I dont think there is any issue of Singaporeans finding a job here in Singapore, the only problem I see is that Singaporeans are complaining that they are under paid for their skills and "talent" because of FT. And by having a university degree that doesnt make you any superior because many FT are uni grad too.Originally posted by Jontst78:You link isn't exactly Army/RSAF/RSN. Those are civilian positions within Ministry of Defence. Also, similar to many other Ministries (FA/Finance/Edu etc...) they are only taking Graduates for executive positions (There are some exceptions of course). Based on the link you provided.
If a Good honours or Good Degree holder has a problem landing in the Pte sector, for whatever reason(e.g. losing out to FT). This country has a serious problem IMO.
Its a fact that influx of FTs are driving wages down.Originally posted by Gazelle:I dont think there is any issue of Singaporeans finding a job here in Singapore, the only problem I see is that Singaporeand complaining that they are under for their skills and "talent" because of FT. And by having a university degree that doesnt make you any superior because many FT are uni grad too.
So my suggestion to those who are unwilling or incapable of competing with FT, join the army or become a civil servant.
stop crapping about more superior ft pushing out locals...there are increasing cases of inferior ft taking local jobs only because they are cheaper...period...even jobs used to be done by local aunties are being replaced by unskilled foreigners...Originally posted by Gazelle:I dont think there is any issue of Singaporeans finding a job here in Singapore, the only problem I see is that Singaporeans are complaining that they are under paid for their skills and "talent" because of FT. And by having a university degree that doesnt make you any superior because many FT are uni grad too.
So my suggestion to those who are unwilling or incapable of competing with FT, join the army or become a civil servant.
Originally posted by Gazelle:If you think you dont have what it takes to compete with FT, join the army!!
I am showing them their sanctuaryOriginally posted by MS:![]()
But I left the armed forces for better reasons.
But I think you really hit the raw nerves of those still serving full time in the armed forces. Are you implying that they are imbeciles?
Gazelle , keep that advice for yourself if you lose your job.Originally posted by Gazelle:I dont think there is any issue of Singaporeans finding a job here in Singapore, the only problem I see is that Singaporeans are complaining that they are under paid for their skills and "talent" because of FT. And by having a university degree that doesnt make you any superior because many FT are uni grad too.
you are most welcome to be a nurse at SAF medical center if your fail in your attempt to be a doctor in Australia. Maybe they might give you a rank too you never know.Originally posted by fymk:Gazelle , keep that advice for yourself if you lose your job.
Abit funny right? Australia pay nurses more . Thank you very muchOriginally posted by Gazelle:you are most welcome to be a nurse at SAF medical center if your fail in your attempt to be a doctor in Australia. Maybe they might give you a rank too you never know.
I cant lose my job because I dont have one. thanks for your concern.
Australian army do recruit foreigners to join their service?Originally posted by fymk:Abit funny right? Australia pay nurses more . Thank you very much. If I join the Australian Army even better still - got rank as specialist officer.
You don't have a job? ORLY?
Sorry, I didnt know Australia allow cheap 2nd class foreign talent in their army.Originally posted by fymk:Abit funny right? Australia pay nurses more . Thank you very much. If I join the Australian Army even better still - got rank as specialist officer.
You don't have a job? ORLY?
I read they paid their soldiers highly n their Australian SAS is famous. U should take a look at the documentary when Australian troops landed inOriginally posted by Gazelle:Sorry, I didnt know Australia allow cheap 2nd class foreign talent in their army.
maybe you should remain in australia, ang moh tua kee.
they recruit permanent residents but with the condition that they obtain australian citizenship.Originally posted by will4:Australian army do recruit foreigners to join their service?
If you work , yet have no job - which means that you are self employed . But even those self employed will say they have a job to run their own business.Originally posted by Gazelle:Sorry, I didnt know Australia allow cheap 2nd class foreign talent in their army.
maybe you should remain in australia, ang moh tua kee.
If you engage in a hostile war , you qualify for DVA card with perks for medical care and DENTAL plus pension is better than govt pension.Originally posted by will4:I read they paid their soldiers highly n their Australian SAS is famous. U should take a look at the documentary when Australian troops landed in
East Timor to liberate them.![]()
stop being so busy body lah...all you need to know is that I am doing very well in this tiny red dot.Originally posted by fymk:If you work , yet have no job - which means that you are self employed . But even those self employed will say they have a job to run their own business.
So which is it? You have a job but don't do it , you are self employed or you looking for jobs now?
when you say hostile war, is it like get posted to Iraq and get killed or something?Originally posted by fymk:If you engage in a hostile war , you qualify for DVA card with perks for medical care and DENTAL plus pension is better than govt pension.
Then when you hit a certain age - DVA gold card - no need private health insurance liao.
If you get outposted and of a certain rank- the Australian Defence forces will pay for your accomodation regardless of whether you are in Australia or not . Defence housing all very nice .
they cannot tahan already lah, Howard did so well but ended up losing even at home, just because he didn't pull out his troops from iraq fast enough.Originally posted by Gazelle:when you say hostile war, is it like get posted to Iraq and get killed or something?
looks like someone taking ger love for australia to another level liao, willing to die for the queen and kangaroo.
solid man...no wonder they say ang moh tua kee.
so naive lah you.Originally posted by Gazelle:when you say hostile war, is it like get posted to Iraq and get killed or something?
looks like someone taking ger love for australia to another level liao, willing to die for the queen and kangaroo.
solid man...no wonder they say ang moh tua kee.
Some of the regulars in the Spore army also cannot make it n they signed on as regular. Got PP1 n PP2, those cannot make it one canntot moved on toOriginally posted by sgdiehard:they cannot tahan already lah, Howard did so well but ended up losing even at home, just because he didn't pull out his troops from iraq fast enough.
australisan troops used to be very good because those who joined really like soldiering. Now people join to get better benefits and citizenship, standard must have dropped, so now some of them died because they are meeting formidable foes in Iraq. Cannot tahan liao, even the Brits are pulling out, queen or no queen.
Personally I think those who can't compete in Singapore should really attempt to migrate to australia, good for Singapore and hope it is good for australia also. Please don't ask them to join the army if you don't like army life. We pay our regular very high salary and we don't want SAF to be a refugee camp.
you are wrong, nowadays there are no more iron rice bowl in civil service, dont talk about stability, civil service also in contract term nowOriginally posted by Gazelle:I believe those who think they cant compete in the private sector they should consider becoming a civil servant. Pay might not be as high but it offers you stability.
Bashing another country to look good?Originally posted by sgdiehard:Personally I think those who can't compete in Singapore should really attempt to migrate to australia, good for Singapore and hope it is good for australia also. Please don't ask them to join the army if you don't like army life. We pay our regular very high salary and we don't want SAF to be a refugee camp.
I heard that the contract is for 2 years or something like that.Originally posted by t_a_s:you are wrong, nowadays there are no more iron rice bowl in civil service, dont talk about stability, civil service also in contract term now
Do we have FT civil servants?Originally posted by t_a_s:you are wrong, nowadays there are no more iron rice bowl in civil service, dont talk about stability, civil service also in contract term now
To be directly employed in the government service of most countries, they restrict employment to their own citizens.Originally posted by Gazelle:Do we have FT civil servants?
We will consider candidates of all nationalities for all posts, except those that are security-sensitive, for which the applicant must be Singaporean.Since you guys requested that I make good suggestions. I think the civil service in Singapore should not consider non Singaporeans at all regardless of whether the jobs are security sensitive or not, unless they have no choice of Singaporeans in terms of the required skills or qualification.