I shall quote soul_rage from another thread to reiterate my point:Originally posted by qlqq9:YOu need to get to the working world to know what reality is. I share life experience, reality and facts. I believe in facts and reality more than theory and statistics. There is nothing to do with generalisation, it is reality and facts. Think it is just "dui niu dan qing" to talk to you about the working life. I have already shared and if you don't accept the fact and reality of the happening, there is nothing I can do. REality is what is happening in the real world. To me if one base on theory to analyse on the present happening (reality) it is just not completely appropriate. That is all I wanna say. You need to be working and face with problems then you will know. I hope I don't need to keep communicating with you about the reality and facts of working life, work/job employment problems/figures, for I can see that it is going to be in vain.
My main point is, figures and statistics are most likely not faked.Originally posted by soul_rage:Figures need not be faked.
For eg.
When comparing standard of living, compare Singapore with poorer countries to show that Singapore has a high standard of living
When comparing cost of living, compare Singapore with more costly countries to show that Singapore has a relatively lower cost of living.
Both figures are not fake. They are just presented in a way which the govt wants us to perceive Singapore.
You got to look deeper to truly see through the veil and look at the bare facts
Take these two months for eg, I have been to 3 companies - All the heavy weight in these companies are FTs, there are quite a number of foreigners in the file and rank level. The most ridiculous one is the one which employs a FW to do a cleaner cum tea lady's job. This company employs the least locals, 3 locals among the total staff strength of 20. Pathetic! REally, these ministers earn millions and millions but just simply, conveniently, may be intentionally ignore the employment needs of the locals are not fit to be our govt. I have never come across any gahmen so mean to their own people in the country to ignore the basic need for the employment of the people.Originally posted by eagle:My main point is, figures and statistics are most likely not faked.
You also know I have only worked for a short while... Which is why I want to garner more information from you.![]()
I want to know what you have faced in reality that make you think this way mah... I just wonder how many companies have you really seen that behaves the way you have described... 2? 3? Because from what I have seen in my intern company, an American MNC, most of the workers are Singaporeans, with a number from Malaysia, some from Vietnam/Indonesia...
Oh, that's the difference.Originally posted by qlqq9:Take these two months for eg, I have been to 3 companies - All the heavy weight in these companies are FTs, there are quite a number of foreigners in the file and rank level. The most ridiculous one is the one which employs a FW to do a cleaner cum tea lady's job. This company employs the least locals, 3 locals among the total staff strength of 20. Pathetic! REally, these ministers earn millions and millions but just simply, conveniently, may be intentionally ignore the employment needs of the locals are not fit to be our govt. I have never come across any gahmen so mean to their own people in the country to ignore the basic need for the employment of the people.
hello, I am just quoting you companies I have been to in these recent months excluding the past. I know what you are driving at. Most MNCs big or small I come across have so many foreign employees. What you mention is only the miserable minority of MNCs who employ more locals that is all. So what else you want to compare. Is there any end?Originally posted by eagle:Oh, that's the difference.
You are talking about 3 companies, with one of it only with a staff strength of 20?
And I'm talking about an American MNC (I can pm you the company name upon request), with around 50+ pple in that one department I'm working in? (I know the figure because I helped organize inter department games). And in that air-con area I worked in, there are 4 departments, so a total of 200 odd employees. In addition, this is only a portion of the total staff by the company. There are still other floors and buildings (manufacturing, packaging, etc). And what I have observed is, there are a large number of Singaporeans and Malaysians, and with a larger number of Singaporeans as compared to Malaysians.
So as compared to the total staff strength of your 3 companies, my question would be, did the American MNC which I have been working at employed more staff?
The thing is, the total number of staff you have saw is only a minor percentage.Originally posted by qlqq9:hello, I am just quoting you companies I have been to in these recent months excluding the past. I know what you are driving at. Most MNCs big or small I come across have so many foreign employees. What you mention is only the miserable minority of MNCs who employ more locals that is all. So what else you want to compare. Is there any end?
