Burmese soldiers are not highly educated n they just obey order given y their commanders IF they are highy educated like Spore with mostly ITE, A level or poly diploma graduates, do u think they will obey orders blindly to suppress the rioters as what this the present situation is.Originally posted by MobyDog:I am told that most of the Myanmar's soldiers are not paid.. only provided with food and lodging... thus loyalty is in minus parameter.
The Junta's only control the southern part of Myanmar.. the rest are controlled by different ethnics groups - 8 majority ethnic groups...example.. The Shan/Wa.. The Junta is only controls the communication between the different factions.. all hates each other. If civil war breaks up.. it will be worst than Iraq present situation... with three faction.. and it's a desert.
I finds it funny, when any country govt faces major protest for it's calling for it's down fall... what would any other country react ? In south Korea and european countries they are allowed to use tear gas, batons and rubber bullets.. and even automatic pistol to shot at vocal unarmed protestors (I saw one video last year form live-leak - sweden I think). But Myanmar was frowned upon... even if they are initially using tear gas ? Look at french, Italy and south korea... the police are bashing the protestors like no tomorrow.. but it's ok. USA even arrest granny's just for reading their constitution.
Even in Singapore... force charge with batons and tear gas are approved way of dispersing crowds violent or not... as long as they deemed to be of illegal gathering.
Yes.Originally posted by will4:Burmese soldiers are not highly educated n they just obey order given y their commanders IF they are highy educated like Spore with mostly ITE, A level or poly diploma graduates, do u think they will obey orders blindly to suppress the rioters as what this the present situation is.
I agreed to ur words that discpline is still paramount in the SAF but the govt is trying to make every SAF enlistees(PTE to CFC) thinking soldiers, with thisOriginally posted by Short Ninja:why wear a uniform and carry a weapon when you know you cant carry out the orders of your superior? If every educated soldier think like that then SAF better close shop.
I think the thinking soldier they are thinking are like those special operations troopers. Think on your feet. Think on the spot.Originally posted by will4:I agreed to ur words that discpline is still paramount in the SAF but the govt is trying to make every SAF enlistees(PTE to CFC) thinking soldiers, with this
method, thinking soldiers will try to assess whether their commanders(sergeant n officers) order things make sense or not. This policy is a double edged sword while it is good to foster thinking solders, commander must be on the alert to try to anwer thing to their enlistee if policy in the SAF never make sense.
I almost forgot about this thing. Their families eat army food ration while the generals's families eat good food, able to travel to other part of the countriesOriginally posted by Gazelle:I donÂ’t think it is education but rather the livelihood of the soldiers and their families as most of them a living in government hostel and eating on army food ration.
Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:ya lor, PAP is so great to make $$ this way putting aside the moral values. Great PAP, PAP is great in ignoring moral values. Karma, PAP. Great lah, you continue to support PAP lah to supply arms to burma's evil regime, good for you.
The sad truth is this: it is all about personal and selfish gain, agenda and grouses:
it is [b]ME, MY, MINE, MONEY ....
who cares about MORAL and MYANMAR?
H mmmmmmmmm ......[/b]
And how does that make the world a better place? I don't see the collective interest being better as claimed by citymax there...Originally posted by Icemoon:depends on which side of the fence you are on.
we won't blame you if you become president and get 3 million annually.
but make sure you don't forget us.
hahaha, evil is everywhere, here in this forum too. so what makes qlqq9 highly moralistic? tell us your karma - past & present.Originally posted by qlqq9:ya lor, PAP is so great to make $$ this way putting aside the moral values. Great PAP, PAP is great in ignoring moral values. Karma, PAP. Great lah, you continue to support PAP lah to supply arms to burma's evil regime, good for you.
But I don't remember we have "crushing internal unrest" as part of our [SAF] ops leh.Originally posted by deathmaster:so, if singapore manage to have 10000 ppl protesting on the streets, most likely that our "efficient, uncorrupted and beloved" gov will send in the tanks. another tiananmen....
From another perspective, the money earned goes into the nation's coffer.Originally posted by blueheeler:Someone replied in the closed thread on 'Exposed', that to be pragmatic, Singapore's dealings with Burma are strictly for business, and that Singapore is NOT to shoulder any blame for helping Burmese generals stay in business.
I find that selfish, and unsettling.
This point is questionable. The money earned go into helping the ordinary Myanmar citizens or just the top brass generals and their families extravagant lifestyle?Originally posted by Icemoon:From another perspective, the money earned goes into the nation's coffer.
What kind of accountability are you talking about? Did you actually try to find out? If the government gives you all the information you need, will you accept it? No point lah, anything just blame the government.Originally posted by googoomuck:With no accountability and transparency, nobody knows exactly the amount of the country's reserves. Think about the CPF. Is anyone very sure if the money is still there?
There's a need for a citizen's army to defend the nation but not many are keen to make it a career.
The soldiers have families all over the island. How many of them will shoot a fellow citizen? Is there any pride for an army to defeat and kill its own people?
I have a feeling all these generals are probably using money to buy the loyalty of their troops so there will not be a coup by the ordinary soldiers.Originally posted by Spartans:This point is questionable. The money earned go into helping the ordinary Myanmar citizens or just the top brass generals and their families extravagant lifestyle?
You sounded no different from the Junta. Tyrants would be happy having you to help them kill and suppress innocent people. Either you have a mind that can't think properly or you are too rigid to follow senseless order.Originally posted by Short Ninja:Everybody has their own opinion on this but here is mine.If I was wearing the Singapore Armed Forces uniform I would do it.Thank god I dont need to put on any paramilitary uniform now or maybe ever
Government accountability (at least to 666 percent of the electorate who voted)Originally posted by pretzel:What kind of accountability are you talking about? Did you actually try to find out? If the government gives you all the information you need, will you accept it? No point lah, anything just blame the government.
Then what do you want? can explain on the ruthless exploitatation?Originally posted by walesa:Is a world rampant with ruthless exploitation with stability really better?
I mean our biz earnings with Burma goes into our nation's coffer right?Originally posted by Spartans:This point is questionable. The money earned go into helping the ordinary Myanmar citizens or just the top brass generals and their families extravagant lifestyle?
Obedience has got nothing do with education. Even a PHD will take orders to shoot when he wears the uniform. Ultimately, whether one obeys or not depends on whether he is under threat, and whther he is courageous enough to make a stand or be a hero. Given that SGreans are kiasu plus kiasi, it is very unlikely that an order will be subordinated unless someone is a hero to take the lead, then the typical SGrean will follow. In this forum, it is easy to make a comment but when you are like the soldiers in Myanmar, I wonder what you would do?Originally posted by will4:Burmese soldiers are not highly educated n they just obey order given y their commanders IF they are highy educated like Spore with mostly ITE, A level or poly diploma graduates, do u think they will obey orders blindly to suppress the rioters as what this the present situation is.