i'm not sure exactly how to look at they economy.Originally posted by fishbuff:while the market in SG is definitely picking up, older IT professionals like me
Well, you can heartily attribute our bleak disposition to our Far Sighted government...Originally posted by fishbuff:while i was working as a technical consultant servicing banks and other financial institutions, i can hardly see any chinese at all, let alone singaporeans. likewise to the last job when i worked in an IT gaming company, out of 300+ IT professionals, only less than 4 are singaporeans.
while the market in SG is definitely picking up, older IT professionals like me are having a hard time finding decent good jobs that pay enough to sustain my family. i had;
- called from job agencies and once they learnt im over 39, they citied that their requirement is for someone that is younger than that.
- the interviewers at the banks that i was trying for the job are all indians FTs, i look around at the IT departments, not a single singaporeans in sight. I knew they are looking for their own kind of people, and interviewing me is just a cover up. as i knew it, i didnt get the job even though i had over 8 years of oracle db experiences in implementation and 3 certifications in oracle.
there is no incentives for hiring singaporeans. as one other forumer that had mention about hiring singaporean males, we all had to do reservist one of every 12 months. employers will never like that and cited that if their business can carry on without the presence of us during our reservists, then probably they wont need us at all.
i cant help to feel that singaporean males are expendable and easy to abuse. see how those PAP ministers like Philip Yeo, Vivian, Dr Hen etc are so audacious in mocking the singaporeans? are we such a pushover?
Because it is what's happening?Originally posted by Gazelle:How come IT people already talk about being replaced?
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):seriously... what is the point of posting anything?? Singaporean always like to complain this complain that...... which i agree that they have a point....and should complain about all the BS that PAP is giving us... but.... put ur complain into action lah... leave sg or dun vote for them lor.... if not.. then what's the point to complain about something that are not going to change?![]()
Yeah well I DIDN'T vote for them so can I complain?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):seriously... what is the point of posting anything?? Singaporean always like to complain this complain that...... which i agree that they have a point....and should complain about all the BS that PAP is giving us... but.... put ur complain into action lah... leave sg or dun vote for them lor.... if not.. then what's the point to complain about something that are not going to change?![]()
mi too... but i dun pay GST as well.... so do something about it dun just complain.. it's not going to change a thing as.... U THINK THEY CARE ABOUT UR COMPLAIN????Originally posted by Demonight:Yeah well I DIDN'T vote for them so can I complain?
Native australians>naturalised australians>permanent residents> the only 1 I know that holds a working pass - she is american and she is on loan for 2 years.Originally posted by Fatum:I'm curious ... what about in australia .... in your current job, how many are native australians, how many are immigrants like yourself ? ...
So what do you suggest? Go out and protest against the gov (and risk "disappearing" forever due to ISA)?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):mi too... but i dun pay GST as well.... so do something about it dun just complain.. it's not going to change a thing as.... U THINK THEY CARE ABOUT UR COMPLAIN????![]()
no i suggest everyone just stop complaining and live with it if there is nothing they can do aboutOriginally posted by royston_ang:So what do you suggest? Go out and protest against the gov (and risk "disappearing" forever due to ISA)?
Or migrate to other countries (which is only available for a selected lucky few).
Ha ha ha, it is crap you just posted.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):no i suggest everyone just stop complaining and live with it if there is nothing they can do about![]()
be thankful for that half glass of water u have left rather than complaining about the half that u dun have![]()
I think otherwise. By opening voicing our discontent, even if the gov ignore us, it will create awareness of the issues. Else everyone will think everyone is happy with every policy from the gov due to the bias reporting of the local media.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):no i suggest everyone just stop complaining and live with it if there is nothing they can do about![]()
be thankful for that half glass of water u have left rather than complaining about the half that u dun have![]()
I second what you say. Some people just have small mind, it is that much a small mind thinks.Originally posted by royston_ang:I think otherwise. By opening voicing our discontent, even if the gov ignore us, it will create awareness of the issues. Else everyone will think everyone is happy with every policy from the gov due to the bias reporting of the local media.
Who know, this may eventually cause PAP to lose a few more seats to the opposition and force them to listen to us.
because it is happening very pervasively in IT.Originally posted by Gazelle:How come IT people already talk about being replaced?
wah.. difficult to count. these angmohs mostly came from netherland, england, germany, america, ireland, south africa, italy etc.. some 1st generations whereas some 2nd generations.Originally posted by Fatum:I'm curious ... what about in australia .... in your current job, how many are native australians, how many are immigrants like yourself ? ...
ya, im out of singapore.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):seriously... what is the point of posting anything?? Singaporean always like to complain this complain that...... which i agree that they have a point....and should complain about all the BS that PAP is giving us... but.... put ur complain into action lah... leave sg or dun vote for them lor.... if not.. then what's the point to complain about something that are not going to change?![]()