Health Ministry unveils S$2b infrastructure masterplanBut today (6 days later):
SINGAPORE: Singapore's medical landscape is set to be transformed by 2015 with a S$2 billion infrastructure masterplan.
Under the masterplan will be new facilities, including a new general hospital in Jurong and a centre to manage addiction problems.
Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan said: "When we underestimate demand, the result is overcrowding at hospitals, as we now experience at Tan Tock Seng Hospital. If we over-estimate demand and over-supply, we end up with under-utilised assets - a costly outcome.
"Between over-supply and under-supply, I would prefer to slightly under-supply than to over-supply as this will put pressure on ourselves to intensify usage and minimise over-consumption."
And on that basis, the Ministry revealed details of its masterplan.
The new Khoo Teck Puat hospital in Yishun will open in 2010 and more general hospitals are planned, including one in Jurong which will open before 2015.
Hospital in Jurong on holdEven for someone who 'forgets' his promises and deadlines so often, this must be a new record!!
Tenders called now will mean higher building costs: Khaw
THE hospital in Yishun will come up as planned in three years, but the Government will take its time to build the one in Jurong.
Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan, speaking at a community event in Yishun yesterday, said rising construction costs in recent months would swell building costs of Yishun's Khoo Teck Puat Hospital by 10 to 20 per cent.
He told reporters that in hindsight, he should have started work on the hospital two or even three years earlier.
But since the Government had committed itself to opening that hospital by 2010, it would make good on its promise, he added.
'But it does mean that for Jurong hospital, the western hospital which I am planning, I will take my time,' he said.
There was no point heading into the whole construction frenzy when the tender price is too high, otherwise 'the high cost will eventually be borne by everybody, by society, by the Government and by patients', he said. [quote]
Originally posted by pooh_bear:Easy - 6 day ago he have $2 billion, then 6 day later he does not have it = he spend it all within 6 days !!!
On [b]25 Sep 2007,
6 days ago.... $2 billion dollars, 6 day later... suddenly no money. Next time he says "slightly under-supply", you know what he means!!
U mean Khaw is 6 million richer in 6 days?Originally posted by storywolf:Easy - 6 day ago he have $2 billion, then 6 day later he does not have it = he spend it all within 6 days !!!
So PM Lee is the final decision maker, or is his father?Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:![]()
I don't think it's him who make this decision. He's not such person.
I think is finance ministers and PM.Originally posted by Spartans:So PM Lee is the final decision maker, or is his father?![]()
How can you say he is richer in 6 day ... please do not insult him.Originally posted by Spartans:U mean Khaw is 6 million richer in 6 days?![]()
Finance Minister is also our PM.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:I think is finance ministers and PM.
FM: Eh, can postpone the Jurong Hospital project anot? too expensive liao.
Then someone suggest building Jurong Hospital using cheap, recyclable, and clean material.. Sourcing for material means need more time!
FM: Good idea! It can save cost! It can also promote environmental awareness!
Then Khaw is made to announce this lor...
10 years down the road, we'll have our Green and Environmental friendly Hospital.
That's what I guess.
wahahaha great story!Originally posted by storywolf:How can you say he is richer in 6 day ... please do not insult him.
He just use it for the good of all singaporean, he use it to build the world 1st stealth hospital in Ponggol !!!
Yep you go to ponggol mrt - outside so many big fields there !!! why they never build shopping mall , that is because it is reserve for the 1st stealth hospital in the world and cost 6 million !!!
The stealth and construction techology was used to enable the fast construction of it - that why the hospital was able to be completed within 6 days only. The hosptial is totally completed, equip and ready for use, and the stealth work so good that no one can see or find it with any known technology !!! The only issue is if you cannot find it mean you cannot seek treatment there ..... unless some kind soul put put some white elephant sign board to point the way in for you .... !!!
No wonder can sue ka sue ka raise his own pay lah....Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Finance Minister is also our PM.![]()
Originally posted by pooh_bear:He not only forgets his promises, he is also easily misled by crook!
On [b]25 Sep 2007,
Even for someone who 'forgets' his promises and deadlines so often, this must be a new record!!
6 days ago.... $2 billion dollars, 6 day later... suddenly no money. Next time he says "slightly under-supply", you know what he means!!
Build F1 racing track in 1 year for FT, no problem!! Plenty of money.
Build hospital for Singaporeans, 4 years haven't even start.[/b]
It's easier to send it to the Cayman Islands. =]Originally posted by storywolf:Easy - 6 day ago he have $2 billion, then 6 day later he does not have it = he spend it all within 6 days !!!
classic laOriginally posted by storywolf:How can you say he is richer in 6 day ... please do not insult him.
He just use it for the good of all singaporean, he use it to build the world 1st stealth hospital in Ponggol !!!
Yep you go to ponggol mrt - outside so many big fields there !!! why they never build shopping mall , that is because it is reserve for the 1st stealth hospital in the world and cost 6 million !!!
The stealth and construction techology was used to enable the fast construction of it - that why the hospital was able to be completed within 6 days only. The hosptial is totally completed, equip and ready for use, and the stealth work so good that no one can see or find it with any known technology !!! The only issue is if you cannot find it mean you cannot seek treatment there ..... unless some kind soul put put some white elephant sign board to point the way in for you .... !!!
Mdm Ho laOriginally posted by Spartans:So PM Lee is the final decision maker, or is his father?![]()
Originally posted by av98m:"Between over-supply and under-supply, I would prefer to slightly under-supply than to over-supply as this will put pressure on ourselves to intensify usage and minimise over-consumption."
Actually for this line alone he should apologise and resign. Followed by his suicide.
This is the way they see basic necessities for the people.Originally posted by Lin Yu:![]()