Yes, if you are the son of a PR or if you are a PR and you are below 18, you will need to serve NS at 18 or give up your PR and subsequent citizenship. Hence why I used to have a bunk mate from Chengdu and why a Malaysian friend of mine who grew up in Singapore since young had to give up his PR status and return to Malaysia.Originally posted by reddressman:Is it that a PR son born here must be a citizen?
or Is it that this son must be a PR?
If this son must be a citizen, he will need to serve NS unless he drop citizenship and return to original motherland?
If this son can also like his father be a PR, must he serve NS at 18?
Can a PR have PR son and from there on every new generation maintain as PR forever? If can, can I say there is a scenario where no one PR ever needs to do NS ?
pls enlighten .
Nowadays, I hardly hear of malaysians applying for citizenship. Many can easily qualify but choose not to. This is really what he told me. He said his wife a singaporean can liao. Can allow him buy condo and have kids here. He had not given me the reason why he wants to retire in Malaysia. But this is what I sense also. Now, its mostly China and Indian citizens who are the more likely to drop their motherland cert for sg cert.Originally posted by wisefool83:... a Malaysian friend of mine who grew up in Singapore since young had to give up his PR status and return to Malaysia.
From my Malaysian friends, a number of them want to work in Singapore but retire in Malaysia. This is the reason why they do not wish to take up PR. The answer is apparent if you look at the present living costs in both countries.Originally posted by reddressman:Nowadays, I hardly hear of malaysians applying for citizenship. Many can easily qualify but choose not to. This is really what he told me. He said his wife a singaporean can liao. Can allow him buy condo and have kids here. He had not given me the reason why he wants to retire in Malaysia. But this is what I sense also. Now, its mostly China and Indian citizens who are the more likely to drop their motherland cert for sg cert.
I dun understand why not allow them the freedom to keep BOTH citizenships. Like this, I guarantee new immigrants tripple in numbers . But how to decide who is less loyal to which country in that case? Conflict of Interest?
I dun mind having double citizenship. 1 of sg and the other malaysia or Australia or HK or Japan or Korea or even China and Thailand.
ya lor. Some more its not just between 2 countries when u consider all the possible source countries people wanting to apply for sg cert. Like this, which new immigrant can assure singapore that they will be citizen and work like a citizen in many singapore companies and stay loyal to singapore when conflict of interest can arise when their mother-countries are involved in a situation with singapore?Originally posted by Melvin Tan:From my Malaysian friends, a number of them want to work in Singapore but retire in Malaysia. This is the reason why they do not wish to take up PR. The answer is apparent if you look at the present living costs in both countries.
Dual citizenship is something I support with due carefulness. It gives a person more choices but in the event of his or her two countries getting into a spat or war, what happens?
Regards
I've met quite a few Malaysian at my workplace, there a few interesting exceptions from the norms that you've already mentioned. For e.g. there is this girl who specifically wants to apply for PR in order to be able to have CPF. Most of us were like ?????? but ya, you got all sort of people. That friend of mine lived in Singapore all his life, and really wanted to be living in Sg rather than Malaysia, but when told he must do NS, he packed up and move northOriginally posted by Melvin Tan:From my Malaysian friends, a number of them want to work in Singapore but retire in Malaysia. This is the reason why they do not wish to take up PR. The answer is apparent if you look at the present living costs in both countries.
Dual citizenship is something I support with due carefulness. It gives a person more choices but in the event of his or her two countries getting into a spat or war, what happens?
Regards
It is not surprising cause some of the Indonesian staying here for most of their lives kena told to serve NS, they immediately gave up their PR also.Originally posted by wisefool83:I've met quite a few Malaysian at my workplace, there a few interesting exceptions from the norms that you've already mentioned. For e.g. there is this girl who specifically wants to apply for PR in order to be able to have CPF. Most of us were like ?????? but ya, you got all sort of people. That friend of mine lived in Singapore all his life, and really wanted to be living in Sg rather than Malaysia, but when told he must do NS, he packed up and move north
My indon colleague stayed and worked here for say 6 years straight and last year, he went to work in USA. I also asked him why he no wan convert. He no say the why. He had not returned since and email me he enjoy in USA , cheap car and petrol and higher pay and cost of living can be managed that his income is really much more than here. He sg PR (some pronounced it as pee-eller)Originally posted by will4:It is not surprising cause some of the Indonesian staying here for most of their lives kena told to serve NS, they immediately gave up their PR also.
