Originally posted by charlize:Exactly! Although in terms of employment in general,
If you are male, you get the privilege of serving NS.
If you are female, you get Baby bonus for having more kids.
Now who says, there aren't any benefits of being a Singapore citizen?
Britain is britain - that is the royal family's tradition of joining some military thing. After all they would want to justify the amount of money that the public taxpayers are giving them .They also have to prove some "loyalty" thing.Originally posted by Icemoon:reddressman, you are biased.
You did not point out the tax rebate and extra election time goodies for NSman.
Neither did you point out for the civil service, male citizens get a higher starting pay.
Furthermore do you know the privilege of serving the military? Even Britian's Prince Harry (or was it William or both?) volunteered and had no qualms about shedding blood for their military and with their subordinates.
If you just want to chao keng don't say lah. But NS gives you the chance to develop your leadership skill and to lead by example. How many 18 years old PRs can find a job, and get commissioned by the country's highest head to lead by example? Which MNC will even entrust the lives of their guys to an 18 years old?
Oh really? Maybe I should put in my resume that I have develop leadership skill during NS (hope the interviewer don't die from laughing).Originally posted by Icemoon:If you just want to chao keng don't say lah. But NS gives you the chance to develop your leadership skill and to lead by example. How many 18 years old PRs can find a job, and get commissioned by the country's highest head to lead by example? Which MNC will even entrust the lives of their guys to an 18 years old?
wah, you talk even nicer than me ah. I thought I talk very good good already.Originally posted by Icemoon:reddressman, you are biased.
You did not point out the tax rebate and extra election time goodies for NSman.
Neither did you point out for the civil service, male citizens get a higher starting pay.
Furthermore do you know the privilege of serving the military? Even Britian's Prince Harry (or was it William or both?) volunteered and had no qualms about shedding blood for their military and with their subordinates.
If you just want to chao keng don't say lah. But NS gives you the chance to develop your leadership skill and to lead by example. How many 18 years old PRs can find a job, and get commissioned by the country's highest head to lead by example? Which MNC will even entrust the lives of their guys to an 18 years old?
why dont you sign up forever since so good as you said?Originally posted by Icemoon:...Furthermore do you know the privilege of serving the military? Even Britian's Prince Harry (or was it William or both?) volunteered and had no qualms about shedding blood for their military and with their subordinates.
Originally posted by Seven_Dragon:how do you know for sure? guess guess? argar argar? assume? suspect? hunch? where is the black and white? are you holding the information ? how come you know? for sure?
so employment rate of citizens are not that low if you include government sector... if you exclude government sector, employment rate of citizens will be low in private sector...
ErrrOriginally posted by reddressman:I am convinced no one has even a clue to the answer.
That means you included.
HK LIAO!
Eagle,Originally posted by eagle:Hence, if ALL of the 0.046 mil unemployed workers are Singaporeans
That means an employment rate of about 96% for citizens.
I would say that it is reasonable to include PRs into Residents because there are many PRs who would apply for citizenship after working for a while. I have a few friends who are like this.
Online Citizen stats can be calculated from statistics Singapore. You want you can calculate. I've merely took other's calculations. If you really want to confirm whether it is correct, you can slowly take statistics from the Singapore Statistics website and calculate it yourself.. If you have bothered to check the dates, you would have realised that it is updated till Sept 07.Originally posted by reddressman:Its not that someone is afraid of competition. Don't confuse people by pouring sotong ink .
To ask and question the job creation report is merely a commonsense , logical thinking way to understand the facts clearly. Its also a citizen's concern. I challenge anyone to tell me that this is illegal and wrong. come.
If what you say is true,
why no news ever report the exact number of citizens employed , unemployed and how many jobs created are occupied by PRs and FTs?
Why ?
What is the Rationale behind this ?
Why no sgrean demand the truth? Is being paymaster brings with it the power to put on a leash and muzzle? How united?
