according to my ret lt col fren.. YES!!!!Originally posted by Daddy!!:does the influx of FTs have anything to do with the demographic trends of Singapore?
thank u...but how do u help?Originally posted by fishbuff:i want my fellow singaporean NS comrades to seek similar overseas opportunities as well.
Don't worry, no developed country absorbs foreigners as desperately as this fascist regime and tonnes of these developed countries are still much better off economically - in fact, far better than this regime can ever hope to match.Originally posted by fishbuff:by the way, immigration here is tight. immigrants arent as many as what sg is absorbing in right now.
Not just your jobs, but also your potential spouse (if you're still single) and future.Originally posted by Lim Wei Ming:Crap, I just got rejected from a job just because they know i'm a local and I told them my next reservist is 7 months away. And the guy said "Wah, so fast?"Sometimes, I wonder why are we putting up all these sacrifices for? For all the FT to come and snatch away our jobs?
silly boy, don't tell them the dates of your reservistOriginally posted by Lim Wei Ming:Crap, I just got rejected from a job just because they know i'm a local and I told them my next reservist is 7 months away. And the guy said "Wah, so fast?"Sometimes, I wonder why are we putting up all these sacrifices for? For all the FT to come and snatch away our jobs?
Why should the govt care? Their pay is pegged to GDP growth and the top 10 wage earners in each year. So the faster the growth, the better, no matter how it is achieved.Originally posted by fishbuff:while i was working as a technical consultant servicing banks and other financial institutions, i can hardly see any chinese at all, let alone singaporeans. likewise to the last job when i worked in an IT gaming company, out of 300+ IT professionals, only less than 4 are singaporeans.
while the market in SG is definitely picking up, older IT professionals like me are having a hard time finding decent good jobs that pay enough to sustain my family. i had;
- called from job agencies and once they learnt im over 39, they citied that their requirement is for someone that is younger than that.
- the interviewers at the banks that i was trying for the job are all indians FTs, i look around at the IT departments, not a single singaporeans in sight. I knew they are looking for their own kind of people, and interviewing me is just a cover up. as i knew it, i didnt get the job even though i had over 8 years of oracle db experiences in implementation and 3 certifications in oracle.
there is no incentives for hiring singaporeans. as one other forumer that had mention about hiring singaporean males, we all had to do reservist one of every 12 months. employers will never like that and cited that if their business can carry on without the presence of us during our reservists, then probably they wont need us at all.
i cant help to feel that singaporean males are expendable and easy to abuse. see how those PAP ministers like Philip Yeo, Vivian, Dr Hen etc are so audacious in mocking the singaporeans? are we such a pushover?
Let me post a question here.Originally posted by golani_bde:Why should the govt care? Their pay is pegged to GDP growth and the top 10 wage earners in each year. So the faster the growth, the better, no matter how it is achieved.
I'm not racisit, but I do not see how absorbing a large number of foreigners can help foster the Singaporean identity that we were though from young, especially when the foreigners are getting alot of the benefits for free. The difference b/w the immigration policy now and the past is that while the FTs came here last time to pass on the skills to us, (which we have now), the new ones now come here so that economic growth can be achieved at all cost to hit the government's target.
If there is a war, will these FTs stay???? Who is left fighting for Singapore????
Why does the govt bite the hand that feeds them. Why do they act like they own Singapore???? Rather than voted in to lead. As we all know, titles come from above, but leadership comes from below. If you want to be a leader, act like one and earn the respect, not because you went through the PAP screening process and was made an MP or Minister.
Another thing about Singaporean identity. We spent the last couple of decades to cultivate our Singaporean identity (eg kaisunessOriginally posted by I-like-flings(m):seriously... what is the point of posting anything?? Singaporean always like to complain this complain that...... which i agree that they have a point....and should complain about all the BS that PAP is giving us... but.... put ur complain into action lah... leave sg or dun vote for them lor.... if not.. then what's the point to complain about something that are not going to change?![]()
u can hide under the blanket and shout for yr mama if u dun dare to face the fact and realityOriginally posted by fymk:Do you know that each time you post about such a topic ...you are liable to start a war of flaming ?![]()
Go read her other posts before you embarrass yourself further. Some other people here are the ones who are trying to run away from reality.Originally posted by wudimax:u can hide under the blanket and shout for yr mama if u dun dare to face the fact and reality![]()
We are not Singaporeans anymore.Originally posted by Spartans:Another thing about Singaporean identity. We spent the last couple of decades to cultivate our Singaporean identity (eg kaisuness).
