Education is the best provision for the journey to old age - AristotleOriginally posted by charlize:This reminds me of the time when they said nobody will be left behind.
Well, at least you know they have time to read the Straits Times.Originally posted by Nikar2:someone should tell the regime to stop making these kind of "we're a good gahmen and we hear the people" news in the papers.
they're making a joke out of themselves.
Filling up a form is reasonable, but filling up a mountain of forms is not, as it becomes prohibitive. Does filling up extra forms provide more evidence as to the financial position of the applicant? The government has all the required information in their databases, CPF records, Income Tax records, Bank records, etc.Originally posted by deathbait:I'm using the concept to explain why there a proccess to seperate the deserving from the undeserving is necessary. This was in response to the person who did not understand why paperwork was needed.
You do agree that if there were no barrier to entry, everyone would be applying for free money?
It's equivalent to the statement that there are no poor in Singapore made by MM.Originally posted by charlize:Well, at least you know they have time to read the Straits Times.
What education courses do you want the senile 80 year old lady who collects cardboard boxes for a living to take?Originally posted by Gazelle:Education is the best provision for the journey to old age - Aristotle
And thats what our government is promoting and supporting to ensure nobody is being left behind unless you choose to.
Originally posted by charlize:What education courses do you want the senile 80 year old lady who collects cardboard boxes for a living to take?
Microsoft Excel?
I am sure her live would have been alot better if PAP was around 80 years ago to promote education.Originally posted by charlize:What education courses do you want the senile 80 year old lady who collects cardboard boxes for a living to take?
Microsoft Excel?![]()
such childish post always amuse you isnt it? is that why you come into this forum? So when are you going to start talking about panties again?Originally posted by maurizio13:![]()
Maybe the 80 year old lady can use Microsoft Excel to better manage her operations. Maybe 80 year old lady can learn 6 sigma also.![]()
I've already told u. I have no arguments with your logic. I'm well acquainted with such arguments.Originally posted by deathbait:it's nice to see you quoted my post and didn't understand a word of it.
Ok, it's tragedy of the commons, pure and simple.
The government isn't to blame here. It is trying to help PROTECT the actual poor from people such as us. The greedy humans. And don't insult my intelligence by trying to deny you're not part of the problem.
Do you see how much of yourself you revealed via this innocent sentence? To a truly selfless person, every minute is a good time to help the poor. Why is there ever a bad time to help the poor? Your reasoning here is unsound.The cynic who just acquainted me with his elaborate theory on the selfishness and opportunistic nature of humanity is educating me now on the virtues of the truly selfless... Who's the one being just a tad bit inconsistent here?
You seem to care alot for the homeless. Let's find them some shelter first, right? 50 Million can build quite a few homes. Let's get started. But wait, there's a housing shortage. Nevermind, we'll just build more, right? Argh, these damn flats sure take a long time to build.The flat example u raised is perfectly valid. Yes, there are probably pple cheating on HDB rental flats that were meant for low income individuals. There are loopholes that can be exploited.
OK the housing thingy was a bust. Let's try another idea we've been pushing around. Let's just give them the damn money and let them rent their own damn houses. Oh look what's this? More freeloaders. Just as I was getting used to a paperless afternoon. Sigh. Back to drafting up more paperwork.
It's pretty nice to find a high horse to sit on while shouting to the heavens : "FEED THE HUNGRY! LIBERATE THE POOR!" In reality, it's a slow, agonising process to help the lower class. Some of them are there because of inherent behaviors that put them there in the first place, such as gambling or just plain laziness. So when you finally get the greedy middleclass people out of the equation, how are you going to seperate the deserving poor from the undeserving poor?I will do no such thing because I ultimately find it a tad bit arrogant for us, sitting comfortably in your chair, typing out a nice, long post and nicely connected through our broadband connection trying to impose a judgement on who is a "deserving" poor vis a vis who is the "undeserving" one.
I'm sure Aristotle is rolling in his grave right now. Linking his philosophies to government policy = very bad tasteOriginally posted by Gazelle:Education is the best provision for the journey to old age - Aristotle
And thats what our government is promoting and supporting to ensure nobody is being left behind unless you choose to.
