Originally posted by HyperFocal:Oh my bad... so I see.. Imported Labour doesn't ages....I see I see...
Believe me... there are lots of locals who are Fed-up of working Temp Jobs, and just getting by year-in year-out, while the government increases their own salaries & bump up transport fares as well as GST....Originally posted by eagle:The main problem of our government is that they want to capture these black sheeps through policies that may be very unpopular (annuities, cpf, etc)
Yet for daily basic needs, there are definitely sufficient jobs for people to fulfill the needs. The problem here again is some Singaporeans are not willing to accept a lower paying job to do so. Again, the black sheeps. There are easily many part time jobs available that can give you the most basic of needs, provided you are willing to do them
Oh look. It's you again. He-who-talks-like-a-three-year-old is tired of arguing with facts for a change, and now stoops to flooding me with random unrelated information.Originally posted by qlqq9:Look who's talking above, it is the leechgime's spokesman. Ha ha ha, no compassion just like the leechgime. Then ask the leechgime don't create great income gap by paying themselves world class salary. World class paid gahmen can't even solve problems for the poor, shake my head. Want to get world class pay, then must give world class solution, they must be efficient. Seems they are only efficient to provide their own selfish needs. Out they go lah, people just vote PAP out. We have enough.
There is never a perfect solution. It is always a balance of pros and cons.Originally posted by deathbait:hey sometimes there's no perfect solution. Just because the poor cannot afford to wait does not mean a solution will magically appear. These things take time. I think you already understand this part.
Seriously, you argue EXACTLY like Andrew.Originally posted by HyperFocal:Oh my bad... so I see.. Imported Labour doesn't ages....I see I see...
that's the problem => fed-up of working temp jobs, yet still want to complain have no money to buy food, etc etc?Originally posted by HyperFocal:Believe me... there are lots of locals who are Fed-up of working Temp Jobs, and just getting by year-in year-out, while the government increases their own salaries & bump up transport fares as well as GST....
... where do you think this will lead to?
Oil prices went up, therefore prices in general follow suit...Originally posted by eagle:yup, what's the complain of it? Just because our dear PM put all the policies together at a very wrong timing? Still no link to my question, which is, which other country is not experiencing inflation due to the more expensive oil
The price of growth really. They made the decision to promote rapid growth and this is the aftermath.Originally posted by CX:There is never a perfect solution. It is always a balance of pros and cons.
My view is that the same government that moves quickly to ensure a nice chunk of the FDI pie can certainly also move a bit more quickly to take care of its citizens.
The fact of the matter is, that the government had always been reluctant to tackle this can of worms for fear of making the same mistakes as the welfare states.
The thing is, no sensible singaporean wants a welfare state! But everybody certainly wishes that more can be done to strike a balance between light-speed economic development and having social safety nets to protect the less fortunate.
I'm no apologist for govt failure and in this instance, they have failed many singaporeans who needs them the most.
Which facts? PAPfacts or People Facts??Originally posted by deathbait:Seriously, you argue EXACTLY like Andrew.
Which is to say, you ignore facts and make nonsensical points.
I'm guessing this leads to....you finally agreeing with Eagle and my points?Originally posted by HyperFocal:Believe me... there are lots of locals who are Fed-up of working Temp Jobs, and just getting by year-in year-out, while the government increases their own salaries & bump up transport fares as well as GST....
... where do you think this will lead to?
In my universe facts is a standalone term. The very fact that you are under the illusion that there is a different set for different people indicates you are not mature or calm enough to hold a meaningful discussionOriginally posted by HyperFocal:Which facts? PAPfacts or People Facts??
How about with regards to Singapore Power, and not with regards to private firms?Originally posted by HyperFocal:Oil prices went up, therefore prices in general follow suit...
when oil prices went down, did the same occur for the rest..?
Originally posted by deathbait:I'm guessing this leads to....you finally agreeing with Eagle and my points?
Well, I am at least capable of refraining from Labeling my debators, or resort to Name Callings like the regulars here...Originally posted by deathbait:In my universe facts is a standalone term. The very fact that you are under the illusion that there is a different set for different people indicates you are not mature or calm enough to hold a meaningful discussion
which things do you see in recent months?Originally posted by HyperFocal:I wish I can for once agree with you people....
but things as I see it in recent months, I regret I cannot...
But yet you already did.Originally posted by HyperFocal:I wish I can for once agree with you people....
but things as I see it in recent months, I regret I cannot...
Do you know that no matter what one does to reduce the monthly Utility Bills, they're always somehow able to keep your monthly bill on the HIGH side??Originally posted by eagle:How about with regards to Singapore Power, and not with regards to private firms?
My first statement is a fallacy? get your fact right!Originally posted by deathbait:That first statement of yours is so commonplace I've grown tired of pointing it out as a fallacy. While it is true that the rich make money easier, they also lose it alot easier too. Meanwhile, the poor may have a steep slope to climb, but it's still surmountable.
If the locals here are equally capable, and willing to be paid the same wages, they would obviously have been in equal competition with the FT. But that is not the case. Want to know why?
Because Singaporeans are arrogant. Just count the number of times you've heard of a graduate entering the market, refusing to accept jobs below his income expectation.
As for work quality, you guys who work can attest to the much better work ethic the average FT has over the Singaporean. In a free economy, who's going to pick the Singaporean?
Don't blame the inflow of FT for 'stealing' your jobs. It's just not true. The jobs were never yours in the first place for them to steal. If you prove yourself incapable of competing in a free economy, you are the weakest link.
With the tinted glasses they gave you as a member, of course you will have deemed that I already have...Originally posted by deathbait:But yet you already did.
Now if you could start making decent relevant points, I would agree that you are indeed capable of entering a reasonable debate.Originally posted by HyperFocal:Well, I am at least capable of refraining from Labeling my debators, or resort to Name Callings like the regulars here...
By what, do you measure someone in here, as CAPABLE of partaking in a Reasonable Deabte. And what in your definition is a Reasonable Debate?Originally posted by deathbait:Now if you could start making decent relevant points, I would agree that you are indeed capable of entering a reasonable debate.
Originally posted by Spartans:Huh. We were talking about rich being richer and poor getting poorer. What does that have to do with your foreigners with families back home?
My first statement is a fallacy? get your fact right!
Foreigners especially those from developing nations can accept lower wages because their families are still in their native homelands where living standards are not as high as in Singapore.
Lastly, what is the job of Government? Blindly pursueing economical growth at the expense of lesser Singaporeans? Seriously why would the Government allow such huge number of [b]ORDINARY foreigners, some even no or low skill into Singapore in the first place? If they are taking jobs which no Singaporean want, fair enough. But the situation now is they are taking over the jobs of ordinary Singaporeans. The problem is more severe if we are analysing the job situation of the low income group. Tell me then why does the government those foreigners into Singapore in the first place.[/b]
Which means it is just fantasy on your side?Originally posted by HyperFocal:Do you know that no matter what one does to reduce the monthly Utility Bills, they're always somehow able to keep your monthly bill on the HIGH side??
And who's allowed to check on which Creative Accounting are they using on us all??
Originally posted by deathbait:Huh. We were talking about rich being richer and poor getting poorer. What does that have to do with your foreigners with families back home?
And be careful how far you take this idea of yours. Hitler took it to the extreme and jump-started world war 2.