YOu don't have enough experience working or even visiting companies, you are just talking figures and numbers. It is dui niu dan qing to talk to you on this. You sound very much like a typical NUS undergrad or grad.Originally posted by eagle:The thing is, the total number of staff you have saw is only a minor percentage.
In another thread I have answered, I have calculated an estimation of 1.25 million Citizen workers in the labour force, of which at least 96% is employed, assuming foreign workers have 100% employment. Does that sort of gives you an idea on how many locals are actually employed?
Again, according to statistics, total labour force is 2.7 mil (rounded up). This means that more than half of the total workers in Singapore are not citizens, which may well explain the fact you have raised.
The problem with both of us originally is, we are discussing based on what we see, which is only a tiny window of the big picture in Singapore
....... I dont wanna be slowly steamed to death. [/b]er...hope u r not a frog...
So when you cannot explain yourself in the face of calculations, you decide to say I have not enough experience? What difference is that from Gazelle? Do you mean to say that a view of 3 small companies is more accurate than the labour survey/statistic of the whole Singapore labour force?Originally posted by qlqq9:YOu don't have enough experience working or even visiting companies, you are just talking figures and numbers. It is dui niu dan qing to talk to you on this. You sound very much like a typical NUS undergrad or grad.
eagle,Originally posted by eagle:So when you cannot explain yourself in the face of calculations, you decide to say I have not enough experience? What difference is that from Gazelle? Do you mean to say that a view of 3 small companies is more accurate than the labour survey/statistic of the whole Singapore labour force?
Even if there are 200 employees in the company you saw, how much percentage is that with regards to the 2.7 million labour force? Doesn't this prove my point about generalisation?
I may not have enough experience working or visiting companies as an individual, but how about the combined and mutually shared experiences of all my friends who has done at least 6 months intern each? That will surely be more companies than you have worked with in total right?
Please think and analyse further before talking la. Your observations may be correct, but it can be already be explained by the figures I have raised with some deeper thoughts and analysis. As I have already pointed out, the ratio of foreign workers/PRs to Singapore Citizen workers is about 1.16 to 1
Let's explore this deeper. We will need to bear in mind that the largest employer in Singapore is the government service, of which a extreme large proportion of Singaporeans are employed, eg DSTA/DSA. There are just many sensitive issues in the different agencies that only Singaporeans can handle. One example would be the SAF, who has already 100k regulars.
In addition, there are companies/MNCs like the one I have been to who employ a higher percentage of Singaporeans.
Thus, considering the above factors, the companies you have been to will thus have to employ more non-citizens. Hence your observations.
So in conclusion, nothing is wrong with both of our observations. The only problem is that both of our observations are just an extreme small sample size of the total labour force. Therefore, we should not make any generalisations.
To answer you,Originally posted by qlqq9:To get the figures, they need to approach MOM, so do you think MOM the hen will be kind to release figures to the oppositions? Even if hen releases info, is the data/info accurate? Can we be sure hen does not manipulate with the data/figures?
you are not qualified to talk about the TRUTH to me.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The truth is that there are hardworking folks who rise from poverty to become millionnaires. The truth is that there are foreigners who have come penniless and work 10 hours a day, 7 days a week for $600 a month before their contribution is recognized by their employers. The truth is that with equal access to educational opportunities, the son of a vegetable seller and a toilet cleaner is able to gain a doctorate from Oxford University.
And the truth is that there are losers who just sit on their butts and rant against foreigners who are more talented, more hardworking and more appreciative of the opportunities they have been given.
Bear in mind... Let's give him that he has seen a total of 2000 employees. That is less than 0.1% of the labour force in Singapore. Do you think that can be an accurate estimate?Originally posted by reddressman:eagle,
why are you so eager to say that
our friend there is giving wrong estimation?
I also , based on my past and current experience, witness majority FT and PR syndrome in the many many companies I have been to.
I am so confident of saying this, I challenge you to proof me wrong.
Why are you so anxious to make people think that our friend's estimation is a big wrong?
Someone can also say you are wrong.
I give you some benefit of doubt for 1.16 PR : 1 sgrean ratio.