Ya, with that, it just shows that the government is promoting it so that they don't need to worry that you will be left behind. And with that, if you are left behind, it is because you CHOSE to. It has to be your own fault. It is your own doing that you cannot keep up... Right?Originally posted by Gazelle:Education is the best provision for the journey to old age - Aristotle
Alas, implementing countrywide policies take lots of time and money. It would be nice if everyone was sympathatic and didn't try to beat/abuse the system.Originally posted by CX:I will do no such thing because I ultimately find it a tad bit arrogant for us, sitting comfortably in your chair, typing out a nice, long post and nicely connected through our broadband connection trying to impose a judgement on who is a "deserving" poor vis a vis who is the "undeserving" one.
The gov't could try the following:
1) identify the needy. don't wait for them to approach the MP. Have people go around to identify and guide the needy. Lots of them are old and illiterate. They have worked hard in their youth and contributed in their own little way to this country. They will benefit from such outreach.
2) Make application minimal and hassle free. Have minimum front line screening. Give first. Recognise the urgency that pple may be going hungry and need help.
3) Check rigorously. Visit recipients routinely. Check that their situation is improving. Make sure that they're not cheating. If they're cheating, whack them hard and shame them.
4) Where appropriate, make continued aid conditional upon gainful employment and adjust the amount given based on the amount they make. In short, enhancing workfare and means-testing.
Don't deter pple from seeking help by simply burying them under red-tape and paperwork because it simply looks half-hearted and heartless.
The govt is trying hard. This i recognise. But i think what's needed is a slight mindset change from "check first, then help" to "help first, then check".
You are just sore that I publicized your panties sniffing fiasco at your guy friend's place, as a human being, I think we should have some principles. Principles such as not to sniff a good friend's immediate family's panties or use any of his other family members for sexual gratification from your sexually deprived existence. If your sister is a supermodel, I guess you will start screwing her too?Originally posted by Gazelle:such childish post always amuse you isnt it? is that why you come into this forum? So when are you going to start talking about panties again?
Yes, because no one is interested to pay additional taxes to help people who dont help themselves.Originally posted by eagle:Ya, with that, it just shows that the government is promoting it so that they don't need to worry that you will be left behind. And with that, if you are left behind, it is because you CHOSE to. It has to be your own fault. It is your own doing that you cannot keep up... Right?
If PAP was dominant all over the world, the world will be a better place. No wars, no protest, no poor, NO FREEDOM.Originally posted by Gazelle:I am sure her live would have been alot better if PAP was around 80 years ago to promote education.
You are so predictable, just like my dog.Originally posted by maurizio13:You are just sore that I publicized your panties sniffing fiasco at your guy friend's place, as a human being, I think we should have some principles. Principles such as not to sniff a good friend's immediate family's panties or use any of his other family members for sexual gratification from your sexually deprived existence. If your sister is a supermodel, I guess you will start screwing her too?![]()
You should learn to respect your friends and family members, else you are no better than a rabid pariah dog.
If your good friend is not around and if his wife is a supermodel, I guess given the chance you will sleep with the wife without any hesitation. That is the kind of morals you have, what more can we say about the points you propound in Speaker's Corner.
I guess this is what separates dogs from humans, the ability to discern with principles.
Wait a minute, if you are without principles, then what kind of principles do you want to promote in Speaker's Corner?
what he meant was poverty la....sheeshOriginally posted by :Tok c0rk like sing song lah......![]()
KNN, people hungry will tell you arh?![]()
No lah, it's because all our taxes go into paying the ministerial salaries, that's why not enough to help the poor.Originally posted by Gazelle:Yes, because no one is interested to pay additional taxes to help people who dont help themselves.
By dog, do you mean your wife or sex partner (because you are a dog), that is if you have one to begin with. As you are a sexually deprived maniac who has to go to a good friend's house to sniff the sister's panties.Originally posted by Gazelle:You are so predictable, just like my dog.
If we are responsible for our own life, then where does the CPF money comes in? How come on one hand, they would claim that we are responsible, yet on the other hand, claim that Singaporeans don't know how to save for old age and thus need CPF?Originally posted by Gazelle:Yes, because no one is interested to pay additional taxes to help people who dont help themselves.
Originally posted by maurizio13:By dog, do you mean your wife or sex partner (because you are a dog), that is if you have one to begin with. As you are a sexually deprived maniac who has to go to a good friend's house to sniff the sister's panties.
I know for a fact that Gazelle will never be hungry, because he can still eat soiled panties.Originally posted by de_middle:

Originally posted by maurizio13:He can't convince people with facts and reason, so he resort to name calling and hurling abuses lor.
It's alright, I quite enjoy watching a dog barking relentlessly at the air.