Are you suggesting TS to do the same?Originally posted by Kuali Baba:These people are making things happen for themselves. What are YOU doing for yourself?
If everybody makes things happen for themselves.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:These people are making things happen for themselves. What are YOU doing for yourself?
this was actually a byproduct of the vietnam war(may even date back to WW2) when phillipines was used as an RnR facility for US troops....Originally posted by Short Ninja:You can stay and try to be happy or leave and still try to be happy.As for your filipino friend who became a Singaporean so that he could move to the USA,is a pariah thing to do in my opinion.Dont you know that filipinos are American wannabees? America never wanted them as a state and till this day you find youngsters with USA patches and flags on their Jackets instead of their own national flag.When I was a Singaporean I was proud to be one but the country system was not favorable for me so I left.My point is be proud of your nationality wherever you have decided to make it your permanent home.
I don't wanna quit and leave Singapore..I have my friends and family here..but it juz ain't fair that these foreigners are using our citizenship for their own gains..it defeats the purpose of our government giving them the citizenship in the first place.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:These people are making things happen for themselves. What are YOU doing for yourself?
Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:nothing to me.
Which country are you staying at now? Care to teach how to do it? PM me?Originally posted by Short Ninja:You can stay and try to be happy or leave and still try to be happy.As for your filipino friend who became a Singaporean so that he could move to the USA,is a pariah thing to do in my opinion.Dont you know that filipinos are American wannabees? America never wanted them as a state and till this day you find youngsters with USA patches and flags on their Jackets instead of their own national flag.When I was a Singaporean I was proud to be one but the country system was not favorable for me so I left.My point is be proud of your nationality wherever you have decided to make it your permanent home.
Thailand oso wat (Vietnam war) but not even the bastards from the GIs are American wannabees......only the bastos filipino putang ina.Originally posted by Rockhound:this was actually a byproduct of the vietnam war(may even date back to WW2) when phillipines was used as an RnR facility for US troops....
so can say their lineage very rojak one
Originally posted by kaiserII:What can we do about it? Foreigners making use of Singaporean passports as a stepping stone to Western nations isnt something new. It has being already occuring for a few years, if not longer.
[b]
I had a Filipino collegue who was granted a Singapore citizenship and soon after he's off to the USA to get a job there! Apparently, it's much more difficult to get a job there with his Philippines passport as compared to our Singapore passport. Guess what, he recently managed to land a job in New York as a security guard and he's making plans to apply for a citizenship there! He once shared with me his plan which is to get any kind of job which could like him to get a green card and retire back to Philippines with his US citizenship and make use of the unemployed/retirement package that the US government is providing for her citizens when he's old.
[b]
Nong Nong time ago I met a cute Japanese Girl who thought I was a Hawaian hunk (because if I say I was chinese Singaporean sure kena throw stone oneOriginally posted by kaiserII:Which country are you staying at now? Care to teach how to do it? PM me?
Eligibilityhttp://app.ica.gov.sg/serv_citizen/citizenship/app_citizen.asp
The following categories of person are eligible to apply for Singapore Citizenship:
Person who is at least 21 years of age and has been a Singapore Permanent Resident (SPR) for at least 2 to 6 years prior to the date of application. Applicant who wishes to apply under his/her own merits may come for a preliminary assessment interview after 1 year of permanent residence.
SPR who has satisfactorily completed full-time National Service (NS).
Spouse of Singapore Citizen with a minimum of 2-year SPR and married for at least 2 years preceding the date of application.
Minor born outside Singapore but is residing permanently in Singapore, and whose parents are Singapore Citizens.
Child born outside Singapore whose parent is a Singapore citizen.
Tell me something new dude...Originally posted by kaiserII:Hi,
With all the happenings in Singapore, I am wondering is it worth to be a Singaporean?
Prices of things keep on going up but our pay isn't! To add on to our misery, we have to fight it out for our jobs with the high influx of foreign workers coming in to our tiny island.
I had a Filipino collegue who was granted a Singapore citizenship and soon after he's off to the USA to get a job there! Apparently, it's much more difficult to get a job there with his Philippines passport as compared to our Singapore passport. Guess what, he recently managed to land a job in New York as a security guard and he's making plans to apply for a citizenship there! He once shared with me his plan which is to get any kind of job which could like him to get a green card and retire back to Philippines with his US citizenship and make use of the unemployed/retirement package that the US government is providing for her citizens when he's old.
It makes my blood boils when he told me of his plan. Instead of appreciating of being a Singaporean, he has an ulterior motive of getting it and it seems like he's not the only one doing it, other converted-Singaporeans are doing it too because another collegues of mine (from India) is following his steps!! While we, born-Singaporeans, have to serve NS, reservist, put up with the price-hikes, absurd minister pay-rise and of course the members of the infamous "fami-Lee"!
I'm not part of any opposition party but sometimes, I wonder, it is worth being Singaporean? Already the influx of foreigners poses a threat to our jobs and public security but to have these foreigners make use of our citizenship to benefit themselves, it's purely disgusting! It seems like the government is not doing much to take care of us. For these foreigners, at least they have their native country to go back to when things go bad..but how about us?
What do you guys think?
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Nong Nong time ago I met a cute Japanese Girl who thought I was a Hawaian hunk (because if I say I was chinese Singaporean sure kena throw stone one) and the rest like they say,is history.
Very good question.Nowadays if you are decent looking Chinese,have money,good job and stability....daijobu desu!!Originally posted by kengkia:![]()
..jipon mei mei dun like sg chinese....what abt nowadays?