They hosted the IMF supposedly to bring honor to Singaporeans but instead, bring shame to us with their handling of the NGOs. Put up with inconvenience for SHAME.Originally posted by FireIce:meeting meeting...
like IMF...
look at the inconveniences we have to put up with
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:hurray. Good for the economy (and govt), bad for the people (inconveniences and over population at that period)
[b]Singapore ranked third in world's top cities for meetings
SINGAPORE: Singapore has been ranked the world's third top city for meetings.
It stands just behind Paris and Vienna, which hold the first and second positions, based on the Union of International Associations (UIA) latest rankings.
This is the first time Singapore has been placed among the top three.
It also moves up three notches, from fourth position, to being Asia's top country for meetings.
At the same time, Singapore maintains its 23-year standing as Asia's top city for meetings...
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/301903/1/.html[/b]
Some of the shops were forced to close just for the IMF meeting.Originally posted by soul_rage:hurray. Good for the economy (and govt), bad for the people (inconveniences and over population at that period)
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:That's great news.
[b]Singapore ranks as best place to do business for second year
SINGAPORE : Singapore has been named the easiest place in the world to do business for the second year running.
The annual rankings were released in the 'Doing Business 2008' report by the World Bank. A total of 178 places were surveyed for the report.
Singapore has kept its top spot, followed by New Zealand, the United States and Hong Kong.
"This Doing Business report by the World Bank is meant for foreign investors and enterprises who are interested to enter these countries, and invest and do business in these countries. Singapore, by being number one, shows that it is number one destination for businesses to come here," said Ryan Ang, Liaison Officer, World Bank Group Office.
The rankings are based on 10 indicators that track time and cost to meet government requirements in business start-up, operation, trade, taxation and closure...
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/302172/1/.html[/b]
1.If SG dunt has this quality,more people will be poorer.Originally posted by charlize:That's great news.
But seems like now a lot of Singaporeans won't have enough CPF for their retirement leh.
So how?
Singapore: Most Cost-Competitive Place for BusinessMen,keep moving.A platoon of runners just behind our back.
Country Cost Index Rank
Singapore 77.7 1
Canada 94.5 2
France 95.6 3
Source: KPMG Competitive Alternatives Study, 2006
World's easiest place to do business
Rank Country
1 Singapore
2 New Zealand
3 United States
Source: World Bank report: "Doing Business 2007: How to Reform"
Singapore is the "Best Business Environment" spot in Asia Pacific
Country Total Score Global Rank
Singapore 8.74 4
Hong Kong 8.61 8
Australia 8.45 12
Source: EIU Country Forecast, January 2007
World's Most 'Network Ready' Country
Rating Country
1 United States
2 Singapore
3 Denmark
Source: Global Information Technology Report 2005/06, World Economic Forum
World: E-readiness Rankings
Rank Country
1 Denmark
2 United States
3 Switzerland
4 Sweden
Source: Economist Intelligence Unit, 2006
Singapore: 2nd Most Technologically Ready Nation in Asia
Rank Country
1 Finland
2 Japan
3 Sweden
Source: Global Competitiveness Report 2006-2007
Most competitive Asian Economy
Rank Country
1 United States
2 Singapore
3 Hong Kong
Source: World Competitiveness Report 2007
Best Labour Force
Country Rating
Singapore 88
USA 75
Taiwan 74
Source: BERI's 2007 Labour Force Evaluation Measure (LFEM) report
Countries with the least restrictive immigration laws for employing foreign labour
Ranking Country
1 Ireland
2 Chile
3 United Kingdom
Source: IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2006
Singapore: 2nd in the World for Global Potential Competitiveness
Rank Country
1 Hong Kong
2 Singapore
3 United States
Source: Japan Center of Economic Research, 2007
Most attractive investment incentives in Asia
Rank Country
1 Slovak Republic
2 Czech Republic
3 Ireland
4 Singapore
Source: IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2005
Singapore: 1st in the World for Quality of Air Transportation
Ranking Country
1 Singapore
2 Bavaria
3 Hong Kong
4 Germany
Source: World Competitiveness Yearbook 2006
Singapore: Best Quality for Port Infrastructure
Ranking Country
1 Singapore
2 Netherlands
3 Hong Kong
Source: Global Competitiveness Report 2006-2007
Most Vital International Air Travel Hubs
Rank City
1 Paris
2 Anchorage
3 London
4 Singapore
Source: National Academy of Science, May 2005
World: Overall Competitiveness
Rank Country (<20m pop)
1 United States
2 Hong Kong
3 Singapore
4 Iceland
Source: IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2006
