Originally posted by hiphop2009:lets say supposely rising GST to help the low income pple, den how come we dun see anything leh?
i personally feel dat it is the jobs and salary, which makes the mos headache for govt to tackle with. FT come take our job means pay gets lower, but with food prices rising, i dunnoe if someday newspaper will report dat because he o she has no food to eat, he or she just starved to death![]()
Dr Chee Soon Juan... ? Unfortunately the poor are also those that cannot / dare not make demands for their rights... and would not know how to support Dr Chee...Originally posted by Catknight:We can see our future in them already....only top 20% can survive here in high cost city state..the rest just serfs building pyramids of wealth for the elites..it;s a cruel world..
Spore need a moses from the Elite to lead us out..liao
I agree with bear. Instead of spending the reserve to solve the short term issue, we need something to reduce the increase of inflation and improve our economy.Originally posted by the Bear:really.. i want to ask one thing...
apart from "spend the reserves" which is short term... no one has come up with a plausible solution...
oh.. i'm not bashing the MIW or the opposition people... screw that.. they're all idiots..
including the haters and the carriers...
suggest a solution!
U r rite to say that, of cos we are not saying that the goverment do not need to help the poor just bcos this is a "short term solution". Just want to highlight that we also need a solution to solve this issue looking in long term. Seems like alot of the affected ppl belong to the aged population. I am curious how do developed countries come out with measure to counter this issues?Originally posted by ^tamago^:Sometimes people just keep dissing at proposals to touch the reserves and pointed out that it would not solve all the problems, when we are looking at using reserves as a stopgap measure while looking at long-term solutions. Sparing 1% or even just 0.1% of it to help these needy people. What's the point of holding so much cash for the future when old folks here are suffering at this moment in time. Where's the humanity in it?
Know why Gazelles working so hard for PAP? He gets pay for doing that. The day he wakes up from his Bloody mentality is the day PAP collaspe and cannot afford to pay him to serve net and rebuke us!Originally posted by fymk:You are lucky , unlike the people who are complaining. You can afford the second hand audi for your wife as you claimed ,"first class" tickets out of Europe (as you claimed) and some percentage of some coastal condo in Australia.
You are lucky ,so don't label others who are not as lucky as you ,whiners.
When you end up in their shoes , you will start singing a different tune. Fortunes come and fortunes goes . Don't think that just because you got it good , the rest are no better than you. You are just an employee in some manufacturing company . Times can change rapidly.
*waits for the flaming to start now*
Nothing is forever... Is fast rising inflation going to last forever? Is economic recovery going to last forever? Is economic crisis going to last forever? What is wrong with temporary measure or stop gap tatics? Dip into reserve when time is bad. If not,why have such huge pool of reseve? For just benefif of a small group of elites?Originally posted by the Bear:here's another headache.. the "aging population"
the idiots think that by increasing the population they can "solve" it..
like spending the reserves to help out the people, it's only a stop-gap thing which creates even more problems... the increased population = even larger aging population of the future
spending some of the reserves for those who are running to stand still now isn't going to make them able to in the long term..
so i've asked.. are the rest of us willing to face the consequences to solve the problems? or are we just going to bellyache and blame the MIW, FT, the world, society or God... as if blaming them will solve the problems...
Originally posted by zenden9:Nothing is forever... Is fast rising inflation going to last forever? Is economic recovery going to last forever? Is economic crisis going to last forever? What is wrong with temporary measure or stop gap tatics? Dip into reserve when time is bad. If not,why have such huge pool of reseve? For just benefif of a small group of elites?
Is our market really free with equal opportunties?Originally posted by the Bear:uhh.. it's real life here..
price that goes up, never comes down...
moreover, real wages have dropped due to competition..
think think!!
we have a free market economy here.. think of what that entails..
I don't know, but I remember one of our delegations visited Japan and quite insensitively compared their pensions system and saying welfare should not have been there for them, and we should "learn" from them and should not let it be the way we will tackle aging population.Originally posted by SpeedStar:U r rite to say that, of cos we are not saying that the goverment do not need to help the poor just bcos this is a "short term solution". Just want to highlight that we also need a solution to solve this issue looking in long term. Seems like alot of the affected ppl belong to the aged population. I am curious how do developed countries come out with measure to counter this issues?

on the surface will be increasing tax for both individuals and corporate companies.Originally posted by SpeedStar:U r rite to say that, of cos we are not saying that the goverment do not need to help the poor just bcos this is a "short term solution". Just want to highlight that we also need a solution to solve this issue looking in long term. Seems like alot of the affected ppl belong to the aged population. I am curious how do developed countries come out with measure to counter this issues?
Originally posted by zenden9:Is our market really free with equal opportunties?
The term free market is only beneficients to a few small group of elites in Sg!
Is our gov so free until they think no action is taken to stem out the troubles ahead?
Originally posted by ^tamago^:I don't know, but I remember they visited Japan and quite insensitively compared their pensions systems and saying welfare should not have been there for them.
It is frustrating to see this picture of contrast. Inside the old man cannot afford to have electricity, eats bread and drinks milo for dinner; outside the corridors are nicely paved, that's where the money went into, to common areas and Government property. In other words, what is theirs is theirs and what is your is theirs too.
We already paid 7% GST in the name of helping the poor. What happened to that money?Originally posted by the Bear:back to this.. will you pay increased taxes to help them?
Drop all that talk about workfare, increase personal income tax and introduce a safety net. GST for essential items should be scrapped. Perhaps to avoid abuse, a welfare card should be shown to allow for weekly or monthly GST rebates to be credited into the accounts of the needy.Originally posted by the Bear:what do you want the MCYS to do?
seriously...
Headache? Claiming market is in the best and minster salaries shall compare to current trend? What trend? Bill gates trend and Warren buffet?Originally posted by SpeedStar:I agree with bear. Instead of spending the reserve to solve the short term issue, we need something to reduce the increase of inflation and improve our economy.
I bet the government is also having headache, given the recent bad news about temasek and some GLC loss in investment and also the housing problem. The strong currency also increase the burden of trading.
What we need is a direction....not something like opening casino or going to pharmaceutical field.
Just something to think about....Have u ever think of what will happen if singapore and malaysia merged as a countries. I know ppl will laugh at this, but imagine if we can niche on each other and survive on this enviroment. It may do us more good than harm, but of cos must provided what will make this happen and how can we do to benefit ourself from this.