I agree.Originally posted by fai:Protests don't solve problems in modern society. Especially in Singapore.
Protests = Instability = Less Investors = Less people to tax = Less spending power = Less reserves = More instability = even less investors = decreasing people to tax = less $$$ to give out days before a major election
There is no such thing as politicians working for the public interest. You cannot see that anywhere in the world.Originally posted by Othello_Red:I agree.
But protests typically happen only if the level of discontent of the population reaches disturbing levels.
The very fact that the level of discontent can reach such levels is telling of the effectiveness of the government in dealing with issues close to the heart of the people.
Reading your post, I know you don't know exactly what you are ranting about. Your mind is simple. To you protest marches means you have rights. How simple can you get.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Well you try staging a protest to stand up for your rights and we'll see what happens. Try to publish an article in a local newspaper which criticises the government. God too does not have freedom of speech? No idea what you're talking about there. Want to deliver a speech to exercise your rights? No can do, gotta get a permit and good luck trying to get a permit to deliver a speech to the public about the shortcomings of the government. The Lee family has never lost a case in the supreme court, what does that tell you?
You Singaporeans are denied even basic human rights which are taken away by the use of corporal punishment. The condition of your prison cells violate UN regulations. Many people are locked away as 'political prisoners'. Their crime? Speaking out against the government for which they were imprisoned without trial. Still think you have your rights?
Hahahah you have no idea how ironic your post is. You are so naive it's pathetic. If you have rights why don't you exercise them? Why don't you speak out against the government? Oh so what you're saying is you can't do that? That's not freedom of speech my friend.Originally posted by mancha:Reading your post, I know you don't know exactly what you are ranting about. Your mind is simple. To you protest marches means you have rights. How simple can you get.
What you want to see is PROTEST, you want ACTION, ROITS, and your grouse is you are not getting any of that here.
"You Singaporeans are denied even basic human rights....." this shows you don't even know what human rights is. You are speaking through feelings rather than knowledge.
BTW, that line about God, I just threw it in to show how irony it is that humans want to be able to say just about any and anything, something that God cannot do.
That's true. It's too simplistic and idealistic a view. It's just not going to happen. Still, in holding the office, public interests must be served, else someone new will come in. Or that's how its supposed to work.Originally posted by fai:There is no such thing as politicians working for the public interest. You cannot see that anywhere in the world.
I quite don't agree. Suppose i go up to Lee Hsien Loong and berate him for compelling us to purchase an annuity that many do not believe in. Further if i go on to say that he does not respect what we think even though his salary comes from the taxes and he should step down because he does not deserve to be the PM etc will i get sued ?But I can assure you, that no sane Singaporean, including you, would dare to try that, because you know very well that while you may not get sued, your life in SG after you berated PM Lee won't be easy-going either.
I look up to our late President Ong for that. He got himself into the Presidency with PAP backing, then went on to do his job. He kept the PAP on their toes, and I believe if not for his wife and his illness, he would have stood for re-election. He commented that once, the govt approved the sale of POSB to DBS without his approval, and he openly voiced his displeasure. Under the Consitution, you have to inform the President. Needless to say, everyone ended up quite unhappy and if I'm not mistaken, the President now has lesser powers. Not that it matters.which is why i say, we're under a regime....or.....should i say....a dynasty?
Nope, Because Dr Chee tends to challenge without solving the problems and SDP just supports him. I compare WP to SDP and feel WP is somewhat better opposition party.even so, look at the WP's ace, Low Thia Khiang.
Nope, I'm Australian but I've been living in Singapore for a long timelook at the fair meadows in Australia!
There is no such thing as politicians working for the public interest. You cannot see that anywhere in the world.i totally agree.
The Lee family has never lost a case in the supreme court, what does that tell you?i agree - have never heard of the rulers of the current SG dynasty losing any court case whatsoever.
Ever realize that when a pet kitten or a pup grow older, it resists going back to the cage when playtime is over?as i see, no empire or country in the history of mankind can last forever no matter how legendary or great at planning it's rulers are.
Animals naturally know their rights. Eventually, they must be given the freedom to roam.
PAP need more people like you.Originally posted by reddressman:Is it not weird or perverse that if humans disagree with some issues express in a manner that shows they are against something , i.e. protest (aka agree to disagree) ?
Shouldn't humans just keep it all inside? keep mum about all issues they disapprove or want more consensus? they should NEVER complain right? Just bottle all disagreements and like this is not perverse and healthy?
Why protest? That is so evil , is it not? huh???
hahaha i didn't choose to leave australia, i had to becoz of my dad's job.Originally posted by Nikar2:(kramnave)
as i see, no empire or country in the history of mankind can last forever no matter how legendary or great at planning it's rulers are.
look at china's dynasties. look at hitler. look at the medieval age.
look at even the dinosaurs. they roamed the world for hundreds of millions of years but in the end?
i've always foresee that SG in the far future will have some kind of revolt, but it definetly won't happen anytime now.
when it happens, i very likely will already be lying on my death-bed, half-drifting to hell / heaven already.
a breaking point will come.
