ppl slap the left side of your face, you offer the right side..Originally posted by Hello Kitty:ppl make u angry, u dun angry.
if u angry, u fall fer ppl's trick.
He ineed has done his duty in making this little red dot a success. If u talk about comparing worse off, with the neighbouring countries definitely Spore isOriginally posted by johntoil:He's 84 or 85 years old. He earned his right to boast his achievements. You may de-ride his achievements came at certain costs to Singaporeans. Are we really that worse off? Are we really deprived of our freedom of speech, suffering from economic mis-management, led by corrupt and incompetent people, deprived of good healthcare network. We take many of these benefits for granted. Give the old man his dues, he has earned his right to boast.
Li Ao is right. This response is typical of the average Singaporeans who are easily satisfied with simplistic material wellbeing lacking the intellectual abilities to check on their government to make them govern with accountability and responsibility.Originally posted by johntoil:He's 84 or 85 years old. He earned his right to boast his achievements. You may de-ride his achievements came at certain costs to Singaporeans. Are we really that worse off? Are we really deprived of our freedom of speech, suffering from economic mis-management, led by corrupt and incompetent people, deprived of good healthcare network. We take many of these benefits for granted. Give the old man his dues, he has earned his right to boast.
Seriously, should you take the seemingly dysfunctional radio-like repeated trumpet-blowing by the deranged that seriously? His words are as believable as Li Peng's on the subject of human rights...Originally posted by robertteh:Before he could give useful advice to others, he should first look into the problems suffered by own ordinary citizens as described in the Little Red Dot caused by his self-centred authoritarian rule which has stagnated the economy into many deep recessions for years.
Owing to fortuitous circumstance like the world recovery in 2004 fueled by China's and India's accelerating growth and his final resort to IR (which by admission was finally allowed over his live body to reversed the continuous deep recessions due to failures to restructure the economy going on for years) Singapore economy finally climbed out of the lethargic property-playing trading style of government seen in 1997-2003.
Without such lucky break by now Singapore would have gone under and be taken over by the more vibrant and technologically driven Malaysia and we might be begging them instead to us back to Malaysia.
That is why MM Lee has really nothing much to boast about especially for the failure at his own economic restructuring talked about for years.
So it is still too early to say even with the IR hype and property rebound that the economy has done well. What we are having is citizens' surpluses which are yet to be put to produce jobs and upgrade the economy.
So Let us be humble and not try to tell the world or our neighbours we are better. Are our ministers capable of taking advantage of the large taxes and surpluses sucked from citizens and our unfortunate IR to restructure it to the value-adding model to produce international brand goods and services to create more value-adding jobs for the citizens.
Until then Singapore ministers could not really claim to any better than any other ministers in other countries.
He has succeeded in creating a new man in his 'first world' country. Seems that your only concern in life is material gain. You are such a fawner.Originally posted by johntoil:He's 84 or 85 years old. He earned his right to boast his achievements. You may de-ride his achievements came at certain costs to Singaporeans. Are we really that worse off? Are we really deprived of our freedom of speech, suffering from economic mis-management, led by corrupt and incompetent people, deprived of good healthcare network. We take many of these benefits for granted. Give the old man his dues, he has earned his right to boast.
Your words are so true wor. The 1997 Asian crisis only affected Singapore mah hor? The 9/11 also only affected Singapore and so did the Iraq war of 2003 and not to mention SARS. Singapore was the only country affected by these events that caused the recession. So true lah, your words. Nothing to do, go educate yourselfOriginally posted by robertteh:Before he could give useful advice to others, he should first look into the problems suffered by own ordinary citizens as described in the Little Red Dot caused by his self-centred authoritarian rule which has stagnated the economy into many deep recessions for years.
Owing to fortuitous circumstance like the world recovery in 2004 fueled by China's and India's accelerating growth and his final resort to IR (which by admission was finally allowed over his live body to reversed the continuous deep recessions due to failures to restructure the economy going on for years) Singapore economy finally climbed out of the lethargic property-playing trading style of government seen in 1997-2003.
Without such lucky break by now Singapore would have gone under and be taken over by the more vibrant and technologically driven Malaysia and we might be begging them instead to us back to Malaysia.
That is why MM Lee has really nothing much to boast about especially for the failure at his own economic restructuring talked about for years.
So it is still too early to say even with the IR hype and property rebound that the economy has done well. What we are having is citizens' surpluses which are yet to be put to produce jobs and upgrade the economy.
