hey sometimes there's no perfect solution. Just because the poor cannot afford to wait does not mean a solution will magically appear. These things take time. I think you already understand this part.Originally posted by CX:I can give them all the time they want... I have a job and I make enough to get by.
But the time is not mine to give. Pple out there need help and I cannot help but recall that LHL promised that the 2% hike was for funding social safety nets. So here's the million dollar question: where is it???
Their salary hike had already taken effect. But where's the money for the poor?
I respect this government for what it is: a well educated and clean bunch who's trying to run the country well.
But I cannot help but feel that although they've taken care of the big picture, they've neglected the little man on the street (i mean LITERALLY sleeping on the street).
I cannot help but feel that they are stuck in their ivory towers and not in touch with the harsh reality on the ground.
I can tell you this for sure;Originally posted by deathbait:hey sometimes there's no perfect solution. Just because the poor cannot afford to wait does not mean a solution will magically appear. These things take time. I think you already understand this part.
Blind faith? Hardly. People who know me personally in real life will attest that if anything, I am highly skeptical of the current administration. But I like to give credit where credit is due.Originally posted by HyperFocal:How does one not mix Foreign Talents with The Local Poors, when even minial jobs are snatched away by these very Foreign "Talents"?
I agree that screening applicants who seek Public Aid is necessary, but when it is too time consuming, can you imagine rushing to the Accident & Emergency center with a mortal wound & being made to sit & wait for hours while one bleeds profusely?
If they can be so meticulous in screening the needs of Needies, they should too be as meticulous in screening the influx of foreigners who fill up jobs which otherwise will have been filled by these lowly skilled & lowly educated locals to put at bread & water, on their tables?
I understand you are in total support of the current ruling party, but you sound to border on the Blind Faith...
Like i said. Even people with suspect character can make good argument points. If the only rebuttal you can find is an insult on his character, it pretty much proves his point is valid.Originally posted by maurizio13:I agree what others do with the spare time is of their own constuct.
But.....
What kind of morals and principles are they propagating here if they fail miserably at being moral and ethical?
Betraying a good friend's trust, indulging in sexual grandiose and publicizing it to gain infamy.
Aren't morals and principles the basic of being good citizens.
Do you want a PM like Gazelle to teach you about morals and good behaviour if he indulges in smelling his good friend's sister soiled underwear???
IF, Foreign Talents saturating the local job market is NOT the cause of the problem of the growing Poor, kindly tell US what and or who is the cause...?Originally posted by deathbait:Blind faith? Hardly. People who know me personally in real life will attest that if anything, I am highly skeptical of the current administration. But I like to give credit where credit is due.
Foreign talents are NOT the problem. Complaining about them is like complaining that your dad didn't get you a position in his company even though you are obviously less qualified than the other applicants.
Originally posted by Spartans:That first statement of yours is so commonplace I've grown tired of pointing it out as a fallacy. While it is true that the rich make money easier, they also lose it alot easier too. Meanwhile, the poor may have a steep slope to climb, but it's still surmountable.
The rich are able to manipulate the market for their own personal gain whereas the poor can only silently suffer.
Indeed education is one of the best way to get out of poverty cycle [b]PROVIDED there are sufficient jobs when you graduated. However, nowadays, FTs seem to be everywhere, in every industry, in every position level. Seriously we really dun need ordinary FTs (ordinary talents haha so funny) to fulfill jobs where Singaporeans want and are able to fulfill.[/b]
Can you tell us, which Fire Brigade in this world adds Kerosene to a fire to put it out???Originally posted by eagle:Has anyone thought of which country in the world will not experience inflation now? Prices of natural resources are rising... So prices of goods will rise, and those oil producing countries will see that they will need more funds to buy the same basket of goods, hence further raise the price of oil to generate more money, and this results in a never ending cycle
I've noticed you're pretty much a troll here, injecting hate everywhere without actually giving concrete arguments.Originally posted by HyperFocal:Yeah,, further fattening their coffers, and then further postponing the Draw Out to perhaps 100 years of age???
Seriously, it depends on why they are poor in the first place.Originally posted by HyperFocal:IF, Foreign Talents saturating the local job market is NOT the cause of the problem of the growing Poor, kindly tell US what and or who is the cause...?
How much concrete do you need? Sand is already very expensive now.. you know?Originally posted by deathbait:I've noticed you're pretty much a troll here, injecting hate everywhere without actually giving concrete arguments.
