Is James Gomez still being monitored/ surveillanced secretlyOriginally posted by hloc:Is James Gomez deadIn prison
Exile
Under house arrest
What
Nothing happen to James Gomez after the election..... not even a lawsuit, which is MIW's fave weapon of mass destruction.
It is such unfound fear that is the problem......
Exactly...you don't know and you are speculating..thats why its called spreading fear.Originally posted by wheelcamp:Is James Gomez still being monitored/ surveillanced secretlycellular
house phone
Internet recording
What
other ppl?
Nothing happen to James Gomez's privacy after the election??? No one knows for sure..... not even an official statement
It is the lack of checks and balances that is the problem.
Spreading fear?Originally posted by kramnave:Exactly...you don't know and you are speculating..thats why its called spreading fear.
Well.... short, simple, to the point.Originally posted by kramnave:Exactly...you don't know and you are speculating..thats why its called spreading fear.
then what you want ? the govt to film a documentary on gomez work and social life abroad and show it on tv to show that he is safe and happy ? That would mean that they are tracking him also wat....tskOriginally posted by wheelcamp:Spreading fear?
More of concern due to lack of checks and balances.
Mmm.....Originally posted by wheelcamp:Spreading fear?
More of concern due to lack of checks and balances.
Originally posted by Melvin Tan:it will continue to be difficult to encourage people to come into the opposition fray as long as anyone who enters it cannot lead a normal life.
I thought I will start a new thread to discuss some comments on WP's quid pro quo, rather than hedge on topics that are discussing other parties or topics.
As someone within WP, I would say the party generally feels that it will continue to be difficult to encourage people to come into the opposition fray as long as anyone who enters it cannot lead a normal life.
And as long as this remains, the opposition cannot strengthen in numbers.
Naturally, this does not mean there has to be compromises, or much compromises.
This, as much as I understand and try within my means to convey, is what I see as the WP's approach. Admittedly, this opinion may not be shared by all.
Regards[/b]
Originally posted by Melvin Tan:Thanks for sharing. I think eradicating fear is also very much an individual effort, as much as the ruling or opposition parties are expected to or accused of not doing anything about it.
The key is to be observant and logical of the surroundings.
Firstly, a quarter to a third of Singaporeans vote for the opposition in every election, but I do not see a quarter to a third of Singapore children being denied entry into PAP kindergartens.
Secondly, I do not see a quarter to a third of Singaporeans become homeless because HDB refused to grant them a flat for voting opposition. I had a friend who had to wait 7 years to get a flat because he voted SDP in Braddell Heights in 1991. He attributed this to the way he voted. But at that time, HDB was less inefficient in granting new flats. My parents who were PAP voters had to wait 6 years before a new flat finally came in 1990.
Thirdly, you can't get into any soup buying an opposition publication on the street because every one of them has a registration number from MICA (Ministry of Info, Comm and the Arts). Oppositionists would have been first to get arrested for selling an illegal publication before any buyer gets any repercussions.
Regards
Originally posted by Melvin Tan:With all due respect, dear Melvin, I would just like to know does what you post here represent WP's views?
I thought I will start a new thread to discuss some comments on WP's quid pro quo, rather than hedge on topics that are discussing other parties or topics.
As someone within WP, I would say the party generally feels that [b]it will continue to be difficult to encourage people to come into the opposition fray as long as anyone who enters it cannot lead a normal life.
And as long as this remains, the opposition cannot strengthen in numbers.
Naturally, this does not mean there has to be compromises, or much compromises.
This, as much as I understand and try within my means to convey, is what I see as the WP's approach. Admittedly, this opinion may not be shared by all.
Regards[/b]
Yes, a logical question, fair enoughOriginally posted by reddressman:With all due respect, dear Melvin, I would just like to know does what you post here represent WP's views?
A logical question, you may agree ?
He is watching the Singapore government, and not the other way round.Originally posted by LazerLordz:James Gomez is back in Sweden, working at International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (IDEA) in Stockholm, Sweden as Programme Officer in the Political Parties Programme.
Hi,Originally posted by robertteh:If an opposition member is no threat and perceived to be lacking the charisma or intellect to topple the government being mild, moderate or speaking the obvious then perhaps such a member will be left to survive and may even be praised and quietly supported as puppet opposition which will be serving the interest of the ruling party.
If an opposition member is fiery and able to rouse the people and lock horn with the ruling party, life will not be so simple and he will be definitely under the microscope of ISD.
That explained perhaps why opposition like Tang Liang Hong, Francis Seow or Jeyaratnam were not left alone but were put down fairly or unfairly with defamation suits if need be to nip them in the buds and allow the ruling power to stay in power.
Ideally it will be good for Singapore to vote in about 30-40% opposition MPs of quality and ability and not put up with only proxy oppositions which actually serve only the ruling party interest.
That is why the ruling party has been praising such moderate proxy opposition for their own good.
So the people ought to grow up in political maturity and not be brainwashed into thinking that the ruling party will serve their interests.
Without a strong opposition with such powerful presence in parliaments and ability to cause change everything else will be just wayang kulit. That is why so many of the harsh policies like recent commandeering of people's own CPF savings into annuities to be paid to them at 80 are being forced down the throat of the people by all the look-good pretentious speeches which were hardly tackled by any of our NMPs or MPs.
The present growth of economy is artificial and largely due to our luck of a world recovery and is not real or attributable to any fundamental economic restructuring to a value-adding economy yet. Our leaders are presently enjoying a ride on a upturn in the world economy boosted by the hope generated by IR.
Just look for the true picture at the number of business closures among the shops and factories in the neighbourhoods of JTC or HDB. It is a system of government which is full of protectionism, self-interests and hypocrisy.
I believe sg'rean sense of democracy is not as mature as the those countries who really celebrate and are proud of their democracy. So much so, they fight for their rights and put in great effort to preserve their freedom and democracy.Originally posted by GPSg:It is an interesting point that the SDP is perpetuating the fear. I agree. When Singaporeans see them protesting in public, singaporeans say "siao lang!". When singaporeans see them being arrested, singaporeans say "They deserve it!". But singaporeans, in their hearts, when they see this, also become fearful.
WP is going about it the right way. I agree with Melvin that opposition needs to show the public that being in opposition you can still lead a normal, successful life. Only when people see this will more people be willing and unafraid to join the opposition.
And only then can we have a true alternative presence in parliament.
The SDP don't think this way. Their way is: "We are right! We cheong! Bleed nevermind. Cheong even more!"
In doing this, they frighten more singaporeans away from opposition.
The results show this: WP is growing. SDP is dying.
Need I say more?
Ha ha!Originally posted by reddressman:I believe sg'rean sense of democracy is not as mature as the those countries who really celebrate and are proud of their democracy. So much so, they fight for their rights and put in great effort to preserve their freedom and democracy.