TS is barbaric to post this topic. Barbaric DR Who, Who cares who are you, Dr Who!!Originally posted by dbowie:Whats with you, contradicting your first post ?
And btw mayi, I think they are the same .
I think he is an insult to whichever dialect group he belongs.Originally posted by qlqq9:TS is barbaric to post this topic. Barbaric DR Who, Who cares who are you, Dr Who!!![]()
YOu are right. Wonder if he has any brain at all.Originally posted by dbowie:I think he is an insult to whichever dialect group he belongs.
Don't know, I'm always under the impression that Minnan and Hokkien are two different things, no matter how similar they sound like.Originally posted by dbowie:Whats with you, contradicting your first post ?
And btw mayi, I think they are the same .
Hokkien is a Min Nan word corresponding to Standard Mandarin "Fujian"Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Don't know, I'm always under the impression that Minnan and Hokkien are two different things, no matter how similar they sound like.
Ha, ha...you are funny...and not hokkien...Originally posted by Hello Kitty:hokkiens r reputedly ugly ppl.
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=236051&page=0
Are you chinese ? I guess you must be from some kampung .. trying to split the chinese ..Originally posted by Dr Who:When the Han Dynasty conquered Fukien province 2000 years ago, they encountered a Barbarian tribe. This tribe was so horrible that the Chinese called them "Worms".
As these worms stayed in the Chinese empire, the word the chinese chose to describe them was"Worms in the Door"
The language of these worm barbarians were called Min-nan........
Min-nan language is HOKKIEN........
the language of Worms......Barbarians.......Worms staying within the Door....
No wonder Hokkoiens tend to be rough people......'
hello, think char kway tiao and fried carrot cake are teochew dishes. Hokkien dishes include, popiah, fried hokkien mee, lor mee, ngo hiang, prawn mee, braised pig''s leg, kong ba bao, mee hoon kway, and so on. NOtice many of the hokkien dishes are with pork, me personally don't really like pork.Originally posted by Isis:but they produce good foods.
Hokkiens mee, char kway teo, fried carrot cakes.![]()
YOu are one of the many who said this. I have nice hokkien friends, too. I am not flaming - coincidentally those who backstabbed me and broke my rice bowls are all Cantonese. This is so purely coincident. Think I am unlucky.Originally posted by 4getmenot:funny.. i like my hokkien friends, they are more funnier than my cantonese friends..![]()
Originally posted by Kachui:My paternal grandfather was Hokkien, my paternal grandma was Cantonese, my maternal grandpa was Hainanese, my maternal grandma was Hakka...I think among the chinese around the world today, it will be hard to find a pure or undulterated chinese dialect group.

Whatever OK, you still sound that you are here to flame the dialect group Hokkien. There are other dialects who have more of their females work as prostitutes and operating brothels, do you also want to dig out their history and flame again.Originally posted by Dr Who:q9 wrote:
TS has better not start another thread to call other dialect group barbarians. Have enough of his nuisance.
===========================
I did not call you Barbarian........my thread was that the North Chinese called the Min-Nan /Hokkien/ Fukien people Barbarians. That's why the word "Min" is = Worms in the Door.
I did not invent this word. The Chinese from the north did.
All I am saying is that the North Chinese viewed the south as Barbarians 2000 years ago.
Things got so bad that Emperor Han Wu-di deported the Min population to Central China. The first "Ethnic Clensing" operation in the world.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emperor_Wu_of_Han_China
Later that year, one of the co-kings of Minyue (modern Fujian), Luo Yushan, fearful that Han would next attack his kingdom, made a preemptive attack against Han, capturing a number of towns in the former Nanyue and in the other border commanderies. In 110 BC, under Han military pressure, his co-king Luo Jugu assassinated Luo Yushan and surrendered the kingdom to Han. However, Emperor Wu did not establish commanderies in Minyue's former territory, but moved its people to the region between Yangtze and Huai Rivers.
==============================
Historically, most revolutionaries came from the South-including KMT's Sun Yet-sen, Taiping Rebellion's Hong Xiuquan, though these were Hakka.....
But now many mei-mei operating in Geylang comes from the Fukien province........![]()
Where do you get info from that teochew and hokkien are related. I don't deny there are similarities between these two dialects.Originally posted by Short Ninja:[quote]Originally posted by qlqq9:
[b]hello, think char kway tiao and fried carrot cake are teochew dishes.
The ancestors of the Teochew people were the Hokkiens so if you look at it that way they are actually Kakilang/Kakinang.
This fellow is harbouring ill motive to destroy the dialect group hokkien. Later, he may start other threads to flame other dialects or other race.Originally posted by happieman:Are you chinese ? I guess you must be from some kampung .. trying to split the chinese ..
GET OUT FROM HERE !!
Originally posted by Short Ninja:I believe there is a certain truth that they are related. If you notice, some of the words in these two dialects are similar except that they speak with different tone that is all. For eg, "jiak pa buay?"
[quote]Originally posted by qlqq9:
[b] Where do you get info from that teochew and hokkien are related. I don't deny there are similarities between these two dialects.[/quote
I read it from somewhere before but if you research it in the internet you could probably find it[/b]