...Andrew...?
just putting it out there
No linkOriginally posted by HyperFocal:Can you tell us, which Fire Brigade in this world adds Kerosene to a fire to put it out???
The last government I know of that took that approach you recommend was feudal Japan. They kinda got overtaken, overrun and overthrown. In that order.Originally posted by qlqq9:Absolutely agree with you.
I am all for "I think it is lame to put the weak & powerless through a "circus act" before rendering them Aid... why don't they do the same to filter out Foreigners coming here to take away jobs that would have otherwise gone to these Poor Low Income Earners???" In the past, before the evil gahmen encourage and gave so many permits to the FTs and FWs to work here, the complaints from people not getting jobs were not so many as compared to now. IF the gahmen refuse to care about welfare then it is only fair that they protect the rice bowl of locals. What the evil regime and sicko evil LHL are doing is keep increasing the cost of living and allow and encourage more and more foreigners to take away the rice bowls of the local. Such a gahmen don't give a damn to take into consideration to protect the locals' rice bowl is already over what we locals can tolerate. It is time people stand firm to send message to gahmen we can tolerate their nuisance no more. On one hand the sicko evil regime depend on us to feed them on the other hand they take away the locals rice bowls by allowing more and more foreigners here.
Singaporeans, please do yourself good, stand firm and vote PAP out.
Maybe, I am airing too much of PAP's dirty laundries??Originally posted by deathbait:I've noticed you're pretty much a troll here, injecting hate everywhere without actually giving concrete arguments.
...Andrew...?
just putting it out there
Call it protectism or whatever, I believe there is NO NEED to compare a FT and Singaporean when both are suitable for a job. Why bother to employ a FT from oversea when you have locals who can do the job?Originally posted by deathbait:Blind faith? Hardly. People who know me personally in real life will attest that if anything, I am highly skeptical of the current administration. But I like to give credit where credit is due.
Foreign talents are NOT the problem. Complaining about them is like complaining that your dad didn't get you a position in his company even though you are obviously less qualified than the other applicants.
I agree there are local Black Sheeps in our society, but they are fast Waking Up & doing something about their lives....Originally posted by eagle:Seriously, it depends on why they are poor in the first place.
If they are poor because they are old (no children to take care of them) or because they have to pay a lot for medical bills (unforeseen illnesses), then they deserved help.
But if they are poor because they do not want to work for it, then.... it's a different story.
No, i mean our government faces the same problems as every other government does. And that these problems are not unique to Singapore.Originally posted by qlqq9:What sort of logic are those? You mean our gahmen is so much better than other govt?
Try this; eg., raising GST to help the Poor???Originally posted by eagle:No link
Aging population. Import labour.Originally posted by HyperFocal:When a poor fellow is dying of thirst & hunger in a dessert, and there is only urine & sh|t in front of him all the time, he will end up eating & drinking it....
Sure, people in SG can adept to long working hours, as such the ever-ruling government SHOULD NOT harp about Low Birth Rates.... because people are simply toiling away earning money to pay them their Taxes, & ever increasing daily needs...
and of course, their ever increasing salaries for a - urine drinking & sh|t eating existence
Backside lah...Originally posted by deathbait:The last government I know of that took that approach you recommend was feudal Japan. They kinda got overtaken, overrun and overthrown. In that order.
Foresight is just as important as hindsight.
The main problem of our government is that they want to capture these black sheeps through policies that may be very unpopular (annuities, cpf, etc)Originally posted by HyperFocal:I agree there are local Black Sheeps in our society, but they are fast Waking Up & doing something about their lives....
But in so much as Daily Basic Needs are concerned, it can only come down to Job Supply... nowhere else...
Oh my bad... so I see.. Imported Labour doesn't ages....I see I see...Originally posted by deathbait:Aging population. Import labour.
Problem. Solution.
Don't get the two mixed up.
So your logic goes to say:Originally posted by qlqq9:deathbait sounds like a spokesman from the leechgime. If you notice he is being so careful not to say any negative reality and fats about the leechgime. Heck care about this fellow, just find him not credible, no logic. Don't get distracted by his words.
yup, what's the complain of it? Just because our dear PM put all the policies together at a very wrong timing? Still no link to my question, which is, which other country is not experiencing inflation due to the more expensive oilOriginally posted by HyperFocal:Try this; eg., raising GST to help the Poor???