If you think you are you are. As a Singaporean, somehow i don't feel that way.Originally posted by zenden9:Aren't we?![]()
By looking at majority type of reply in these thread,I think we are!Originally posted by kramnave:If you think you are you are. As a Singaporean, somehow i don't feel that way.
hang on!! not too long ago, Sillypore was still talking about withdrawing CPF to buy roof above his head in Canada. Maybe sillypore is still taking pocket money from parent leh..who knows...big talking in forums is not that difficult isnt it?Originally posted by Rock^Star:Time and again, you call Singapore Sillypore.....Singaporeans Sillyporeans.
Since you are already in Canada, happy and settled, good for you.
Coming back to repeatedly slam Singapore just shows you have more than an axe to grind. Perhaps you have had grievances here that few know about.
True blue Singaporeans do not just leave with a snap of their fingers. Much more factors have to be taken into account.
If you have already become a Canadian, then it is better to bother about domestic issues back home than be an alien here.
You have just confirmed one of the big problems people are facing - you are unable to cast your vote.Originally posted by kramnave:With regards to the government, i personally do not feel bullied. If i do feel that way, i'll cast my vote for the opposition regardless of who the opposition is as there is nothing to lose. Anyway, i haven't been able to vote. Some feel bullied some don't, we will have to accept that.
Robert,Bingo! U just spot a sillyporean who refuse to admit he is! (just like a ostrich who dig in his head not realising what's the danger outside?)Originally posted by robertteh:You have just confirmed one of the big problems people are facing - you are unable to cast your vote.
Why ? Because people lack the quality to exercise their right thereby allowing a self-centred self-serving and questionable government eventually to usurp or GRC their constitutional right of electing their best leaders to look after their interests.
So have you migrated?Originally posted by zenden9:Aren't we?![]()
\Originally posted by Rock^Star:So have you migrated?
Well its not my fault that the opposition doesn't want to contest in my area. I must reiterate that i do not feel bullied and i don't feel silly. I do not live in fear and i have a spine. You must respect that.Originally posted by robertteh:You have just confirmed one of the big problems people are facing - you are unable to cast your vote.
Why ? Because people lack the quality to exercise their right thereby allowing a self-centred self-serving and questionable government eventually to usurp or GRC their constitutional right of electing their best leaders to look after their interests.
Robert echoes Li Ao and says Singaporeans lack quality. That we are constantly bullied.Originally posted by zenden9:\
I wished I could![]()
I have the option of migrating. I do not know why you have to insist on something that i do not feel. Especially when i do not know you at all. Its not my fault that you are not happy with your life.Originally posted by zenden9:Robert,Bingo! U just spot a sillyporean who refuse to admit he is! (just like a ostrich who dig in his head not realising what's the danger outside?)
I think u still haven get my idea which I'm trying to bring across...Originally posted by Rock^Star:Robert echoes Li Ao and says Singaporeans lack quality. That we are constantly bullied.
That's one point of view and I do not disagree with that.
Do you then go on to stereotype like an ex-Singaporean that we are all Sillyporeans, who may have left Singapore in the first place under acrimonious conditions, judging from his sour grapes postings?
If you have no choice but to remain Singaporean, then be a good Singaporean, not Sillyporean and prove the naysayers right. Because that is what you are behaving like now.
So sad for Sillyporean who don't even know what's gone wrong?Originally posted by kramnave:I have the option of migrating. I do not know why you have to insist on something that i do not feel. Especially when i do not know you at all. Its not my fault that you are not happy with your life.
Originally posted by reyes:I agree with you that in any enterprise, CEOs must be made accountable and when they make any mistakes they must resign or be thrown out for such mistakes.
[b]Li Ao .. all these people just talk and talk but their country still have many problems.
They are so smart and analytical i would advise them to get their country up and running first.
Singaporeans have very good life liao.. but for some reasons some of them are just full of complaints. I certainly don't understand what is there for you people to complain about.
If you all think that an utopia country exist, then that explain why you all are complaining day in day out. The problem is that complainers over spend their salary, don't know how to do budgeting and saving. Therefore, end up no money, so complain about govt this and that.
Don't pick on govt faults and keep complaining. Govt are just like you and us. we make mistakes all the time. Are you harping on your mistakes, your parents mistakes all the time. It would be irritating , isn't it?
i dont understand why you dont let ppl whine. if you consider debating in parliament as problems then probably every damn developed country in the world has a " problem".