No, it is a natural instinct. We are not designed to keep it all in. Humans are social creatures, they can't bottle it all in. I mean look at history. All the oppressive governments have been overthrown at one point. It just doesn't last.Originally posted by reddressman:Is it not weird or perverse that if humans disagree with some issues express in a manner that shows they are against something , i.e. protest (aka agree to disagree) ?
Shouldn't humans just keep it all inside? keep mum about all issues they disapprove or want more consensus? they should NEVER complain right? Just bottle all disagreements and like this is not perverse and healthy?
Why protest? That is so evil , is it not? huh???
LOL what's the point of having a protest that way?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:I have no issues with public protests if they do not inconvenience others or damage the economy and provided the protesters pay for the cost of organizing the event.
The location must not interfere with traffic or pedestrian movement. Loudspeakers must be banned so that they do not cause annoyance to residents and office workers. The number of protesters must be limited to what the security staff can handle and most importanly, the protesters must engage CISCO or some other approved commercial security companies to ensure orderliness and prevent it from getting out of hand. The organizers will be responsible for any damage to the environment or property caused by the protesters and an adequate deposit or bond must be lodged, returnable after the event.
Of course, the usual laws covering defamation would apply.
Yah lor .. so what's the point of having a protest in the first place if we know it will inconvenience other people?Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:LOL what's the point of having a protest that way?
Protests are supposed to interfere with traffic, cause a certain degree of trouble and maybe even damage some property. That way the protest can't go ignored.
The more inconvenienves caused, the better as long as it doesn't get too destructive or violent. That way the people in power will have to do something.Originally posted by Icemoon:Yah lor .. so what's the point of having a protest in the first place if we know it will inconvenience other people?
If the aim is to capture attention (so the protest can't go ignored), where do you draw the line?
You know ah .. our roads already so jammed liao .. you still want futher interference with traffic?
I think the people in power won't care if your bus gets delayed, or if your car gets smashed.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:The more inconvenienves caused, the better as long as it doesn't get too destructive or violent. That way the people in power will have to do something.
Perhaps nobody in the jam will. But those in power will go "Goddam people causing even more civil unrest with their protesting and blocking traffic and being just a general annoyance...we gotta do something about this..."Originally posted by Icemoon:Don't be hypocrites lah. Say what protest is good, but when it comes to volunteering your car to be smashed, so that collectively all the smashed cars will make it to front page news, who will do it?
Also stinkaporeans so impatient. Stuck in CTE already buay tahan liao .. you imagine when finally clear the jam but only to meet with another "human jam" .. who will say "thank you .. one up for democracy"?
Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Protest marches are not the only way to voice discontentment.
[b]
Perhaps nobody in the jam will. But those in power will go "Goddam people causing even more civil unrest with their protesting and blocking traffic and being just a general annoyance...we gotta do something about this..."
[b]
Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:So you got muscles, you must flex them, or else you don't have them.
Hahahah you have no idea how ironic your post is. You are so naive it's pathetic. If you have rights why don't you exercise them? Why don't you speak out against the government? Oh so what you're saying is you [b]can't do that? That's not freedom of speech my friend.
You obviously don't know what basic human rights are. The justice system here negates basic human rights it's just that your head is obviously way too far up your own ass to know that. If your knowledge is so great like you make it out to be you'd know about the UN human rights regulations but you obviously don't. So stop acting like you're so omnipotent and put aside your blind patriotism for a moment to get a good hard look at the situation for what it really is.
You say you have all these rights yet you say you can't exercise them. That's not having rights.[/b]
Ok in response to the first part of your post, I didn't see a single drunk person on the midnight of New Year's Eve which is something I'm not used to and I guess people here don't drink as much or aren't as wild as the people back in Aus. Which is a fair assumption.Originally posted by mancha:So you got muscles, you must flex them, or else you don't have them.
Its you who did not see drunks puking on our streets and you come to the conclusion like Singaporeans don't party or something.
Thats you and your immaturity, mate.
Oh when you return to Australia, there will be times you wish things there were like in Singapore.!
Those in power will just put the troublemakers in jail. And those in power will enact more stringent laws to combat further mischief.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Perhaps nobody in the jam will. But those in power will go "Goddam people causing even more civil unrest with their protesting and blocking traffic and being just a general annoyance...we gotta do something about this..."
Protesting has achieved so much. Think Ghandi, African-American and Aboriginal rights.
well said! you made the effort to list out many valid and agreeable points!Originally posted by Nikar2:..
................................hell / heaven already.
a breaking point will come.