Then you are indirectly saying:
1. there are 46% (i.e 1 div 2.16 multiply by 100%) of jobs occupied by sg'reans only. Also , you are giving an estimate of 46% of 172,400 jobs are occupied by sg'reans only. The rest PRs. This means 79304 jobs only went to sg'reans ????
2. Even using this guide to estimate, you forgot to include jobs created and occupied by FT non-PRs and non FTs non-PRs where non-FT is WP and laborers, toilet cleaners and road sweepers plus maids. Maids! You should admit there are many of them. Why ? You neigbors and colleagues and friends and relatives are all using them.
Assuming its true that 46% jobs went to sg'reans means :
1. 64 % of all jobs created in sg went to non-sgreans?
Eagle, are you saying all the above?
2. What is the basis of your ratio? Why you can convince me that you have the truth? Are you suffering from Clonism?
3. You sound like you come from the sources but using eagle as your net identity to spread your wisdom to convince people ?
4. Proof what you said. Else, I also can say.
Up to now, no one in sg can provide the needful figure. Absolutely no one. Eagle needs to prove his words. I challenge anyone of you out there to come up the answer. Else, you would have admitted to your subconscious that you are no better, that you know nothing about the truth. how 1st world leh.
now, I sing to you a song:
HK liao ! HK liao !! HK ALL THE WAY !!!!!!
I just realised I didn't address this statement in my previous post. Look at the post of mine that you have quoted for my analysis of yours and ql99's experience.Originally posted by reddressman:I also , based on my past and current experience, witness majority FT and PR syndrome in the many many companies I have been to.
He is not happy because I don't buy what he said. I prefer to talk to people who have sufficient job experience be it they are from the top management or rank and file who have been through in working life to know the employment status in Singapore. Now he is throwing tantrum and making it sound that I am Gazelle. It is so vicious of him to do that. Childish! Talking to him is like zhi shang dan bing. Well, so could this be a growing up stage for him that is why he behaves such.Originally posted by reddressman:eagle,
why are you so eager to say that
our friend there is giving wrong estimation?
I also , based on my past and current experience, witness majority FT and PR syndrome in the many many companies I have been to.
I am so confident of saying this, I challenge you to proof me wrong.
Why are you so anxious to make people think that our friend's estimation is a big wrong?
Someone can also say you are wrong.
I give you some benefit of doubt for 1.16 PR : 1 sgrean ratio.
Then you are indirectly saying:
1. there are 46% (i.e 1 div 2.16 multiply by 100%) of jobs occupied by sg'reans only. Also , you are giving an estimate of 46% of 172,400 jobs are occupied by sg'reans only. The rest PRs. This means 79304 jobs only went to sg'reans ????
2. Even using this guide to estimate, you forgot to include jobs created and occupied by FT non-PRs and non FTs non-PRs where non-FT is WP and laborers, toilet cleaners and road sweepers plus maids. Maids! You should admit there are many of them. Why ? You neigbors and colleagues and friends and relatives are all using them.
Assuming its true that 46% jobs went to sg'reans means :
1. 64 % of all jobs created in sg went to non-sgreans?
Eagle, are you saying all the above?
2. What is the basis of your ratio? Why you can convince me that you have the truth? Are you suffering from Clonism?
3. You sound like you come from the sources but using eagle as your net identity to spread your wisdom to convince people ?
4. Proof what you said. Else, I also can say.
Up to now, no one in sg can provide the needful figure. Absolutely no one. Eagle needs to prove his words. I challenge anyone of you out there to come up the answer. Else, you would have admitted to your subconscious that you are no better, that you know nothing about the truth. how 1st world leh.
now, I sing to you a song:
HK liao ! HK liao !! HK ALL THE WAY !!!!!!
YOu are suggesting appraisal system to mark performance of opposition. Think it is not appropriate, it is appropriate for us to come out with appraisal system to assess the performance of the PAP rather than opposition. Other than the few oppositions are paid for they are members of the parliament, the rest of the oppositions are not paid. WE should instead concentrate on assessing the performance of PAP for they are all paid by the taxpayers. It is only right and necessary to assess the greedy PAP.Originally posted by reddressman:To answer you,
maybe you can consider the fact that someone is tasked, paid and compensated to do a certain job.
