Originally posted by reddressman:Correct, a company can hire only PR bu for foreign proeffesional, depedning whether it is EP or WP, there is a quota.
Hello!!
I heard someone rumored that,
as long as hire a PR,
is the same as hiring a citizen,
since both are sg RESIDENTS,
whereby the law and statistics uses the entity
RESIDENTS rather than CITIZENS ?
How true is this?
There is a company whereby all its employees I see are from somewhere near the Indian ocean. The employer is a new immigrant who migrated from there. His employees are all of his kind with some exceptions also from overseas within asean.
But some of his employees are PRs having occupied positions here for several years liao.
[b]My question for the day is thus, TECHNICALLY, LEGALLY, can a person run a business employing purely PRs and FTs only?
Please advise, if u are able. [/b]
WahOriginally posted by eagle:if cannot, there's such a "secret" practice in sg that the employer submit that this sgrean is being employed by his company and is paying the sgrean full salary, when in fact, the employer only pays the CPF, and the supposedly sgrean isn't working at all... => paying for the use of the sgrean's name as being employed.
win-win situation for both employer and "worker" mahOriginally posted by maggot:Wah
Got such things?![]()
fully agree... hr will employ people who benefit the company... like no cpf contribution, no ICT, no burden, easy to control...Originally posted by rooki:Nope. Can't see any legislation that mandates hiring of citizens.
But then, who in their right mind will? CPF needs to be paid, and getting employment passes is ridiculously easy. Also for males, there is a need for them to disappear for up to 2 weeks a year into some godforsaken dontknowwhere camp.
Where I have gone to, they treat PRs and citizens the same except PRs cannot hold political office and vote and I think that's perfectly reasonable....Originally posted by royston_ang:Like that... can Singaporean downgrade to become PR (so no need to go for reservist).![]()
PRs need to put money into CPF also, don't forget.Originally posted by rooki:Nope. Can't see any legislation that mandates hiring of citizens.
But then, who in their right mind will? CPF needs to be paid, and getting employment passes is ridiculously easy. Also for males, there is a need for them to disappear for up to 2 weeks a year into some godforsaken dontknowwhere camp.
Does USA mandates it?Originally posted by rooki:Nope. Can't see any legislation that mandates hiring of citizens.
Seriously, if a country really sucks that badly, would foreigners even bother to be PRs to work here? They are not forced to be a PR and work here you know?Originally posted by Seven_Dragon:fully agree... hr will employ people who benefit the company... like no cpf contribution, no ICT, no burden, easy to control...
nowadays so easy to get PRs, to get FTs... easy like sh1tting
are you aware that many PRs have used here as stepping stone to work in europe and usa?Originally posted by eagle:Seriously, if a country really sucks that badly, would foreigners even bother to be PRs to work here? They are not forced to be a PR and work here you know?
s'pore not the best, but also not the worst for FTs...Originally posted by eagle:Seriously, if a country really sucks that badly, would foreigners even bother to be PRs to work here? They are not forced to be a PR and work here you know?
Can or not? I might consider, especially if I am intending to live in a country overseas for business or work for mid to long term.Originally posted by royston_ang:Like that... can Singaporean downgrade to become PR (so no need to go for reservist).![]()
I don't think its possible to do that. But if you found a way, don't forget to share with us.Originally posted by royston_ang:Like that... can Singaporean downgrade to become PR (so no need to go for reservist).![]()
My Malaysian PR who has studied, worked and married sg'lian girl here and have children here have stayed here for at least 15 years says this :Originally posted by eagle:Seriously, if a country really sucks that badly, would foreigners even bother to be PRs to work here? They are not forced to be a PR and work here you know?
Originally posted by reddressman:Correct in a sense PR is like similar to a citizen but the only thing is second generation PR need to serve NS. Some of the PR parents chose to let
My Malaysian PR who has studied, worked and married sg'lian girl here and have children here have stayed here for at least 15 years says this :
[b]THERE IS NO INCENTIVE TO CONVERT TO PR.
Meaning : Being a PR is very much like being a citizen in many ways.
So, he does not find a reason to convert.
I also think he is waiting for something to be dangled in front of him 1st then he will consider.
Just this statement alone you won't be able to prove right now. Why? Cuz reminds me of MM Lee directing this question to that reporter: How many is many? Did you do a survey? What is your survey size? etc etcOriginally posted by reddressman:Many PRs have told me, they don't like the working style and quality of life here. Even those from the indian ocean.
Originally posted by reddressman:No incentive to convert to PR? Or you mean no incentive to convert to citizen?
My Malaysian PR who has studied, worked and married sg'lian girl here and have children here have stayed here for at least 15 years says this :
[b]THERE IS NO INCENTIVE TO CONVERT TO PR.
Meaning : Being a PR is very much like being a citizen in many ways.
So, he does not find a reason to convert.
I also think he is waiting for something to be dangled in front of him 1st then he will consider.[/b]
yes that is correct understanding of my colleague situation.Originally posted by will4:Correct in a sense PR is like similar to a citizen but the only thing is second generation PR need to serve NS. Some of the PR parents chose to let
their children gave up their PR before reaching eighteen.