Singapore: 2nd in the world for Investment Potential, 1st in Asia
Rank Country POR Score
1 Switzerland 82
2 Singapore 78
3 Netherlands 75
4 Japan 75
Source: BERI Report August 2006
Bureaucracy and Red Tape in Asia
Country Level of Red Tape (0 = no red tape, 10 = high levels of red tape)
Singapore 2.48
Hong Kong 2.52
Taiwan 5.21
South Korea 5.49
Source: Political and Economic Risk Consultancy, June 2006
World's Top 20 Most Globalised Nations
Rank Country
1 Singapore
2 Switzerland
3 United States
4 Ireland
Source: A.T. Kearney/FOREIGN POLICY Magazine Globalization Index 2006
Perceptions of Corporate Governance Standards
Country Rating (0 being the best and 10 the worst)
Singapore 2.4
Japan 3.8
Hong Kong 4.2
Taiwan 5.8
Source: Political and Economic Risk Consultancy, June 2006
Singapore has one of Asia's highest Integrity Government
Country Level of Corruption (0 = no corruption, 10 = high levels of corruption)
Singapore 1.3
Japan 3.01
Hong Kong 3.13
Macao 4.78
Source: Political and Economic Risk Consultancy, March 2006
Global Country Brand for Shopping
Rank Country
1 United States
2 Singapore
3 Italy
4 United Arab Emirates
Source: Global Country Brand Index, 2006�
Country Brand for Nightlife/Dinning
Rank Country
1 Italy
2 Singapore
3 United States
Source: Global Country Brand Index, 2006
The best place to live for Asian expatriates
Rank Location
1 Singapore
2 Sydney - Australia
3 Melbourne - Australia
4 Canberra - Australia
5 Kobe - Japan
6 Auckland - New Zealand
7 Copenhagen - Denmark
8 Vancouver - Canada
9 Wellington - New Zealand
10 Basel - Switzerland
Source: ECA International 2006
Asia's No.1 place to live, work and play
Rank City Country
1 Zurich Switzerland
2 Geneva Switzerland
3 Vancouver Canada
4 Vienna Austria
5 Auckland New Zealand
6 Dusseldorf Germany
7 Frankfurt Germany
8 Munich Germany
9 Bern Switzerland
9 Sydney Australia
33 Paris France
34 Singapore Singapore
35 Tokyo Japan
Source: Mercer Human Resource Consulting, 2005-2006
Singapore: World's 2nd Freest Economy
Rank Country
1 Hong Kong
2 Singapore
3 Australia
4 United States
5 New Zealand
6 United Kingdom
7 Ireland
8 Luxembourg
Source: The Heritage Foundation, Index of Economic Freedom 2007

What a joke or rather, you are a joke.....good things about Sillypore....it can only be good for the gahmen....cut your crap and go somewhere elseOriginally posted by Poh Ah Pak:This thread has been opened for people in the forum to post good news and positive reports about Singapore, as well as praises for the PAP government.
There should not be any bad news or reports that protray Singapore or the PAP government in a negative way. No criticism of PAP government or Singapore is allowed.
This is so as to maintain the balance of propaganda in the forum between good and bad news.
Simple answer and your insanity blocked your vision.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:hahahaha, I wonder whether this thread was created for balance or for another political agenda.
I am an insane who didn't know that I am living in such a terrible state called SG. Every other country seems to be better - their gahmen, their newspapers, their professors, their history, their stories, their freedom. Here, I am not free, I am blind, I have no speech and I can't even spend my own money. Hmmm ... where shall I go?
Originally posted by Atobe:Aah, my wish came true ..... the political agendist is here for me to pile more crap on top of his bull=sh....t !
Simple answer and your insanity blocked your vision.
Just return to a pile of crap where you were made from to be [b]TheGoodEarth'...
Here is a survey which could explain why there are so many whiners in this forum. http://www.synovate.com/current/news/article/2005/10/synovate-survey-shows-ascending-singaporean-spending-power.htmlOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:World first and world best in so many things (apparently, allegedly) and yet after taking at one time 40% of the people's salaries and now 32% they come and tell you that you do not have enough for retirement.
You know why? They keep taking (in the form of hidden taxes) until you do not have enough. The hidden taxes that they take from you and expect to take from you goes to increasing their million dollars salaries as well....![]()
You seem to be hung up on one common line in all your post - are you trying hard not to expose too much of your double character from being sniffed out as your crap maker ?Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Aah, my wish came true ..... the political agendist is here for me to pile more crap on top of his bull=sh....t !
It is amazing that the MIW carpet beggars are the ones deriding their critics as whiners, while they forget to remind themselves of their own whining about the whiners..Originally posted by Gazelle:Here is a survey which could explain why there are so many whiners in this forum. http://www.synovate.com/current/news/article/2005/10/synovate-survey-shows-ascending-singaporean-spending-power.html