With the huge influx of FTs, they are not going to be integrated into our society (and culture etc). Instead, they will cluster around with their native friends and use their own culture, languages etc. In such a way, are we going to lose our identity?
When overseas, it is rather easily to recognise a fellow Singaporean. Now, I am not so sure.
worst for mi lor.. i am not even a Singapore residents now.. i dun even know WHO AM I now!!!Originally posted by charlize:We are not Singaporeans anymore.
Just Singapore residents.
Really.
First was the hunt for professionals, who came in as expats.Originally posted by Sagara:When these FTs get a relatively higher position, they tend to source for more of their own countrymen when hiring, be it for colour or that it is more comfortable working with their 'own' kind. They are also cheaper than locals.
Who knows if these pple they brought in are related to them..?
The govt juz don't bloody listen.![]()
Certainly not the first time this issue has been discussed, remember Derek Wee and Wee Shu Min saga?Originally posted by fishbuff:while i was working as a technical consultant servicing banks and other financial institutions, i can hardly see any chinese at all, let alone singaporeans. likewise to the last job when i worked in an IT gaming company, out of 300+ IT professionals, only less than 4 are singaporeans.
while the market in SG is definitely picking up, older IT professionals like me are having a hard time finding decent good jobs that pay enough to sustain my family. i had;
- called from job agencies and once they learnt im over 39, they citied that their requirement is for someone that is younger than that.
- the interviewers at the banks that i was trying for the job are all indians FTs, i look around at the IT departments, not a single singaporeans in sight. I knew they are looking for their own kind of people, and interviewing me is just a cover up. as i knew it, i didnt get the job even though i had over 8 years of oracle db experiences in implementation and 3 certifications in oracle.
there is no incentives for hiring singaporeans. as one other forumer that had mention about hiring singaporean males, we all had to do reservist one of every 12 months. employers will never like that and cited that if their business can carry on without the presence of us during our reservists, then probably they wont need us at all.
i cant help to feel that singaporean males are expendable and easy to abuse. see how those PAP ministers like Philip Yeo, Vivian, Dr Hen etc are so audacious in mocking the singaporeans? are we such a pushover?
hehehe..hk..Originally posted by reddressman:To all forumers,
TAKE UP RESPONSIBILITY as a DEMOCRATIC CITIZEN.
Know that your ACTIONS or inACTIONS has a consequence on you.
VOTE for a better tomorrow.
btw, can I say that most voters rely on public sector for ricebowl ?![]()
like this hk liao.![]()
Originally posted by Spartans:What you pointed out is also highlighted by the recent household survey, where the middle class is disappearing, the poor and the rich are growing on both ends. This is what they call a M-society. CPI will never reflect the actual cost faced due to sampling. I do not see this as an attempt b the government to lie with numbers, the problem with CPI is seen in other countries as well, but it is definitely convenient for thier purposes.
Let me post a question here.
According to reports in the main media, the [b]AVERAGE pay rise is 7.7% whereas the inflation rate is 3%.everyone has more money to spend
However, if we analyse the statistics indepth, we can recognise that the general trend is the RICH got very high salary hike (eg our dear PM who got more than 100% pay rise) whereas the low income group has very little pay increment(some may even force take pay cut or unable to find new job due to influx of 'FTs'). In view of this, 3% inflation (seriously I suspect this 3% doesnt included the 2% GST hike) poses troublesome bread and butter problem to the low income group.[/b]
Not only are they running away from reality, they are discouraging and stopping people to face reality. Sickos they are.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Go read her other posts before you embarrass yourself further. Some other people here are the ones who are trying to run away from reality.
"You can lie to some people all the time, all people some of the time, but you can't lie to all people all the time." - Abraham LincolnOriginally posted by HyperFocal:hehehe..hk..
Hong-Kan indeed....![]()
The problem is that there will always be some 66.6% who keep these greedy bastards in power...