Microsoft gives the world the really good user-friendly computer window software which popularize the desktop personal computer which could be used by almost any businesses to manage their entire office functions.Originally posted by soul_rage:Hey you got to applaud their business minds
ERP to our road congestion problem is like patching is to Windows.
Windows patch patch patch, then release new version to make you pay for the bugs they have patched.
ERP makes you pay to patch the bug (road congestion), but overtime, will come back again, and you pay more.
cos everytime ppl complain peak period boh taxi, after peak period over, u see tons of empty taxi queuing at the airport, shopping malls and roaming around aimlessly.Originally posted by alleggerita:Raymond Lim should really step down as Minister of Transport..he's making everything worse..Especially taxi..allow so much new companies to spring up but cab fare all the same..like that where got competition? Then he still keep saying more taxi companies, more competition..![]()
Him being the MoT, he should know peak period no taxi is not because there aren't enough taxis..but rather it's because not enough cab drivers around..there are vacant cabs lying in depots and also cabbies like to play hide-&-seek during peak period and try to wait for bookings..Originally posted by sLeEpWaLkErInG:cos everytime ppl complain peak period boh taxi, after peak period over, u see tons of empty taxi queuing at the airport, shopping malls and roaming around aimlessly.
1 Particular complaint I have about the current ruling party is that its behaving more like a rudderless boat not knowing where to go.Originally posted by robertteh:Microsoft gives the world the really good user-friendly computer window software which popularize the desktop personal computer which could be used by almost any businesses to manage their entire office functions.
Because of such revolutionary progress achieved by Microsoft today personal computers have largely replaced the expensive mainframes and minicomputers as the primary office computers.
If ministers could be as creative and entrepreneurial as Microsoft Singapore today would have become a truly advance first world country.
Our ministers are only good in taxing people recovering the fullest costs of government through all kinds of schemes accumulating taxes as surpluses which they consider their success.
There is no true blue talents. They do not have practical knowledge about how to start new technology applications as other countries have been doing.
At the best, they would play with economic upturn or downturn using people's monies to invest in properties and using other people's ideas to start up new trading businesses with little ideas of their own.
What we need are a few good practical people who could go into starting new technology value-adding applications to create technologically advance products like Samsung which earn foreign exchange and create jobs.
That is why we are over-dependent on foreign investments and would wait if there is a downturn for the world economy to recover and get foreigners to invest in new businesses which are not created by themselves but outside the country.
At the slightest downturn our economy will flounder again shaking like leaves in the strong gale.
So where is the comparison with the first world and the best. There was none among them that are the best of the calibre like Stanley Shih who could turn a small computer company into a world giant.
ask him lor..Originally posted by Nikar2:by the way, the PTC and bus companies always say after fare increase, the service quality and level will increase....but....WHERE GOT????!!!!!!!!
they use the same roads. but we squeeze back to front and side by side on the 3 or 4 lane expressways and join traffic jams..Originally posted by the Bear:so status quo... besides, since when ministers travel the same roads as us mortals
Aren't they linked obviously?Originally posted by Nikar2:oh, and one thing i want to clarify.......is the Public Transport Council (PTC) linked to the bus companies??!!!
from what i know, the PTC is some sort of gahmen agency / department, just like the NEA, LTA etc.......SBS is a wholly private company.
but why is it that everytime, every year the private company, who is only interested in $$$$$$$ suggest a fare hike, the PTC will endorse it?
it's like:
SBS: hey PTC! next year increase bus fare!
PTC: no prob. tomorrow will issue press release, fake some parliament debate to show the public that we actually "care", then eventually still increase all the same.
SBS: cheers!
recently, the PTC rejected SMRT's proposal to increase MRT fare this year, but i think it's for show.
next year, they'll increase MRT fare double to make up for the no-increase this year.
The quesion is....Do you want to be in Sillypore once the pop hits 6.5mil?Originally posted by 4getmenot:and what would the situation be like once population hits 6mil..?![]()
Sillypore wants to be the hub of everything mah.....air hub, logistics hub, arts hub, biomedical hub, chemicals hub(just take a look at jurong island)......now they want to collect all your dead bodies together into one hub...save space so that they can build more condos and sell to foreigners to make a profitOriginally posted by robertteh:Residents said they could not understand why funerals must be built into hubs and they asked who is going to pay for their loss of property value.
ERP will soon be obsolete......it will evolve into GPS based ERP.....soon your IU will be gone....replaced by a transmitter...so that once you start your engine, you will be taxed varying amounts.....depending on which roads you enter....Originally posted by baby hunter:that's the purpose!! so ended ERP everywhere( always wif the same reason ). soonest will become pay as u use!!!
Never mind lahOriginally posted by macabresg:That's the reason why I had never wanted to own a car. Even though it's a convenient mode of transport, I would have to spend a lot more on COE, petrol, road taxes, ERP, parking fees, maintenance fees etc but after using the car for some time, I only get a scrape fee! But taking MRT these days really irks me too. Getting super crowded especially on the east-west line.
Petrol tax was imposed in an era of sudden hike in petrol prices - before increases on vehicle excise duty to 175% of OMV and COE and ERP.Originally posted by soul_rage:Never mind lah
You have to choose between the lesser of evils
Instead of giving my money to the Govt thru COE, petrol tax, road tax, ERP, parking, etc
I rather just spend $1.50 everyday renting a small space in the MRT. At least transport wise, I am not giving so much to the govt
maybe he never sit taxi one..Originally posted by alleggerita:Raymond Lim should really step down as Minister of Transport..he's making everything worse..Especially taxi..allow so much new companies to spring up but cab fare all the same..like that where got competition? Then he still keep saying more taxi companies, more competition..![]()
what service they provide, it is not restaurant, many time ppl dont want to move in to the rear of the bus, the driver just keep quiet, what service do they provideOriginally posted by Nikar2:by the way, the PTC and bus companies always say after fare increase, the service quality and level will increase....but....WHERE GOT????!!!!!!!!
I kind of enjoy the pun you put there.Originally posted by Nikar2:oh, and one thing i want to clarify.......is the Public Transport Council (PTC) linked to the bus companies??!!!
from what i know, the PTC is some sort of gahmen agency / department, just like the NEA, LTA etc.......SBS is a wholly private company.
but why is it that everytime, every year the private company, who is only interested in $$$$$$$ suggest a fare hike, the PTC will endorse it?
it's like:
PTC: no prob. tomorrow will issue press release, fake some parliament debate to show the public that we actually "care", then eventually still increase all the same.
recently, the PTC rejected SMRT's proposal to increase MRT fare this year, but i think it's for show.
next year, they'll increase MRT fare double to make up for the no-increase this year.
one day your boss come to and tell you that he is going to increase your salary without you improving in your work performance, you want a not?Originally posted by Nikar2:oh, and one thing i want to clarify.......is the Public Transport Council (PTC) linked to the bus companies??!!!
it's like:
I have to raise my objections to your opinionOriginally posted by reddressman:I kind of enjoy the pun you put there.thanks for de-stressing the forummers on a tuesday.
I think its not what kind of company a company is. Its who is the person leading / influencing the company.
Privatised or not is not the issue at all. PERIOD.