Why you quote the ONline citizen? Havent you heard?
What is the age of your stats?
What is the current stat?
How can you proof how accurate is the stat (altho I must say it is accurate for obvious reasons). This is talking from a technical perspective.
Again, WHY the news only say how many jobs created and missed out , time and time and time and time and time again,
of the jobs created:
1. How many occupied by non PR, non FT.
2. How many occupied by PR
3. How many occupied by your fellow sgreans?
Originally posted by reddressman:The fundamental question is: What is the Employment rate of CITIZENS. Please show me how I have failed to answer this question.
Eagle,
Its also REASONABLE to include this breakdown of the job distribution in the news.
You say many PR later apply citizen. I can also say many PRs later nebber apply.
You can also choose to provide the figures later when they apply lah.
Now, provide [b]the TRUTH , the whole TRUTH and nothing else but the TRUTH about how many jobs created went to PRs and how many actually went to sgreans.
YOU still FAIL to answer this fundamental question despite all your effort trying to show people you have some figures which may be bits and pieces here and there and not sure how current the info is and what is the clear basis for the stats calculated.
Who do you represent ? Can you handle the TRUTH ?
I even give the benefit of doubt that given that there is employment rate published for foreigners and locals collectively, that means there is proof and figures as answers to my questions already. But I now ask you again,
WHY not published?
What is the Logic and REASON behind this?
Tell me if you know.
Wow, you dare to suggest the mighty news' reporter is plain lazy ?Originally posted by eagle:WHY not published?
What is the Logic and REASON behind this?
I've have a hunch, but this question is not with regards to the thread title. My hunch is, the news reporter is just plain lazy. The available information is publicised, just whether the reporter is hardworking enough to gather and publish his calculations.
Well, I do dare to suggest that it is the mistake of the news reporter AND the editor not to have know that there are people who want to know the breakdown of the statistics. In that sense, I would claim that they are just lazy to find out what the people want to read. I based my allegations on the news report.Originally posted by reddressman:Wow, you dare to suggest the mighty news' reporter is plain lazy ?
Dun forget the news was approved by the EDITOR.
Dun forget the news was in frontpage on national newspaper.
I wonder what forummers think of your suggestion that probably the news reporter was 'plain lazy'.
Time and time again?
What about the Editor? What is his responsibility?
Who does he report to?
I am sure you assume many here are primary school children is it?
Be careful what allegations you are making.
You seem are a loose canon who put words into my mouth.Originally posted by eagle:Well, I do dare to suggest that it is the mistake of the news reporter AND the editor not to have know that there are people who want to know the breakdown of the statistics. In that sense, I would claim that they are just lazy to find out what the people want to read. I based my allegations on the news report.
It is you who should take note of your allegations of the Opposition and the Government/ministers due to a mere news report that is not even written nor edited by any of them.
You seem to have poor comprehension. I have given the employment rate of citizens. It is a wonder why you could not read. In case you have missed the post, do you need me to quote my whole post to prove that I have answered your question directly? Another baseless allegation against me? I have given you the answer of at least 96% with figures from the singstats website. You will need to prove the statistics board wrong before being able to claim that I am wrong.Originally posted by reddressman:You seem are a loose canon who put words into my mouth.
This shows to me you are a dangerous person with some motives in this forum.
When I say you are allegating the news reporter, its very clear that you do.
But you seem to be so sure you will not get anything from the news editor.
I wonder why.
Who do you represent?
After the 1000's of words you said, you still FAIL to give a direct reply to the question of this thread. To the naive, You seem like knowing the answer. In fact, I can say you cannot prove what is the employment rate of citizens.
Send your better player from your team to reply to me.
Are you sure the Opposition is powerless to ask? Are you sure the Opposition is unable to give this information? Are you sure they are not able to calculate the values from the singstats website if required to?Originally posted by reddressman:Why the Opposition is powerless to demand a clear answer as to who took up the jobs created?
