Only important in speaker's corner if its bad money management and accounting, else its not political news but business news. To be useful, wise and make sense in speaker's corner you must be anti-pap, anti-LKY and do not read ST no matter what, those are the essentials, no two ways about it. An optional one would be that no matter the consequences that may befall us, change is needed.Originally posted by Lin Yu:what about money management and accounting?
If you like real life application so much, no offense, but you should just go and get the NTC cert *first*.Originally posted by Unidentified:only memorising will works , real life application dont works
Actually we have quite a few breakthroughs in science and technology, like in genetic science? Not only sound blaster came from Singapore .. how about the thumbdrive from Trek?Originally posted by fymk:Doesn't matter if the concentration is ON or OFF maths and science , what international breakthroughs in science and technology had come out of Singapore since the creative sound blaster?
Originally posted by reddressman:Hello friends,
Based on your experience, being a product of the education system, could you comment how sg education system compares with foreign western ones?
which is more stressful?
all depends on you, how hard-working or grades you want!
which is more value-added?
depends on how much fees you paid!
which truely develops a person more than just knowing how to score points?
depends on the individuals, some just go thru the grind mill!
which develops a person to be more well-rounded?
depends on you, some just go home after class!
which system produce more vocal students and more opinionated new generation?
depends on whether one is a mute or not!
which produce more innovative, creative people?
depends on your gene or DNA.
Maths is useful and necessary, but not A.Maths.
Huh .. A.Maths is useless skills? Laughing
You mean other countries don't teach Maths?
Edit: if Maths is really so useless, I wonder why Biz courses have so much Maths in them.
Oh, I forgot to highlight...Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Singapore education system is not aimed at training intelligence or to develop people with critical thinking or analytical skills.
It is more aimed at motivating people to memorise useless facts or learn useless skills such as A.Maths etc.
Oh, I forgot to highlight...Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Singapore education system is not aimed at training intelligence or to develop people with critical thinking or analytical skills.
It is more aimed at motivating people to memorise useless facts or learn useless skills such as A.Maths etc.
It makes the transition into uni and poly simpler...Then the system is flawed.
No offence , i trying to say that singapore edu system is like make u eat up the book and make sure you can spit everything back into the test paperOriginally posted by Icemoon:If you like real life application so much, no offense, but you should just go and get the NTC cert *first*.
After you have satisfied your thirst for real life application, then you can consider whether you want to upgrade to poly, then uni.
Go on.
By the way, what is real life application for top careers like doctors and lawyers? How can you be a doctor if you can't even memorise things?
It is a mistake to assume one country can produce the best intellectuals. There are talents from every race. For example, if Einstein did not run to US, will he be a product of Germany? If Heisenberg ran to US, is he a product of Germany or US?Originally posted by reddressman:system is one thing. But who from which country wrote the education text books used by the best intellectuals in the world studying in the best universities in the world like Oxford, Cambridge and all the usual suspects?
You guys selective reading ah?Originally posted by reddressman:Was the shoe, clothes, underwear, spectacles, bra, slippers, socks, toothbrush, any thing u see in toilet invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
USA invented so many things.Originally posted by reddressman:Was newater invented by singapore in terms of the underlying technology?
Was MRT invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was AirBus invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was Notebook invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was TV invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was Newspaper invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was cable tv invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was internet invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was satellite invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was Car invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was ERP gantry invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was Road system invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was carpark system invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was University system invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was Bus invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was any vehicle that u know invented (as different in meaning from innovated) by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was any super computer invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was HDB building invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
Was the shoe, clothes, underwear, spectacles, bra, slippers, socks, toothbrush, any thing u see in toilet invented by singapore, in terms of the underlying technology?
But then hor, I still believe sg great great until cannot the great great shiok shiok ah.
Memorization is a form of training for your working life later. It is not what you memorize, but whether you can memorize sufficiently for your test a few weeks later.Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:Certain things are useless.
Formulae, chemical equations, dates of events etc are what students memorise to score well.
But after we graduate and proceed to working life, these are really not useful at all. (assuming your're not an education officer or working in labs.)
I feel there should be more aspects on developing critical-thinking, Public Relations, and confidence. Isn't these the most essential and fundamental requirement to survive in this society? (compared to formulaes eqn etc)
Yes i agree.Originally posted by Icemoon:Memorization is a form of training for your working life later. It is not what you memorize, but whether you can memorize sufficiently for your test a few weeks later.
Most exams in your professional working life, be it CPA, CFA, IT-related certs, will involve some form of memory work.
Critical thinking is taught not as a subject, but a skill. Students learn this in their history/ss at secondary school level.
Creativity problem solving starts from primary school. The PSLE maths exam kinda illustrates the learning goal MOE has for students.
It is hard to appreciate unless you are in the field. And I agree understanding the real life application is important. For example, I suspect medical students do not truly learn anything until they go for their housemanship.Originally posted by Unidentified:School is making us learn all math science watever in all field. math - algrebra sector , vector etc. but have we ever ask why we learn them for ?
What the real life application for these fomula ?
Are we going to be an engineer ?
How and where is this skill needed in engineering ?
Is there anywhere beside engineering i need these fomula ?
Or are wo learning it just to pass O lvl ?
Based on what I learnt from pedagogy lessons, that one is not education.Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:But what i'm trying to say is, students memorise hard before exams; during exams it's just vommiting out what they rmbed; after their exams they cleanly forget everything.
Then i ask u, is this education? I will strongly doubt so
IMHO, i only feel tt certain subjects are really educating the students. For instance: Language, Humans and Elementary Math.
I can never draw the line between A.Maths and E.Maths.Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Maths is useful and necessary, but not A.Maths.
Specialized subjects like A.Maths shouldn't be in a secondary school subject course.