I thought there is a ratio cap on the number of foreigners you can employ?Originally posted by fishbuff:while i was working as a technical consultant servicing banks and other financial institutions, i can hardly see any chinese at all, let alone singaporeans. likewise to the last job when i worked in an IT gaming company, out of 300+ IT professionals, only less than 4 are singaporeans.
How come you know Gazelle is a girl with no bird bird oneOriginally posted by fishbuff:because it is happening very pervasively in IT.
i assume u are a girl and have not step into the private sector (not govt) with no dependencies and finanial commitment?
u r so lucky that u r out of s'pore, a stupid place...Originally posted by fishbuff:ya, im out of singapore.
just want to backdate my lamentations here.
Were the other 300-odd professionals competent?Originally posted by fishbuff:while i was working as a technical consultant servicing banks and other financial institutions, i can hardly see any chinese at all, let alone singaporeans. likewise to the last job when i worked in an IT gaming company, out of 300+ IT professionals, only less than 4 are singaporeans.
i want my fellow singaporean NS comrades to seek similar overseas opportunities as well.Originally posted by Seven_Dragon:u r so lucky that u r out of s'pore, a stupid place...
not all of your comrades are so luckyOriginally posted by fishbuff:i want my fellow singaporean NS comrades to seek similar overseas opportunities as well.
so how do the natives there feel about immigrants like yourself moving there ? ...Originally posted by fishbuff:wah.. difficult to count. these angmohs mostly came from netherland, england, germany, america, ireland, south africa, italy etc.. some 1st generations whereas some 2nd generations.
there are only 3 asians here including myself; one from mauritius, one from hong kong that came at birth and studied to phD, and me.
alot of angmohs but there are afew sri lankans here.
You are one kind soul who thinks of your fellow men though you are now working overseas. Thank you.Originally posted by fishbuff:i want my fellow singaporean NS comrades to seek similar overseas opportunities as well.
lose a few more seats??Originally posted by royston_ang:I think otherwise. By opening voicing our discontent, even if the gov ignore us, it will create awareness of the issues. Else everyone will think everyone is happy with every policy from the gov due to the bias reporting of the local media.
Who know, this may eventually cause PAP to lose a few more seats to the opposition and force them to listen to us.
oh ya i forgot.. our big mind Elite in sg like to call mi a quitter hor... such big mindOriginally posted by qlqq9:I second what you say. Some people just have small mind, it is that much a small mind thinks.
gong xi gong xi... remember to work hard hor.. dun ever come back ok.. except for holiday of cos... then can enjoy all the satay, laksa, etc...Originally posted by fishbuff:ya, im out of singapore.
just want to backdate my lamentations here.
my colleagues are ok. one of them is a good friend to me. my aussie neighbours are nice to me too and we had get together over beer and pizza at their places.Originally posted by Fatum:so how do the natives there feel about immigrants like yourself moving there ? ...
YOu can work overseas if opportunity arises.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):gong xi gong xi... remember to work hard hor.. dun ever come back ok.. except for holiday of cos... then can enjoy all the satay, laksa, etc...![]()
I'm already a "quitter" so what do u think?Originally posted by qlqq9:YOu can work overseas if opportunity arises.
hahah I also belong to the quitter club.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):I'm already a "quitter" so what do u think?![]()
i missed my satay!!!!![]()
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Were the other 300-odd professionals competent?
Regardless, this is the way companies work to maximise their margins. It'd take a brave person to introduce legislation to improve the lot of older local workers, with the possibility of driving corporations away.
Where? West or down under?Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):I'm already a "quitter" so what do u think?![]()
I am not going to label anyone quitters, PAP are just sicko to call people quitter, they are not showing good examples and have no right to say anything about anyone. They are suckers, not just ordinary suckers, they are super world class under perform, substandard suckers in the whole political world.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):I'm already a "quitter" so what do u think?![]()
I am waiting for a revolt,so that i can slaughter those PAP leaders!!!!Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):seriously... what is the point of posting anything?? Singaporean always like to complain this complain that...... which i agree that they have a point....and should complain about all the BS that PAP is giving us... but.... put ur complain into action lah... leave sg or dun vote for them lor.... if not.. then what's the point to complain about something that are not going to change?![]()
I think reservist is good when your boss is a siao-on reservist officer like a unit CO.Originally posted by boredtulan:reservist is a fucking hindrance to career progress and i have decided to use my intelligence to make sure it doesn't disrupt my life anymore. there are 99 ways to skin a cat, if you know what i mean.
A friend in the IT field also experienced the same.Originally posted by Gazelle:How come IT people already talk about being replaced?