I am not paid to do that. I am just doing the PEOPLE a free service.
Money does not drop from the sky.
No one owes anyone a living.
Perform or next better player please.
I propose a appraisal by the PEOPLE system to mark the performance of opposition and petition to ask them to elect a better candidate IF the PEOPLE does not think they are getting value for the PEOPLE's hard earned money.
what say you ?
suits you. It is obvious that in the face of hard facts and figures, you prefer to continue in your own delusions. Either that, you have not read through the whole analysis and argument before making a sensible post. However, it seems that you do not understand the reason behind your observations, as I have explained. Hint: Most Singaporeans are in govt jobs. Why? Cannot accept facts and figures that a student compiled from singstats website? If you are really that experienced, show me your facts and figures to prove me wrong, not draw a conclusion from the <0.1% of the labour force that you have seen. The sample size is simply too small.Originally posted by qlqq9:He is not happy because I don't buy what he said. I prefer to talk to people who have sufficient job experience be it they are from the top management or rank and file who have been through in working life to know the employment status in Singapore. Now he is throwing tantrum and making it sound that I am Gazelle. It is so vicious of him to do that. Childish! Talking to him is like zhi shang dan bing. Well, so could this be a growing up stage for him that is why he behaves such.
EAgles, please if you think so badly of me, stop communicating with me and I definitely don't like to communicate with you for communicating with you is a pain for you just can see what others see. When I don't agree with you you are so damn angry. Stop communicating to me on this topic. I give up on you where this topic is concerned.
What you have suggested in your very first post is, how manyOriginally posted by qlqq9:If everything can be calculated by figures then many problems will be solved. Go talk to a man who is out of job who is highly educated and was holding high positions about figures, see what reaction this man will have.
yOU ARE BEING VERY UNREASONABLE, YOU ASK ME ABOUT IT FOR I HAVE BEEN WORKING WHEN i TOLD YOU ABOUT IT YOU GO ALL THE WAY TO ATTACK ME. SO EITHER WAY, WHETHER I ANSWER YOU OR NOT YOU STILL GO ALL THE WAY TO ATTACK ME. IF YOU ARE IN SOME KIND OF PROBLEM AND FIND ME A VICTIM TO JUST VENT YOUR FRUSTRATION , THEN I WILL SAY TO YOU STOP YOUR NUISANCE, BE MORE OBJECTIVE AS A MALE.Originally posted by eagle:What you have suggested in your very first post is, how many
Also,
I realised I am reading at a figure that does not tell me the details. Not even a simple percentage breakdown of x% of jobs were taken up by PRs, FTs and Foreign Laborers and Y% taken up by singaporeans.
You had wanted to start talking about figures. Now that figures are in front of you, you want to say problems cannot be solved by figures? Which is also true. Figures are there to give you an estimation/feel of the general situation at hand, not the solution to the problem.
1) You asked me to be more objective? Prove to me which content of mine in this thread has not been objective.Originally posted by qlqq9:yOU ARE BEING VERY UNREASONABLE, YOU ASK ME ABOUT IT FOR I HAVE BEEN WORKING WHEN i TOLD YOU ABOUT IT YOU GO ALL THE WAY TO ATTACK ME. SO EITHER WAY, WHETHER I ANSWER YOU OR NOT YOU STILL GO ALL THE WAY TO ATTACK ME. IF YOU ARE IN SOME KIND OF PROBLEM AND FIND ME A VICTIM TO JUST VENT YOUR FRUSTRATION , THEN I WILL SAY TO YOU STOP YOUR NUISANCE, BE MORE OBJECTIVE AS A MALE.
ENOUGH, I HAVE ENOUGH OF YOU. iF CAN'T BE SOLVED BY FIGURES WHY CONCENTRATE SO MUCH ABOUT IT. ENOUGH, HOW LONG MORE DO YOU WANT TO ATTACK ME LET ME KNOW?