i think they have no life now.Originally posted by skyblue_1989:then wat happen to those who took lifescience course in poly after they graduate sia??
Bio industry has MANY branches. Pharmacy is just one of them. So it doesn't affect the WHOLE industry. Get it?Originally posted by faroukalhadad:I remember not too long ago our elites and our leaders keep telling us that life sciences is the way to go. Biotech is the future. Blah Blah blah...
Pump so much money into it. Tell our students to study it till so many got conned into taking up bio courses at poly and uni.
Yesterday news report that pharmaceutical industry is down AGAIN - by 33%
Looks like another gamble by the govt gone wrong.
reminds me of the late 1990s when govt tell our students to study IT. then IT went bust with so many ppl losing their jobs, with all the Indians coming in to work as IT "professionals"
NUS has alot of departments -_-Originally posted by Gasfene:in NUS, there is a pharmacy department.
1.Drugs making process takes no. of weeks to complete.Originally posted by faroukalhadad:I remember not too long ago our elites and our leaders keep telling us that life sciences is the way to go. Biotech is the future. Blah Blah blah...
Pump so much money into it. Tell our students to study it till so many got conned into taking up bio courses at poly and uni.
reminds me of the late 1990s when govt tell our students to study IT. then IT went bust with so many ppl losing their jobs, with all the Indians coming in to work as IT "professionals"
Biomedical Manufacturingdo some home works before u talk
....................................................................2005 ....2006
Manufacturing Fixed Asset Investments (S$ mil) ....860.....902
Total Value-Added (S$ mil) ......................2,570..........2,025
S1000 Award Top Net Profit by Industry
Company Name......................Net Profit SGD '000
Communications/Transport/Storage
Singapore Telecommunications Limited.....$4,161,300
Finance
United Overseas Bank Limited .................$1,731,403
Hotels/Food Establishments
Goodwood Park Hotel Limited ....................$208,596
Manufacturing
Glaxo Wellcome Manufacturing Pte Ltd .........$6,593,844
Retail
DFS Venture Singapore (Pte) Limited ............$148,707
Services
Singapore Press Holdings Limited ....................$488,389
Wholesale
Exxonmobil Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd. ......................$1,833,794

Really ahOriginally posted by faroukalhadad:with regards to this topic, just touched base with my friends from uni who took bio science.
they are now working as lab technician in a school preparing beakers and bunsen burners for sec students to do science experiments from textbook.
And the differences I notice working overseas is that people can move from one area to another with relative ease.Originally posted by lagrangian1125:If u take a look at the list of nobel laurettes, u can see even mathematicians contributing to medicines. How long will sporean take to realise that Math, physics and chemistry are really the fundamental of sciences?? To do research in bio tech life science etc, u need to be good in chemistry and physcis or even mathematics.
Mathematics is unreasonably powerful and touches all area of sciences. So if sporean youngster still rush towards life science degree and expect to be employed to do advance research, dream on. U can only at most help the experts to wash their test tubes.
Wake up pls!!!
Not really. I am sunk ....not flying.Originally posted by 933:Wah, dun know how to continue liao?
so many high fliers here in many areas. hahahahah
Originally posted by lionnoisy:Which factory, in Singapore, net profits is more than sum of net profits of
ALL 3 LOCAL banks?
Do you do stand up for a living?Originally posted by faroukalhadad:
I remember not too long ago our elites and our leaders keep telling us that life sciences is the way to go. Biotech is the future. Blah Blah blah...
reminds me of the late 1990s when govt tell our students to study IT. then IT went bust with so many ppl losing their jobs, with all the Indians coming in to work as IT "professionals"[/quote]
1.Drugs making process takes no. of weeks to complete.
So,u have seen and will continue to see the figures
in this sectors up and down.U are surprised becos u dunt know
this sectors....
Read the Tables and charts then u know
2.Remember we start from ground zero and now get this,not
bad.Biomedical Manufacturing
....................................................................2005 ....2006
Manufacturing Fixed Asset Investments (S$ mil) ....860.....902
Total Value-Added (S$ mil) ......................2,570..........2,025do some home works before u talk
u are not uneducated old uncle and aunt talking in coffee shop
to kill time.
3.Manufacturing still have long way to grow...
Question No. 1:
Which factory net profis is one and half of Sing Tel
2.Which factory net profits is more than sum of net profits of
ALL 3 LOCAL banks.S1000 Award Top Net Profit by Industry
Company Name......................Net Profit SGD '000
Communications/Transport/Storage
Singapore Telecommunications Limited.....$4,161,300
Finance
United Overseas Bank Limited .................$1,731,403
Hotels/Food Establishments
Goodwood Park Hotel Limited ....................$208,596
Manufacturing
Glaxo Wellcome Manufacturing Pte Ltd .........$6,593,844
Retail
DFS Venture Singapore (Pte) Limited ............$148,707
Services
Singapore Press Holdings Limited ....................$488,389
Wholesale
Exxonmobil Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd. ......................$1,833,794
[quote]
2.SG government expense is some $30 billion pa.Profits of Glaxo Wellcome Manufacturing Pte Ltd .........$6,593,844,000 is more than 20% of sg expenses!!.
Of course,there is much tax incentives under Pioneer Certificates etc.
Manufacturing still can feed many local and foreign families.