Majority of the Indonesian will likely keep their citizenship n in fact they learning from the Malaysian, worked in other countries but put their SporeOriginally posted by reddressman:My indon colleague stayed and worked here for say 6 years straight and last year, he went to work in USA. I also asked him why he no wan convert. He no say the why. He had not returned since and email me he enjoy in USA , cheap car and petrol and higher pay and cost of living can be managed that his income is really much more than here. He sg PR (some pronounced it as pee-eller)
This led me to had started on the look out for a place to migrate to just for backup plan. Can still keep sg cert but having another membership may be good also. No hum what. Still loyal like PRs what.
3 days ago, a malaysian colleague was asked by some indian colleagues which nationality he is from. This malaysian colleague , a male in his 30's, replied that he is Malaysian and that he had lived in Sg for the last 18 years, is married to a singaporean girl and lives in a Condo.Originally posted by will4:Majority of the Indonesian will likely keep their citizenship n in fact they learning from the Malaysian, worked in other countries but put their Spore
salary in an Indonesian bank. They can buy houses in their countries.
Property tax on an Indonesian bungalow is S$1000 a year.
AustraliaOriginally posted by reddressman:3 days ago, a malaysian colleague was asked by some indian colleagues which nationality he is from. This malaysian colleague , a male in his 30's, replied that he is Malaysian and that he had lived in Sg for the last 18 years, is married to a singaporean girl and lives in a Condo.
The indian expat colleagues then asked him, why he dun wan convert. He replied honestly that there is NO INCENTIVE for him to convert in terms of :
1. PR privileges is basically just like a citizen's. No incentive to convert. When he converts, he has to drop his motherland cert. He said "Why would I want to do that when there is no need to do so?". The PR privilege is so good like citizens, he has no reason to want to drop his motherland cert. He said, sg is so small and anything can happen in future. Now he can enjoy best of both worlds. He loves his Malaysia and claims that a singaporean wanting to apply for Malaysian cert is tough , very tough for some reasons. So, he would never consider dropping Malaysia cert for Sg cert as there is basically not likely he can get back if he wants to in future.
2. His wife is Singaporean can already. Can buy condo. I am not sure if onlly singaporean can buy condo. I not sure what he means by this.
3. He has many sisters and they all doing the same.
I must congratulate sg for implementing such a wonderful situation for foreigners to enjoy double-happiness. Which country can singaporeans apply for PR and enjoy such wonderful privileges as our PR offers? I wan!!!!!!!!!
I have already considered Australia my next membership. But Where got as good as Malaysians are enjoying sg being so close and much higher currency exchange rate and equal opportunity for foreigners to compete with locals such that locals have them to thank for?Originally posted by kramnave:Australia
To apply for Malaysian PR is easy for local n IDR project is trying to bulid residential proerty aimed at local. However not many local like to apply forOriginally posted by reddressman:If I were to say , I hope Malaysia allow singaporeans easier getting the Malaysian PR or Citizenship, would this not be something that when become reality, serve sg'reans good by providing a new backup plan for the future? At least we have a home to go to if we 'badly' need the cpf money every cent drawn out for some good reasons?
for example, when u sell a house, u still need to buy another house to stay right?
You sure?Originally posted by will4:To apply for Malaysian PR is easy for local n IDR project is trying to bulid residential proerty aimed at local. However not many local like to apply for
Malaysian PR.
Originally posted by reddressman:at long as u are born in singapore, u are a singaporean.
[b]Is it that a PR son born here must be a citizen?or Is it that this son must be a PR?
If this son must be a citizen, he will need to serve NS unless he drop citizenship and return to original motherland?
If this son can also like his father be a PR, must he serve NS at 18?
Can a PR have PR son and from there on every new generation maintain as PR forever? If can, can I say there is a scenario where no one PR ever needs to do NS ?
pls enlighten .
It is true for PR, there is no difference between local n PR but when come to paying for medical expenses at local govt hospital n school fees, PR need toOriginally posted by reyes:well the system can sometimes work for us if you intend to migrate.
i have 2 daughters who are both singapore and aust citizenship.
they can maintain duo until 18yrs old. therafter, they must decide on one.
the Cheapo singapore PR arent fresh news anymore. its not fair to say, they use singaporeans as a stepboard for further opportunity. likewise, our govt use them to help some local companies stay competitive and they are tax.
we should not blame the PR. we should blame the govt for failing to tighening this PR loopholes.
Lotsa malaysians i know staying in aust already gove up their Malaysia citizensship and convert to aust citizen. why arent the malaysian in singapore convert to singaporeans? we all know the reasons. as someone already mention, there isnt much difference at all compare to a citizens. afteall what they see to our CPF, if i am them, when i reach 55 i would return to malaysia, give up my spore PR status and withdrew all my money and say byebye. if my children wants to stay PR, guys must serve NS and woman no need at all.the cycle wll continue!