Originally posted by kramnave:First thing to do in restoring democracy is to have elections where they have a consistent electoral map and not change it every time. Let Hougang be Hougang and not some Hougang some Aljunied. Same goes for Bt Panjang SMC and Holland-Bt Timah GRC.
Yeah only with fair elections would most things be clear. Perhaps the opposition can fight for a "free" press, welfare for all, more jobs to Singaporeans rather than FT etc etc things that the PAP doesn't really deem to provide and then let the voters decide what government they want...if people vote for the hybrid PAP rather than the "democrats" then so be it.Originally posted by the Bear:yeah.. i agree too..
but.. here's the thing...
the opposition should stop blaming the MIW for standing in the constituencies where they are unable to come up with representatives...
i can't blame the ref for giving the guy who turned up the title if the opponent doesn't show up..
What is 66.6 under the cloak of false GRC election? What is 66.6 when there is no election in so many constituencies. Are you not ashame as a Singaporean if your GRC MP tells you he is elected by coattail vote.Originally posted by the Bear:again, i ask.. what's 66.6%??
chopped liver?
Originally posted by robertteh:What is 66.6 under the cloak of false GRC election? What is 66.6 when there is no election in so many constituencies. Are you not ashame as a Singaporean if your GRC MP tells you he is elected by coattail vote.
Think again if citizens do not speak up for you and your children will you and your children be able to stand serene to enjoy all the good lives one day with more of the NKFs and Shin Corp and other wrong doings and malpractices forcing people to rebel.
Can you be bought by petty material gains and be a golden calf worshiper.
What will happen to your children and your children's children then if like Li Ao said there is no good citizens to bring about good government.
ABSOLUTELY RIGHT!Originally posted by robertteh:What is 66.6 under the cloak of false GRC election? What is 66.6 when there is no election in so many constituencies. Are you not ashame as a Singaporean if your GRC MP tells you he is elected by coattail vote.
Think again if citizens do not speak up for you and your children will you and your children be able to stand serene to enjoy all the good lives one day with more of the NKFs and Shin Corp and other wrong doings and malpractices forcing people to rebel.
What will happen to your children and your children's children then if like Li Ao said there is no good citizens to bring about good government.
Originally posted by HyperFocal:ABSOLUTELY RIGHT!
And there are Tenths of Thousands of people in Jurong, who will not bat an eye to vote them out if ever they were allowed to vote!
Whose fault is it that the opposition chooses not to contest in certain wards ? Whose fault is it that opposition contests and loses in certain wards ?Originally posted by robertteh:What is 66.6 under the cloak of false GRC election? What is 66.6 when there is no election in so many constituencies. Are you not ashame as a Singaporean if your GRC MP tells you he is elected by coattail vote.
what is a true democracy?Originally posted by HyperFocal:It would be nice,
... if the first thing we con do to reinstate TRUE democracy,
.... is to kick out PAP...!![]()
Power to the people, in fact people rule the nation....there is no true democracy in this world.Originally posted by av98m:what is a true democracy?
Whose fault is it if people are being sued until every one is deterred from standing for election.Originally posted by kramnave:Whose fault is it that the opposition chooses not to contest in certain wards ? Whose fault is it that opposition contests and loses in certain wards ?
You can say that changing the electoral maps is unfair but that is about it.
There is a very good reason for that, methinksOriginally posted by kramnave:Power to the people, in fact people rule the nation....there is no true democracy in this world.
Is LTK sued ? CST sued ? Was Chee justified in saying that GCT and LKY loaned $18 Billion of Singaporeans money to Suharto ?Originally posted by robertteh:Whose fault is it if people are being sued until every one is deterred from standing for election.
Who started suing the opposition for honest opinions or views or remarks deemed libellous or defamatory even if they are uttered with justifications in the heat of election campaigning.
In fact the use of political power to sue oppositions became so overbearing and belligerent that the ruling party was not too afraid to be guilty of any name calling themselves by calling Gomez a liar without proof by openly too defying him to sue if he was not a liar.
Just think about it - Will Gomez be able to sue him if he is aggrieved and get justice after what have happened to Jeyaratnam and Tang Liang Hong where innuendos themselves like making of a police report were deemed libellous.
If you are at the receiving end like Tang Liang Hong being called Chinese Chauvinist how would you have felt.
Will you have the luxury of standing serene at street corner singing songs of praise when malpractices and more abuses happened forcing citizens to rebel like in Myanmar.
Do you stand for such open vindictiveness in our political process. Will we have a future to talk about with such vindictiveness going on for years.
Read foreign papers and you'll understand what TS is talking about lah. Sometimes some things they say are good lah but most of the time it's rubbish because journalists write to sell and most of their views conform to those of citizens feelings rather than true facts. Most are rushed reports...but can't blame them lah.Originally posted by :TS is suggesting that the Singapore press are not "free". On what basis do you come to this view?![]()
Read my old posts - at least three - where I have written to the Straits Times well articulated letters suggesting solutions to our current problems from rising costs of living to need to revise the constitution. These letters were rejected outright due to their hitting the nails on their heads regarding our problems.Originally posted by :TS is suggesting that the Singapore press are not "free". On what basis do you come to this view?![]()
For all your detailed explanations, it is very obvious after so many decades, to briefly state that we are fundamentally being FARMED for money by the current ruling party....Originally posted by robertteh:Read my old posts - at least three - where I have written to the Straits Times well articulated letters suggesting solutions to our current problems from rising costs of living to need to revise the constitution. These letters were rejected outright due to their hitting the nails on their heads regarding our problems.
On those occasions as some forumers who came across my forum letters might still remembers many forum letters published were merely those of minor local issues or quarrels among neighbours over the cats or some other mundane issues.
I wrote one letter to Today but it was rejected so I replied why was Today not giving space to letter on major issues and why letters concerning cat nuisance were published instead. To my surprise the next day Today deliberately published yet another letter concerning cat nuisance.
There was once one letter of mine to the Straits Times was accepted for publication with a prior acknowledgement but on the same day an Editorial Assistant emailed me back to inform me sorry my letter had been overruled by a power editor.
In contrast, one of my earlier letter written to congratulate ex-PM Goh Chok Tong for his liberalization and topping up of citizens' CPF was instantly accepted and published without difficulty.
If you want to play semantics go ahead and have your play. The post is concerned with the topic : First thing to do in restoring democracy - free the press.Originally posted by :[quote]Originally posted by robertteh:
[b]
Whose fault is it if people are being sued until every one is deterred from standing for election.
Who started suing the opposition for honest opinions or views or remarks deemed libellous or defamatory even if they are uttered with justifications in the heat of election campaigning.
Sorry hor, you obviously don't know the law......!![]()
Justification is a defence to defamation only if you are speaking the truth!When it is plain that TS doesn't even know these concepts on which his argument stands, it accordingly follows that his stand has no grounds whatsoever and is only utter rubbish!
It is the fault of the opposition members for stepping out of bounds. If they had kept to stating plain facts without attempting to cast imputations on the reputation of others, they should have nothing to fear. But as it is, the opposition parties cannot even get their facts right and go on to slime others! Serve them right for getting sued!![]()