If you are referring to our local press, then it has no credibility. LKY said once he became PM, he made the press works for the govt. So what do you think?Originally posted by reddressman:Well, if the impression given by the press says great 1st world,
then people must buy that right?
No meh?? i no no leh...![]()
What i think is,Originally posted by qlqq9:If you are referring to our local press, then it has no credibility. LKY said once he became PM, he made the press works for the govt. So what do you think?
if you're given a piece of land on a F.O.C termOriginally posted by HyperFocal:Don't know about the leader part...
...but he's just a great economist & businessman that's all...
Yes, you are absolutely correct, the government have all the lands and assets free because they are bought with people's monies and they do not have to pay for them.Originally posted by leilan84:if you're given a piece of land on a F.O.C term
cheap workers and the ability to manipulate the laws to
your advantages yet, you're still not able to make $$$
then i suppose something must be seriously wrong with you.
Do you get what i mean?![]()
everyone buys newpaper everyday.There is no reason to buy newspaper everyday.
Are you giving that despot more credit than he deserves?Originally posted by fishbuff:LKY is a strong willed and dominating leader that can bring forth a place from poverty to riches.
The hypocrisy is so ingrained in our whole system of government that citizens can no longer trust anything said in its national newspapers. When trust is totally destroyed there is no sense in talking of success or values.Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:There is no reason to buy newspaper everyday.
I don't.
2.i prefer he can make $$$ for SG than just talk,talkOriginally posted by HyperFocal:Don't know about the leader part...
...but he's just a great economist & businessman that's all...
You means making monies by any means: "Bu Cer Sou Duan ?"Originally posted by lionnoisy:2.i prefer he can make $$$ for SG than just talk,talk
like Taiwanese Bian....
OH NO dude!Originally posted by lionnoisy:2.i prefer he can make $$$ for SG than just talk,talk
like Taiwanese Bian....
There are still many who are not aware that the local media/press are playing propaganda. They believe in all the news in these crap. My Myanmar friend once told me that he come across so many Singaporeans believe in the crap on the local media/press, he said I am the only one he knows who does not believe in all the crap in the local media/press.Originally posted by reddressman:What i think is,
everyone buys the news what.
everyone buys the only standard daily newspaper there is what. today and the likes are not wat i consider as standard daily newspaper. they are tabloid kind of goodie goodie new paper.
everyone buys newpaper everyday.
if they dont buy what is in the news,
then how come everyone keep buying the news everyday?
so, they believe lor.
the people have the right to choose to believe or not .
So, they believe in the local media that is why they buy the papers and watch the news for input. It is sad that many people are receiving news from the local media and press blindly.If Singaporeans blindly follow the Singapore mainstream media, their level of poltical awareness and knowledge will be at zero level.
I agree and support what you say. Many keep complaining but on election day they still vote for them.Originally posted by outsider77:wassup with you people...no wonder the government never change for the past 4 decades. that's because you people dont stand up together as one people, one nation. government should be scared of the people, not the other way around.
see our own neighbour....the indian minorities are making a stand for what they believe is wrong. if the people here are not happy, shouldnt you be making more ruckuss too?? im not suggesting a demonstration, but during election you guys can make a difference.
as far as LKY is concern, he is a modern day dictator not a great leader.
no lah where gawd?Originally posted by qlqq9:If you are referring to our local press, then it has no credibility. LKY said once he became PM, he made the press works for the govt. So what do you think?
I accept your rough gauge percentage of his contribution. He has contributed to the birth of the nation and the building up of its basic infrastructure but he over-did taxing the people at every turn to enrich the government coffer without giving back anything much in return thereby running down our competitiveness.Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:I would put Lee Kuan Yew 60% good 40% bad.
What about you robertteh?
decades ago, my grandfather had to vacate his land of plantations and move to a 4 x 4 walls of new home.Originally posted by robertteh:Yes, you are absolutely correct, the government have all the lands and assets free because they are bought with people's monies and they do not have to pay for them.
They just use people's monies to acquire any lands and assets they want so lands and assets and facilities should be used for provisions of services to the people without any more extra charge.
Yet instead of providing services with these lands and assets they treat them as owned by the government and any usage of such resources are at the extra or separate charge. When they charge rentals or sale prices on these lands and assets which are obtained free they will be making profits without any capital costs.
They have the cheek of impudence to falsely claim that they subsidise for housing or any services when in fact people already paid for them with their taxes even if they are providing such services seemingly without collecting any fees.
For fear of my personal selfish happiness ,Originally posted by qlqq9:LEE KUAN YEW is the great first world leader to say that pay the ministers high salary to prevent corruption. To many of us, this is a new form of corruption.