U should have seen the Q at Manado for Breadtalk..... Last year & this year I was there.... never seen a short Q.Originally posted by will4:I understand they still survive but for how long more? Some of the local eateries like Old Chang Kee n Breadtalk have branches in Indonesia or
Malaysia. Go to Jakarta, long queue for Breadtalk when it first opened.
I have a feeling all these local eateries like Sakaesushi or Sushi Tei managed to keep afloat not due to local market but overseas expansion.Originally posted by hloc:U should have seen the Q at Manado for Breadtalk..... Last year & this year I was there.... never seen a short Q.
In small S'pore.... the only way to take your Business to a new level is to expand Overseas...... We don't have a big enough domestic market.... soon, not even a big enough local born S'porean.....Originally posted by will4:I have a feeling all these local eateries like Sakaesushi or Sushi Tei managed to keep afloat not due to local market but overseas expansion.
TPY Old Chang Kee now also sells Nasi lemak, and curry chicken, they are making their business more variety to get more shares in the F & B market.Originally posted by soul_rage:Old Chang Kee increased prices by 10 to 20 cents across the board, and they are still surviving.
Everyone has different levels of quality of life.Originally posted by reddressman:Seems like majority do not know how to improve quality of life in sg.
eg. sg is well known to have working hours longer than overseas. You can check with your colleagues from overseas about my comment if true.
why is sg quality of life like that?
Talk is easy. Do is difficult. That's why the rich are a minority.Originally posted by sLeEpWaLkErInG:Everyone has different levels of quality of life.
you can compare it with Maslow Hierarchy of needs for these, some of the top level needs are actually what many can only dream of if they do not change their habits with the environment.
I have known some ladies who still think of relaxing at home while the husband is at work. Today, i just also met a guy who is considered quite rich IMO, has $4xx,xxx in CPF, has filial children who are all in high management jobs, he is 60 and yet he is still working as a Safety Officer which is paying him like $4k per month.
Change what you do not like and not wait for someone else to do it for you.![]()
Your situation somehow a bit identical to mine. I was working for an MNC for a year and the CEO comes all the way from Eurpoe to promote me to Customer Accounts Manager but i tender resignation the next day, as I did not like what I saw just like you. I have been wanting to change things before my promotion but most of the things have been finalised, thus no pt for me to stay as given the new position, i can't do much for the company also, though the pay is considered quite decent.Originally posted by soul_rage:That was my previous company. I took the plunge and leap to another company because I did not like what I see. However, that means I have to:
- give up the familiar
- give up the rapport I have established
- give up the managerial track that they have laid before me
- go into something completely new and uncertain
I 2nd that.....Originally posted by DayDreamer.SG:Most singaporeans lead gd life compare to others countries. Buying Condo and cars doesnt determine ones wealth. Installment allow them to BARELY afford or affordable for those who yearn for luxury life.
Live life within your expenses and make gd use of it. I would define that quality life is living without debts.
Ya, but through my experience, I understand the difficulty of change. Its easy to say, "change lor", but doing it is difficult.Originally posted by sLeEpWaLkErInG:Your situation somehow a bit identical to mine. I was working for an MNC for a year and the CEO comes all the way from Eurpoe to promote me to Customer Accounts Manager but i tender resignation the next day, as I did not like what I saw just like you. I have been wanting to change things before my promotion but most of the things have been finalised, thus no pt for me to stay as given the new position, i can't do much for the company also, though the pay is considered quite decent.
Cut cost is not a major issue. Singaporeans now veeeerrrryyy highhh class oneee.. If u cut cost but they LIKE to go for BRANDED , GOOD foodd and nice nice car... how??.. U expect LV, BMW or Fine Dining to cut cost for u ahh...Originally posted by iaintmad:FIRST THING FIRST, cut costs![]()
Expense is one thing.Originally posted by DayDreamer.SG:Most singaporeans lead gd life compare to others countries. Buying Condo and cars doesnt determine ones wealth. Installment allow them to BARELY afford or affordable for those who yearn for luxury life.
Live life within your expenses and make gd use of it. I would define that quality life is living without debts.
Quality life is very general. I can say go swimming with my family as quality life. I can say driving proton compare to Audi as part of my quality life. OK, let me put it simply. If your head is not big enough for the hat, dont wear it.Originally posted by soul_rage:Expense is one thing.
Yes you can cut expenses to ensure you have more savings.
But quality of life should not be defined as living without debts, as that's a little too narrow in my opinion. How about the culture of working late?
Yes, you can live without debts, but that doesn't help the point on spending so much time at work that you have very little quality time left for yourself.
By casting the correct voteOriginally posted by reddressman:Hi,
If Quality of Life is deemed as unsatisfactory,
how do you think sg can improve this aspect?
1st, of course, what are the causes?
2nd, is sg 1st world already? I heard someone saying today, he is trying to make sg 1st world. 'Try' means 'not yet', right? Or am i wrong?
If sg is so-called 1st world,
does Quality of Life form part of the Criteria?
Would anyone want to pursue a life of unsatisfactory Quality of Life for the sake of 1st world 'living'?
I really donno lah.
That's the sad part of blind consumerism, its a vicious cycle.Originally posted by hloc:U should have seen the Q at Manado for Breadtalk..... Last year & this year I was there.... never seen a short Q.