Of course it was never a one-sided decision. When have I ever said so?Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:No, no. You are limiting leaders to SG - that I know. The separation wasn't a decision involving one set of leaders. Your suspicion is misplaced.
Singapore kicked out of Malaysia? Or was it more of us wanting out?Originally posted by RatFink:Eh.. please lah!!! You want to laugh at other people must get your own facts right first.
Like or not, good or bad. Know our history. Singapore kicked out of Malaysia. LKY cried.
Good or bad. Donno. We live without Malaysia? Definately.
Biut fact is fact. We kicked out of Malaysia.
Hmmm .... interesting. Can you tell me which history text you use? Need to read books, especially foreign ones if not some forumers call me stupid!Originally posted by Rock^Star:Know your history? Think again.
give him the usual NPNT...Originally posted by mhcampboy:he can still dare to tell me to go search old news archive.... or ask the media or any MALAYSIANS!! WTF!
As quoted from Malaysian history textbooks. Inside, you will find how it contradicts the Singaporean version.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Hmmm .... interesting. Can you tell me which history text you use? Need to read books, especially foreign ones if not some forumers call me stupid!
Also, are you (in a way) implying that LKY planned the separation, so his crying, are crocodile tears?
Do you need anyone to tell you that you are stupid ?Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Hmmm .... interesting. Can you tell me which history text you use? Need to read books, especially foreign ones if not some forumers call me stupid!
Also, are you (in a way) implying that LKY planned the separation, so his crying, are crocodile tears?
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Singapore kicked out of Malaysia? Or was it more of us wanting out?
We were the only state in Malaya where the Chinese race was overwhelmingly predominant. How would we have survived under the Bumiputera policy? Surely LKY had considered that.
Tunku Abdul Rahman was also afraid of the Chinese in Malaya supporting the PAP due to its rapidly expanding influence. How would this have affected UMNO? PAP knew it would have little standing and be forced out eventually someday.
In that sense, LKY had the vision and guts to take this painful decision of seperation. Considering the hostile circumstances back then, you think he really wanted to stay?
Or could it have been another conspiracy where he made use of Malaya to gain independence? It was Tunku Abdul Rahman who made the trip to Britain that finally secured the independence from British rule. Any idea what Malaysian history books say over the causeway?
Know your history? Think again.
yayaya papaya, Atobe is the most un-stupid but I managed to pile my crap on his bull-sh....t, lei!Originally posted by Atobe:[color=darkred]Do you need anyone to tell you that you are stupid ?
With the GoodEarth made from a pile of crap, how much more stupidly crappy can you hope to be ?
The Wikipedia is open to anyone to upload information and the accuracy is dependent on the agenda as much as on factual reporting.Originally posted by RatFink:Don't want to do your research for you. Go read history of our region. Don't read Malaysia side don't read Singapore side. Read neutral report.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Singapore - "resulted in Singapore's expulsion from Malaysia"
"I consider it a misfortune to make this announcement. This concerns the separation of Singapore from Malaysia"
"For me it is a moment of anguish. All my life, my whole adult life, I have believed in merger and the unity of the two territories; It broke everything we stood for"
"My dream is shattered and so we come now to the parting of the ways"
Know who say that before crying on TV?
Go find out.
On August 9, 1965, Tunku Abdul Rahman issued a proclamation that Singapore would cease to be part of Malaysia and become independent and separate.
Tunku Abdul Rahman from PAP yah? He Singaporean yah?
Actually, Singapore want to collabrate with Malaysia in many things... It will make Singapore's life easier... From the negotiation table, it seems like Singapore want more collabration than Malaysia want more... So, from tat point of view, yes... Singapore is more humble than Malaysia counter partOriginally posted by ispyyy:He interpret wrongly lah...
But in 1990s, Singapore and Malaysia do intend to discuss on joint economic zone... but it never succeed ... Coz, water issue, railway issue and blah blah...
w/o the bumi policy, msia will be like indonesia...Originally posted by Spartans:History aside, I'm just glad Singapore is not part of Malaysia.
Bumiputera policy? Over my dead body. No way. I cannot tolerate such open discrimination and suppression on other ethnic groups.
Bumiputera policy included:
1. Housing discount for Malays.
2. Gov agencies workforce must be made up of 80% of Malays. Even there is
no Malay candidate, they are unlikely to hire other ethnic candidate for the
job vanancy.
3. All public listed companies, including MNC, must have certain number of
Malay directors(obviously they are not up to mark and simply do nothing).
4. School and university priority.
5. A Chinese/Indian cannot buy a Malays house. But Malay can buy
Chinese/Indian house. 1 side property sales only.
Just to list down a few.
Source: My few Malaysian friends who are sick of and pissed off by the Bumiputera policy
Hello they are NUS undergrad leh. what cannot make it? dun make baseless accusation. U have to be a Malaysian Chinese to experience how they feel.Originally posted by WildWildWet:w/o the bumi policy, msia will be like indonesia...
the problem of the bumi policy is that it only benefit certain group of ppl...
that's y some malay also dont like the policy.
ur fren pissed off simply bcos they cmi.. many chinese are doing very well there
True, TAR kicked Singapore out.Originally posted by RatFink:Eh.. please lah!!! You want to laugh at other people must get your own facts right first.
Like or not, good or bad. Know our history. Singapore kicked out of Malaysia. LKY cried.
Good or bad. Donno. We live without Malaysia? Definately.
Biut fact is fact. We kicked out of Malaysia.
Wikipedia is hardly anything even proxy to neutral. Given wikipedia's popularity the world over, the govt would surely monitor its contents. Would it then be surprising that a lot of the information inside is presented the way that they would like it seen?Originally posted by RatFink:Don't want to do your research for you. Go read history of our region. Don't read Malaysia side don't read Singapore side. Read neutral report.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Singapore - "resulted in Singapore's expulsion from Malaysia"
"I consider it a misfortune to make this announcement. This concerns the separation of Singapore from Malaysia"
"For me it is a moment of anguish. All my life, my whole adult life, I have believed in merger and the unity of the two territories; It broke everything we stood for"
"My dream is shattered and so we come now to the parting of the ways"
Know who say that before crying on TV?
Go find out.
On August 9, 1965, Tunku Abdul Rahman issued a proclamation that Singapore would cease to be part of Malaysia and become independent and separate.
Tunku Abdul Rahman from PAP yah? He Singaporean yah?