I'm glad the govt practices double standards!Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Double standards?Thanks for pointing it out.
Glad to hear that too. Hope the government practises more double standards in the near future!Originally posted by Icemoon:I'm glad the govt practices double standards!
If not .. countless will have died under stupid laws like Section 377 liao.![]()
Yes, but when Singaporeans agreed to what LKY and PAP decided then and went along with it, that was it. If you want that to change today, Singaporeans have to decide that at the same time and vote PAP out. However, not all think along the same lines as you. Tell your parents/grandparents that.Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Then this is just a robotic society.
We are humans, not robots.
We have feelings.
We need to express ourselves.
If you want that to change today, Singaporeans have to decide that at the same time and vote PAP out.Not easy.
Demonstrations are not the only way of showing compassion. There is nothing peaceful and compassionate about demonstrations anyway.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:For what? Are you telling me Singapore is devoid of religions now? Explain then why are the good citizens of Myanmar prevented from showing support for their own countrymen... IN A PEACEFUL MANNER.
Then use the PAP way lor .. use money to buy talents. Isn't this what the commercial world is doing?Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Not easy.
The odds are heavily staked against the Opposition parties.
Mmmh were they waving placards and chanting? I hope signatures are not considered a form of weapons now?Originally posted by kramnave:Demonstrations are not the only way of showing compassion. There is nothing peaceful and compassionate about demonstrations anyway.
don't be double standards lah.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Sometimes I just wish that Singapore is a Communist state. At least I don't have to know that 66.6% of Singaporeans are actually... blind. The worse is after voting for the government, they start complaining about the government policies... this is so... dumb.
Not sure those talents they bought are really ''talents'' in the first place. More ERPs as a solution! Wow... exceptionally talented I must say.Originally posted by Icemoon:Then use the PAP way lor .. use money to buy talents. Isn't this what the commercial world is doing?
Oops haha. Okok... 66.6% who voted.Originally posted by Icemoon:don't be double standards lah.
You know the real stats cannot be 66.6%. Add in those no chance to vote .. maybe only 40% are blind.![]()
Were they stopped ? Were their aims of lighting candles, petitioning etc stopped ? no !Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Mmmh were they waving placards and chanting? I hope signatures are not considered a form of weapons now?
At least I don't have to know that 66.6% of Singaporeans are actually... blind.Don't forget the 33.3%.
How would you know that they were not going to vote for PAP ?Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Don't forget the 33.3%.
There is still the 33.3%
That is one third of the people who voted. And those who casted spoiled ballots?
They don't support PAP clique either.
Many people also did not get a chance to vote.
Pointing a video camera... data collection... nice.Originally posted by kramnave:Were they stopped ? Were their aims of lighting candles, petitioning etc stopped ? no !
Were they stopped from signing the petition ?Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Pointing a video camera... data collection... nice.
Those stupid laws are for flexibility. For example, draconian internal security and SARS laws actually helped saved our nation against external threat. Everyone's favourite examples of bastions of democracy - Hong Kong, England, United States - failed in those incidents. We can argue, if they can't even prevent a *major* terrorist attack, can you trust them to prevent Yishun MRT station from being bombed?Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Glad to hear that too. Hope the government practises more double standards in the near future!
And so people continued to make their way to the Burmese embassy and at one point they numbered more than 200. Each and every one of them sat quietly on the pavement after they signed the petition, in solidarity with the brothers and sisters at home.What happened to this group of people? Were they forcefully disbanded?
Many were deep in prayer. Others sat stoically and munched absent-mindedly on their dinner. Even when an embassy car drove up to enter the compound, the crowd quietly parted to allow it through. No shouts, no cussing. Just dignified anger.
Sufficiently startled, the police swung into action. ASP Deep Singh went around the crowd asking for all to leave the place as it “was an offence for five or more people to be assembled without a permit.” He received a polite but defiant applause for his efforts.
His subordinates were, meanwhile, diligently confronting visitors at the entrance to St MartinÂ’s Drive. They were asking for particulars and telling people that they could not go to sign the petition.
Despite their best efforts, however, many people ignored the policeÂ’s half-hearted and confused demands. What if the people there were residents in the area or were visiting friends?
Nope but the intention was there. You can be judged in court with the intention to commit blah blah...( I'm not well-versed in law, so please correct me if I am wrong)Originally posted by kramnave:Were they stopped from signing the petition ?
To each his own way of interpretation. Anyway my initial point is that the ones feeling the misery are the burmese and i absolutely am disgusted with the SDP for politicising this event. Whilst the Burmese just want to light candles and gather, SDP tries to add to the flames. I just hope Chee Soon Juan stops riding on other peoples misery to achieve his cause and i also hope he stop bad mouthing us overseas with every opportunity.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Nope but the intention was there. You can be judged in court with the intention to commit blah blah...( I'm not well-versed in law, so please correct me if I am wrong)
For example, draconian internal security and SARS laws actually helped saved our nation against external threat.There are already other laws dealing with the powers of the state and ISD in carrying out activities to provide internal security.
Did you read about the one where police were asking the Burmese in Singapore to remove a certain innocent tee-shirt?Originally posted by kramnave:To each his own way of interpretation. Anyway my initial point is that the ones feeling the misery are the burmese and i absolutely am disgusted with the SDP for politicising this event. Whilst the Burmese just want to light candles and gather, SDP tries to add to the flames. I just hope Chee Soon Juan stops riding on other peoples misery to achieve his cause and i also hope he stop bad mouthing us overseas with every opportunity.
Look, i made my point. I'm biased against the SDP. I do not like Chee Soon Juan and his antics. I'm totally disgusted with them. That is my point. What is your point ?Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:Did you read about the one where police were asking the Burmese in Singapore to remove a certain innocent tee-shirt?
My point is that I am utterly disgusted with the Authorities in Singapore. And it doesn't stop with the Singapore Police Force... it goes aaaaaaaaaall the way up.Originally posted by kramnave:Look, i made my point. I'm biased against the SDP. I do not like Chee Soon Juan and his antics. I'm totally disgusted with them. That is my point. What is your point ?
That has nothing to do with me then. I'm talking about the SDP and its not a SDP vs PAP debate.Originally posted by bigmouthjoe:My point is that I am utterly disgusted with the Authorities in Singapore. And it doesn't stop with the Singapore Police Force... it goes aaaaaaaaaall the way up.![]()
Nope, nothing personal. Just pointing out how unfair the local authorities are... and how comical and childish their actions would seem when disclosed to the world.Originally posted by kramnave:That has nothing to do with me then. I'm talking about the SDP and its not a SDP vs PAP debate.