So Let us be humble and not try to tell the world or our neighbours we are better. Are our ministers capable of taking advantage of the large taxes and surpluses sucked from citizens and our unfortunate IR to restructure it to the value-adding model to produce international brand goods and services to create more value-adding jobs for the citizens.
Until then Singapore ministers could not really claim to any better than any other ministers in other countries.
Really? How about education, security and harmony? Is your only concern politics?Originally posted by googoomuck:He has succeeded in creating a new man in his 'first world' country. Seems that your only concern in life is material gain. You are such a fawner.
hmmmm ..... wonder where this creativity comes from? Beautiful prose but alas also stained with acrimony.Originally posted by robertteh:Proverb" Men are never as good or fortunate as they think"
Let's re-visit the Little Red Dot and decide for yourself how lucky truly are we the Singaporeans. Are we the ordinary citizens better off today as compared with the 1970s and are now truly living in the first world?
PROSE OF LITTLE RED DOT (2nd edition)
.............Stained of many corpses below MRT t
If leaders just do their duties as they are elected to do and are not so full of arrogance and boast telling the whole world how good and talented they are will the citizens have put up so many negative views and comments about their self-glorifying leadership talks.Originally posted by outofcontrol225:Your words are so true wor. The 1997 Asian crisis only affected Singapore mah hor? The 9/11 also only affected Singapore and so did the Iraq war of 2003 and not to mention SARS. Singapore was the only country affected by these events that caused the recession. So true lah, your words. Nothing to do, go educate yourself
Every democratically elected government has the sacred duty to maintain security and harmony in the country.Originally posted by outofcontrol225:Really? How about education, security and harmony? Is your only concern politics?
Woah, no shiit. I didn't know we were the last to recover from the last 3 recessions. Please point me to where you got the information from. If you can't, you must be getting delusional. Quite a phenomenon nowadaysOriginally posted by robertteh:If leaders just do their duties as they are elected to do and are not so full of arrogance and boast telling the whole world how good and talented they are will the citizens have put up so many negative views and comments about their self-glorifying leadership talks.
It is the attitude of leaders which are wrong and if they are wrong no excuses like other people are worse off or how they have conquered the SARs or dengue mosquitoes or prevented fire in hougang will excuse them of criticism.
Don't forget we were the last to recover from the last three recessions and the reason for recovering is not our economic restructuring success but cutting of people's CPF and opening of floodgate to cheap foreign labor at the expense of our own young educated losing their jobs to the foreigners.
The moment the world economy turns the corner our ministers were quick to claim their success without contributing to its true successful restructuring.
They should learn to be humble like Deng Xiao Peng, Hu Jin Tao or Wen Jia Bao, who were prepared to sacrifice their positions of power and concentrate on working diligently and creatively for the people of China without all these boasts.
Our leaders should just concentrate on doing their duties for the people especially when they are so grossly and improperly over-paid to do so and let the people decide where they have done well. Only then will they earn their respect and people will give them respect where credit is due.
If they keep boasting and making comparisons with the worse off nations or people and trying to cover up their own problems then they will get just the opposite effect.
This forums is not just talking about bread and butter issues.Originally posted by coochi:why are there still debates on whether singapore is really a democratic nation when it obviously is not...in any case spore is still doing moderately well..i believe the only people moaning about political issues now are those who have not earned their dues in life but hey life isnt fair right if everyone were rich now i think this forum would be pretty quiet...stop trying to lambaste the government picking at everything they do wrong and focus on what they have done right instead...i believe with this positive outlook we will definately do well in life regardless of whatever the political scene is
Both the government leaders attitude and their abilities to implement economic restructuring are at issue.Originally posted by outofcontrol225:Woah, no shiit. I didn't know we were the last to recover from the last 3 recessions. Please point me to where you got the information from. If you can't, you must be getting delusional. Quite a phenomenon nowadays
If you don't like the attitude of the leaders, then just say so. No need to accuse the government of other things.
Actually, I find that I can't argue much with that. It's just that some people place more priorities on politics and freedom of speech. Personally, I have no interest in politics nor an overwhelming desire to criticize the government.Originally posted by googoomuck:Every democratically elected government has the sacred duty to maintain security and harmony in the country.
A responsible government will even inculcate politics into people by educating them when they are very young unless thereÂ’s something it doesnÂ’t want the people to know. In that case keeping their stomachs full will do.