Are the jobs taken up by :
1. Foreigners who are non-PRs?
- If so, what types of jobs are these? Factory labor? Construction labor?
- How many EPs , WPs, SPs?
2. How many singaporeans occupied the created jobs?
As far as I know, the Opposition is unable to even give this information to the People by simply a s k i n g. they are given the power to talk in parl.
If they are unable to do the job, let the next better more daring people have a go. Money should be spent on Opposition to help the people, not that they have not done anything. Just a reminder.
There are many who wants to support the Opposition. But they have yet to prove they are capable enough. Give us the figures. Why figures not available? What is there not to show???????????????????????
just my 2 cents.
Again, this is a senseless post. Why do they need to go to MOM if they could just go to the singstats website and make some calculations? Afterall, statistics are there for people to analyse, not information to spoon feed brainless peopleOriginally posted by qlqq9:To get the figures, they need to approach MOM, so do you think MOM the hen will be kind to release figures to the oppositions? Even if hen releases info, is the data/info accurate? Can we be sure hen does not manipulate with the data/figures?
Another charge again the statistics board without any proofOriginally posted by qlqq9:. . . . . . . . and you believe in the facts/figures they give. OMG. All PAP's members are tuned in to work for the leegime.
Here, you are charging that the Opposition, MP and ministers for being inefficient in not putting effort to ask for you.Originally posted by reddressman:btw,
What effort have we seen our Opposition in asking this on our behalf?
What has the so-called Opposition done in this aspect?
You ask us to ask the MOM.
Why don't you 1st go ask your MOM?
Why don't Sylvia Lim go and ask the MOM?
Why don't Low Tia Kiang go and ask the MOM?
Why don't Chiam See Tong go and ask MOM?
How many decades does it take to get the figures?
What is the EFFICIENCY?
Why don't the MPs and Ministers go and ask the MOM?
Truth is, you want to know the figure. I have calculated for you.Originally posted by reddressman:I realised I am reading at a figure that does not tell me the details. Not even a simple percentage breakdown of x% of jobs were taken up by PRs, FTs and Foreign Laborers and Y% taken up by singaporeans.
You claimed you know the fundamentals of statistics, yet both you and qlqq9 would prefer to come to a conclusion with a sample size of <0.1%? With that in mind, isn't that another baseless allegation?Originally posted by reddressman:If you understand the most fundamental of statistics, you should know that it is important to know how the numbers are derived. For example, if I say People are living longer, what does it mean? How many are living longer? Majority of a few? A few can also mean people are living longer. Please go for a quick course on fundamental statistics to help yourself.
all you do every time your gap opensOriginally posted by eagle:You claimed you know the fundamentals of statistics, yet both you and qlqq9 would prefer to come to a conclusion with a sample size of <0.1%? With that in mind, isn't that another baseless allegation?
Finally, it is not that the statistics do not explain your observations; they only give averages, and with some analysis, your observations could be explained. I have no idea why both of you get so worked up over it. Do you mean to say that the value of at least 96% is too good a rate for you? A pap supporter would ask does the truth hurts, but I would say, how about the 4%?
My main concern is what is going to be done to help the remaining 4%, yet both you and qlqq9 rather focus on whether it is really 96%. Isn't that senseless?
In conclusion, I have answered the main question in this thread with my worst-case estimations and calculations. However, both reddressman and qlqq9 have continuously failed to answer my questions directed at them, but instead change their tactics to do verbal abuse in the forum. It is obvious they could not answer my questions and are trying means and ways not to answer it, a tactic similar to another certain forumer.
Please point out how I have put words in your mouth or it would be baseless allegations again. When I point out something from you, I have a quote ready from your posts. Do you?Originally posted by reddressman:all you do every time your gap opens
is to put words in my mouth.
If you use your eyes, and read my words clearly,
those are questions.
And you should also note that
there is no reason for me to believe in your words, especially from some one who goes by the name of EAGLE. How can that be credible?