Originally posted by (human):There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics. -Benjamin Disraeli (British prime minister 1804-1881)
and stop by the eastcoast hawker center for a plate of nice and cheap satay beehoon.Originally posted by Daddy!!:When i retire, I am going to east coast park or pasir ris park every sunny day and enjoy the sun and the breeze. cheap and nice.
thats exactly what i would do! ha ha!Originally posted by Gazelle:and stop by the eastcoast hawker center for a plate of nice and cheap satay beehoon.
got such lobang how come you dont recommend..tell me which company leh...I also want to give free money by staying at home..Originally posted by eagle:I shall not say who but this is what is happening in Sg:
Employers are required to employ a certain percentage of Singaporeans in their companies. In these industries, employing foreign workers is way cheaper. Hence, what some do is to pretend to employ Singaporeans by claiming to employ them, and giving them CPF. However, they keep the salary in their own pocket. The Singaporeans in this scheme do not need to work at all, other than just providing their name as being employed, and enjoying CPF top-ups.
Are they considered employed in the statistics? Of course!
Are they really employed by the company to do work? Of course not!
I agree with you. Rules will always be bended by creative humans.Originally posted by eagle:I shall not say who but this is what is happening in Sg:
Employers are required to employ a certain percentage of Singaporeans in their companies. In these industries, employing foreign workers is way cheaper. Hence, what some do is to pretend to employ Singaporeans by claiming to employ them, and giving them CPF. However, they keep the salary in their own pocket. The Singaporeans in this scheme do not need to work at all, other than just providing their name as being employed, and enjoying CPF top-ups.
Are they considered employed in the statistics? Of course!
Are they really employed by the company to do work? Of course not!
By including PR in the figures for unemployment the results would look more rosy, because the PRs have a higher percentage of employment as compared to citizens.Originally posted by reyes:1.7% is singaporeans or PR?
PR is not singaporeans. we should not include them into our statistics.
Didn't know your maths is so good.Originally posted by Daddy!!:if you remove PRs from the equation, then unemployment rate would be negative.
Originally posted by maurizio13:Didn't know your maths is so good.
What you remove from one side of the equation, you remove from the other side of the equation.![]()
bear in mind that the number of jobs generated by the economy is constant. if the PRs are removed from the equation ie kicked out of the country, then the number of jobs will exceed the workforce, hence unemployment rate is negative.Originally posted by maurizio13:Didn't know your maths is so good.
What you remove from one side of the equation, you remove from the other side of the equation.![]()
absolutely.Originally posted by de_middle:![]()
he shld start planning for "cheap" retirement![]()
Maybe you can show me how you obtain a negative figure for unemployment rate.Originally posted by Daddy!!:bear in mind that the number of jobs generated by the economy is constant. if the PRs are removed from the equation ie kicked out of the country, then the number of jobs will exceed the workforce, hence unemployment rate is negative.
thats why you should learn how to think outside the box instead of just applying the equation.Originally posted by maurizio13:Maybe you can show me how you obtain a negative figure for unemployment rate.
The equation is expressed as:
Unemployment Rate = (Unemployed Workers / Total Labour Force) X 100%
To get a negative Unemployment Rate, either the Unemployed Workers has to be negative of Total Labour Force has to be negative. Both of which is impossible.
Maybe you should read more books, gain more knowledge and intelligence before posting your views.
New economic theory from you???Originally posted by Daddy!!:thats why you should learn how to think outside the box instead of just applying the equation.
here it is. what happens when there are more jobs than the workforce? The equation which you present is not applicable.
A job vacancy doesn't necessary translate to an employment of one employee. Singapore would have hit an unemployment rate of 0% if every currently unemployed Singaporean aged 15 and above takes up whatever "low-end" jobs that are available. But even if that happens, it doesn't mean the government is super-efficient, but rather that Singaporeans have become so desperate to feed themselves but didn't know how to rob a bank, protest or fight for their own rights.Originally posted by Daddy!!:bear in mind that the number of jobs generated by the economy is constant. if the PRs are removed from the equation ie kicked out of the country, then the number of jobs will exceed the workforce, hence unemployment rate is negative.