Hi Rock^Star,Originally posted by Rock^Star:To Gazelle and Extrinsic:
while what Raymond Lim say might have some truth to it, he should at least back it up with statistics.
For example:
1) What was the ERP collected since implementation in 1996?
2) How much has COE shrunk for the past 5 years?
3) How much of ERP revenue goes towards offsetting the reduction in COE?
Or has it been that all along, ERP was meant as an easy source of revenue for the govt?
Surely some explanation here would help, rather than patronising Singaporeans with a mere "We have helped you" statement?
the solution to your problem, u said it urself.Originally posted by funnyboii:this is a personal thinking
we enter ERP 4 to 8 times a day that can become a taxi fair for to go thru n flow
car ownership have to pay hidden cost like petrol,mantience,battery water,black oil,summons,parking,car loans.
just imagine a car loan a month of $500 for ten years.petrol for 3 to 4 days for a 1.8 litres car is $100 if one month =$700,parking as per/hour $1.20 10 hour park is $12 one month is $360 dun talk abt suay suay tio summon,minium summon cost $60 one month ur car cost u $1700 dollar..
i think i take taxi i still got balane a lot to spent man
thru n flow for work than go home is $20 a day count it as 26 days work $560
no petrol charge no parking charge n no summon charge is $560..
go out with friend (not always mah) night spot drink n take taxi thru n flow $30 make it 4 time a month =$120 one month total bill is $60
n dun forget just drive ther half a hour to work,but park 8 hour than drive another half hour home car onli use 1 hour a day than send gf go home by car ( anyway girls nowaday no car cannot one u noe i noe will do sometimes even compare why friend bf car is this n that model why dun u change car u noe i noe will do )
haben count ERP HOR .per enter is $1 dollar enter 4 times lah $4 a day one month $120 u see own car if pay onli 2k u onli left with $200 dollar eat wat eat roti everyday huh
Running is cheaper than car, now, before and forever....Originally posted by Gazelle:Actually what he said is quite true, but that doesnt mean that running a car is cheaper than before.
i am not anti public transportOriginally posted by extrinsic:the solution to your problem, u said it urself.
dun drive, take taxi, public transport. simple
PAP supporter a not, what relevance does it bring to this discussion? A non issue, really.Originally posted by extrinsic:Hi Rock^Star,
for a start, 1st, i'm not a pap supporter, when they came to contest at my grc.
and btw, i dun trust any statistics from them. hell knows where the statistics came from. During sch, the thing i knew abt statistics is that they are (mostly) fake and twisted.
the things i trust are facts and figures.
anyway, though what raymond lim said is truth, however i just wish to express my doubt on the intention of ERP. ERP in the first place is meant to lessen the traffic jam, and not to encourage more drivers.
Its hereOriginally posted by L.o.s.t:What's ERP?
Everyday Rob Ppl??
Yes ERP does ease congestion but only during certain timings. My previous experience driving on the CTE at 8 - 9 am on some mornings, tells me that ERP or no ERP makes little difference. Traffic speed was at a snail's crawl. And imagine all that revenue still being generated when the congestion could not be alleviated.Originally posted by extrinsic:btw, just some thoughts, erp does ease (abit) of the traffic flow, from personal experience.
and my words for forumers who complained abt erp increase is: take public transport, or avoid the roads or drive after erp is off.
there are many choices. if the drivers choose to go through the erp, it's your choice, no1 point gun ask u to go through erp de.
the thing i'm oni concern is that erp is meant to lessen traffic, not encouraging more drivers, but from what i see, more drivers = more heavy traffic = defeats the initial purpose.
IMHO, they sld increase the COE, road tax and THAT would really lessen the traffic conditions.
Use green car.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Running is cheaper than car, now, before and forever....
But quite frankly -- car ownership, roads, traffic jams, road taxes, charges, fees, car prices, parking, accidents -- have been a problem in modern societies when walking and horsing are no longer preferred.
Anyone who can come up with a solution to solve all the above to the satisfaction of everyone - those who desire to own cars, those who want to get from point A to B without any hassle, accident-free, fast and cheap (if possible free) - will have my VOTE to be the Transport Minister.
Raymond Lim 'chia liao bee', during the forum session in Sin Ming, cant even answer properly, this is million dollar minister, what a let down,Originally posted by (human):ERP's intention is to make buying car more expensive to help reduce the traffic on road so that fewer people can own car, now Mr Raymond claims that ERP is helping more Singaporeans to own car?! So which is which, isn't he not contradicting? Is this the kind of reasoning a million dollar paid minister can come out with? I believe school children can reason better, Mr Raymond please don't treat all citizens like kids, we are not born yesterday.
If you do not know what to say it is better to shut your mouth and let people think you are stupid than to open your mouth and remove all the doubts.
x2Originally posted by (human):Transport Minister Raymond Lim can match with Minister of State for Law and Home Affairs Ho Peng Kee who are paid million dollars by tax payer's money for the first place in poor reasoning .
You may be well behaving, but there may be other people whom you come across when you cycle who may stop you, may want to debate with you and that may attract a crowd, therefore will result in problems the police want to avoid. -Ho Peng Kee (on banning of opposition's bicycles event)
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2007/08/28/the-slippery-slope-argument-again/#more-454
i guess both of them ran out of 'templates'...Originally posted by (human):Transport Minister Raymond Lim can match with Minister of State for Law and Home Affairs Ho Peng Kee who are paid million dollars by tax payer's money for the first place in poor reasoning .
You may be well behaving, but there may be other people whom you come across when you cycle who may stop you, may want to debate with you and that may attract a crowd, therefore will result in problems the police want to avoid. -Ho Peng Kee (on banning of opposition's bicycles event)
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2007/08/28/the-slippery-slope-argument-again/#more-454
lame excuse, ...result in problems the police want to avoid.... that means the police are ' chia liao bee ' useless, u r right, poor resoning by ho peng keeOriginally posted by (human):Transport Minister Raymond Lim can match with Minister of State for Law and Home Affairs Ho Peng Kee who are paid million dollars by tax payer's money for the first place in poor reasoning .