Taiwan is divided as ever before, partly due to corruption/greed, partly the complete lack of governance/accountability in their leadership.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Hmmm .... very interesting --- very precise, and that is democracy, right?
Hi january, if u read carefully from Coquitlam's posts, he has migrated!Originally posted by january:seriously i dun know why people are complaining about singapore again. If you all really dislike singapore so much, why dun you all migrate, if the pasture is greener on the other side.
oh. then its my mistake then. Where is he living now?Originally posted by Spartans:Hi january, if u read carefully from Coquitlam's posts, he has migrated!![]()
Beat me. U have to pm him to ask.Originally posted by january:oh. then its my mistake then. Where is he living now?
Canada n plus speaking about people migrating, it seemed Spore is becoming like HK already.Originally posted by january:oh. then its my mistake then. Where is he living now?
I concur.Originally posted by Spartans:Some of you mentioned that the Taiwanese commenter should not criticize Singapore and her PAP government. But what is the big idea here?
As allentyb mentioned, Singaporeans already know about the despotism of Lee family. But do remember the show is a Taiwanese political show meant for the Taiwanese audience. It was not intended for Singaporean audience anyway. Get this point right before arguing.
I see no harm in them commenting on Singapore. They are the outsiders and sometimes outsiders can have a clearer picture of the political arena of a nation as they have not being influenced by it in one way or the other. And one of the commenter did dig out plenty of evidence to prove his point.
kudos to that commenter for his sharp observation.
Yup,i also think the same thing.This show is meant for Taiwanese audience,and their analyze is very precise.Some Silliyporeans are too sensitive about Taiwanese critics,and i believe those Sillyporeans are Lee family boot-lickers or PAP members,thats why they have such over-reacted response.Originally posted by Spartans:Some of you mentioned that the Taiwanese commenter should not criticize Singapore and her PAP government. But what is the big idea here?
As allentyb mentioned, Singaporeans already know about the despotism of Lee family. But do remember the show is a Taiwanese political show meant for the Taiwanese audience. It was not intended for Singaporean audience anyway. Get this point right before arguing.
I see no harm in them commenting on Singapore. They are the outsiders and sometimes outsiders can have a clearer picture of the political arena of a nation as they have not being influenced by it in one way or the other. And one of the commenter did dig out plenty of evidence to prove his point.
kudos to that commenter for his sharp observation.
1)LOL,LHL got cancer before n his first wife died after giving birth and then u say he undergone many hardship?Hey,then if anyone here got cancer before n die first wife can replace him as Prime Minister already!!!Do you really know what is "hardship"?Does our LHL ever been poor before?Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:1) Lee Dynasty. They said Lee are set to rule generation after generation (sorta)
Actually, Singapore did protest against LHL being Prime Minister several times. It is because LHL has undergone many hardships (cancer, first wife died after giving birth to an albino) and LHL has always come back strongly after each setbacks that we believe that LHL is also a man of capability. LHL has also contested in General election for his constituency several times and won.
2) Singaporeans dont live happier than Taiwaneses
This is just their opinion. If we are not happy with our standard of living, would we have voted for PAP time after time? Fact is about 66% of Singaporeans are contented every election. In the 2002 election, PAP was given a strong mandate of 80%+ to combat 911.
from previous posts he migrated to Canada long time ago, but somehow his heart still remains in Singapore, may be his CPF money or investment still here. And he is calling for Singaporean to migrate, probably because he feels lonely there and want to have enough Singaporeans there to form a Sillyporean society.Originally posted by Spartans:Hi january, if u read carefully from Coquitlam's posts, he has migrated!![]()
they are already replacing those singaporeans who have migrated. When I go out on weekends, I see more of these people than our own singaporeans, sad. ya, that gazelle hardly comes here these days. There is a "goodearth" here, it is just another troll whose motives are the same as OM, Gazelle and so on. this bad "goodearth" will not be successful in suppressing people from expressing our views and comments about the oppressive PAP.Originally posted by Coquitlam:yeah come to think about it, whatever happened to that dog called gazelle...hmm.....saw the taiwan show....very good.....but like I always feel these past few years, gahmen will still be around for quite a while so no point banging our heads....best solution is to quit and raise a family somewhere else....this is the best solution for all Sillyporeans....let the Chinese mainlanders and Indians come to replace
I absolutely agree with you. I will be negative towards the Taiwanese if their words about PAP are baseless, I find no fault in what they said about our ruling party.Originally posted by Spartans:There is NO nation in the world who embrace FULL DEMOCRACY. Not even USA. so the discussion on full democracy will be fruitless.
But seriously, I see no harm in Taiwanese political show criticising Singapore because they backed it up with evidences. Hence it is not baseless accusation.
Be more open to criticism help us to improve.
I found that some Singaporean forumnites reacted in a negative and ungracious way when faced with criticism. An good example is how some forumnites used vugularities against a "HongKong Bus Fan named BusHK" in another thread. Vugularities are really uncalled for.
Perhaps, you like to be objective before you make any comments.Originally posted by january:what they say are inaccurate. Seriously, they should focus on themselves first. I have seen many taiwan people also saying that Taiwan is corked up in TV.
To avoid mistakes, please learn to be wise, exercise sound/sharp judgement and be objective.Originally posted by january:oh. then its my mistake then. Where is he living now?
yeah, drawer, I love their every word about the father and son (but no holy ghost leh).Originally posted by drawer:I have watched the video for the third times,i simply love the way those Taiwan commentator criticise Lee Kuan Yew n his son.I really hope Lee Kuan Yew n Lee Hsien Loong can watch this video as well,its good for their "health"!!!!![]()
I think both of you are suffering from OCD - Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. But I know you are going to deny that and call me names.Originally posted by qlqq9:yeah, drawer, I love their every word about the father and son (but no holy ghost leh).