Imagine this, the company you work in record profits loss due to CEO mistakes, and the CEO say, every employee must use part of your salary to buy company products which you dont need, like it or not.
i bet your parents dont take millions dollars from you to make mistake. if they do, i bet you will whine the loudest too. if you contribute just couple of hundreds a mth, probably your expectation will be lower.
if you mention singaporeans has a good life, it depends who you compare with. thailand? malaysia? or switzerland. if you compare switzerland we are not there yet. compare to malaysia, maybe but the standard living is different and govt take less from ppl too.
I do get your point but I must feel sorry for you. Because you choose to call yourself a Sillyporean based on your perspective. That is your prerogative, singing the tune of an ex-Singaporean.Originally posted by zenden9:I think u still haven get my idea which I'm trying to bring across...
Sillypore still is Sillypore.![]()
What has gone wrong with your life in Singapore ?Originally posted by zenden9:So sad for Sillyporean who don't even know what's gone wrong?![]()
Use yr pride wisely,not rashly!Originally posted by Rock^Star:I do get your point but I must feel sorry for you. Because you choose to call yourself a Sillyporean based on your perspective. That is your prerogative, singing the tune of an ex-Singaporean.
You have absolutely no pride at all about the land in which you were raised.
So besides what Robert said about Singaporeans being bullied, care to enlighten what is wrong being Singaporean....Originally posted by zenden9:So sad for Sillyporean who don't even know what's gone wrong?![]()
Do excercise discretion when damning your own citizenship. The place where you were raised shaped your character. If you can throw that away easily just like that, then it certainly is a misuse of one's pride of one's land.Originally posted by zenden9:Use yr pride wisely,not rashly!
Fine,think whatever u deemed. Hope I have make my point in here...
Is there not a reason for opposition being unable to put up candidates to stand for election in GRCed wards? Have you considered this possibility?Originally posted by kramnave:Well its not my fault that the opposition doesn't want to contest in my area. I must reiterate that i do not feel bullied and i don't feel silly. I do not live in fear and i have a spine. You must respect that.
In these capitalism world, percentage of rich will hardly overtake medium and the poor.Originally posted by caleb_chiang:In a society such as this, the kiasee SG'reans would most probably do the biddings of the gahment to prevent having getting into trouble for not doing so...![]()
Look, GRC or no GRC the government would be ousted if things are really bad.Originally posted by robertteh:Is there not a reason for opposition being unable to put up candidates to stand for election in GRCed wards? Have you considered this possibility?
Do you think that oppositions are really at fault for being GRCed to extinction?
Do you really care whether the clamp-down on 5-person assembly as illegal is really good for our onward growth competitiveness or vibrancy as a people.
Do you think GRCs truly serve the long-term political evolution of a country for the greater benefits of all or the majority ?
Or do you not think that GRCs might have been insidiously and selfishly calculated to perpetuate the ruling party to stay in power.
If you happen to be by accident of birth or circumstances part of the beneficiary or simply the lucky minority do you think the rest of society are really at fault for not trying like Wee Shu Min for their struggling to keep up with rising costs or employment.
What happen if one day you are at the receiving end and policies are reversed by different parties in charge who are all out to practising controlling, blaming and taxing people to poverty, how will you react then?
If you are at the receiving end of wrong doings in your working place or professional calling or business how you respond - take it with a smile and speak out and ask for accountability and fair play?
Probably you still do not understand the plight of the under-privileged. There could be reason for Wee Shu Min to slam at them for not trying and you certainly seem to be acting like another.Originally posted by kramnave:Look, GRC or no GRC the government would be ousted if things are really bad.
We were and are given equal opportunities in school to get an education. When we go for interviews we are given an opportunity to sell ourselves to the prospective employer. From then on our career and expenditure is in our hands. I do not know what gave you the idea that the majority are struggling with rising costs and employment. Despite the cost, there are still plenty of cars in Singapore. Shiny ones in fact. Restaurants and entertainment outlets are full, during peak periods, its impossible to get a taxi. Most of us own mobile phones. We engage with the help of broadband internet connection etc.
Most of us "struggle" with employment, rising cost of living you say..which country doesn't experience that ? Is our life that bad as some might perceive it to be ? i don't understand..what exactly do we want ? You have a roof over your head, you have an income, you are surviving etc There is a reason why many of us are not in the top income bracket but that doesn't mean we are struggling. Indonesia is struggling, we are not.
You are, not we are.Originally posted by zenden9:By looking at majority type of reply in these thread,I think we are!![]()
Look i was commenting on the majority, the general population. Doesn't mean that if you are not one of the top income earners in Singapore you are underprivileged.Originally posted by robertteh:Probably you still do not understand the plight of the under-privileged. There could be reason for Wee Shu Min to slam at them for not trying and you certainly seem to be acting like another.
So leave the wees alone like people will leave durai alone for one day they will be brought to realization in their own reckoning too depending on whether their own luck will last that long.