Originally posted by Jontst78:
Or rather, NS is compulsory for Singaporean males, but hiring Singaporeans is optional for many employers.
I still cannot get conformation reply about the thinking that
a company can just hire Residents who are all PRs and no citizen needed.
Why I say this is,
the employment statistics is given out based on 'RESIDENT's. maybe only 1 or 2 out of a whole company is citizen and the rest are all FTs on EP, WP, SP and PRs. is this not possible?
I witness with my own eyes this situation.
A consultant hailing somewhere down the aisle of the indian ocean floated to sg some years back.
he initially worked here as an FT and then quickly got the PR.
then he got the citizenship. during his work life, he found companies here welcome FTs and like almost no where in this world, virtually, sg seems to provide easiest hiring of foreign workers and foreign workers can be easily be awarded PR just by applying for a common job like a technical position where his boss will also help him apply proving that he is employed here.
So as a new citizen he formed his own company and brought in his army hailing somewhere from the indian ocean. There, he knows, there are many young and experienced people he can get for lower cost than locals. and many there will like to live and work here given the nicer facilities and living environment and best important of all, the access to the USA market (stepping stone, or spring board, as its called).
So, he managed to succeed in his business and even broken into many gubberment projects which are constantly awarded to private sector based on cost and other criterias. so many foreigners work in gubberment projects. Some large consulting companies like titi consulting provided hundreds of FTs.
sg is small and tiny and very very little dot. you can find out what i say is true or not. nothing to hide.
I see this company supplied many many non citizens. Basically all are non citizens.
Thus, I suspect and ask, it seems possible that a company can just hire all FT and then convert them to PR in a few short months or weeks and then compete with locals and never need to hire citizens since sg employment, I not sure if the same elsewhere in the world, is using the magic key word called RESIDENTS where resident is a PR who is acturely a foreigner who just applied for PR and got it in a few short weeks or months by the help of his new immig boss utilizing the EP, SP, and WP.
I not sure lor. So I asking lor. can or not Gazelle?
Gazelle, I support you ok. *wink wink*

(pah signal)
How the come, no one knows how many sg'lians are unemployed? the press shows how many RESIDENTS unemployed but what about sg'lians?
Who is gonna protect sg? who will be the 1st's to be sent to the battlefront when trouble arise? who will be the firsts to sacrifice to protect? (hypothetical scenario only).
I think sg'lians are lucky compared to PRs. PRs need not do service. This honor is reserved for the citizens who will protect them.
wow, what a wonderful world. as you grow older, your experience accumulates but when you reach 40 and above, what happens despite experience increase? HK liao lah. HK HK HK HK HK Liao!
HK liao , HK liao , HK ALL THE Way!!! ( my new jingle).