People complain not your business lah. You so kaypoh for what.Originally posted by eagle:Complains complains complains.... Might as well go wet markets/coffee shops complain to the old uncles and aunties there...
But got simple solution mah:
You don't like the country, you leave the country. What's stopping you? But if you have left the country, why do you still want to come back to complain?
Complain can, but might higher quality complains... Not complains that come from 'evidence' from what you have experienced... Like that complain might as well go to Whinehouse to complain about your experiences... Not speaker's corner...
You like the country, you stay and make sure the government does its job properly by casting your votes properly. Or at least, give proper facts, research and analysis before an attempt to discredit the government.
There are a few attitudes in this forum (feel free to add on):
1) Only know how to complain but do nothing {not even some simple research to substantiate} (armchair general)
2) Complain without proper facts, evidence and research (baseless allegations)
3) Complain wrongly liao start personal attacks, which is out of point from the original thread (sore loser)
Fortunately, this forum is somewhat saved by a few rather good threads, although such threads do go out of point sometimes.
Sigh...
what? So people of age 20+ are not qualified to talk about taxes, housing prices, quality of living in different countries etc?Originally posted by fishbuff:what? so all these discussions about taxes, housing prices, quality of living in different countries etc are met out by KIDS in this forum??!
You are who ah? So kaypoh come in for what. Go back to bar and share your own sex experience la.Originally posted by xuandao:People complain not your business lah. You so kaypoh for what.
You don't like to see ppl complain than go set up your own forum and write in the rules that nobody is allowed to complain lah
In fact, it is true there are foreigners who come here because they like it. The minority migrate here, while the majority work here and when time is up they will return. It all depends on what the foreigners like. Some like to have peace and stability, and I would say Singapore has it.Originally posted by eagle:Both of you are correct la...
Anyway, it is my German teacher who tells the whole class that she likes Singapore, which is why she move here to teach German. Being a language teacher, she can actually go to any other country to teach, but she chose Singapore because she likes here. Said while explaining in a lesson on foreigners in Germany in the past, a similar situation to that in Singapore now.
My Japanese teacher also told us that she moved here because she likes it. Said in a lesson on adjectives.
These are foreigners/people not really planning to move back to their home country or another country, but stay here because they like here.
I was on a holiday trip and met a Danish guy. He knew I am a Singaporean and started to talk to me about the gahmen in Singapore. He has no good comments about them. He pities the Singaporeans who have to work the whole life to pay for the housing loan because the gahmen price the HDB flats so high. I was told that with Singapore $200K in Denmark, we can buy the land and build the house.Originally posted by Spartans:of did I mention that the rare few bold friends are mostly Malaysians? haiz... But still got 1 or 2 Singaporeans la.
like wat 798 has said before, foreigners are more keen on local politics than Singaporeans youngsters.
Sad, others are more concern about it than Singaporeans. My foreign friends, ex bosses and colleagues talk about the way the PAP rules and so far none of them agree with the way PAP runs the country. My ex boss loves to say that Singapore is Dynasty Lee.Originally posted by 798:if u realise, even the malaysians n indonesians r more vocal about the politices here which is none of their business.
maybe the current young sgeans r giving up hope n not interested in politic anymore leaving sg to be slaughter slowly.
The example you quoted above is sad story but is happening in the real world. There must be a way for people to let out steam lah, if not the stress level will increase and health will be affected.Originally posted by reddressman:you know what,
you have suggested something by what you just said,
and that is ,
when people have some unhappiness are mindchanged to say only suggestions and solutions to their unhappiness,
you know what?
they will nebber loose as all complains are self-destructed and solutions provided.
wise or not is up to you to analyse this.
There has been many who preach the forumers not to voice unhappiness and provide suggestions, solutions, instead. Like this, what a magic stroke of genius, no more complains. 10 thousand years!
errmmm... to elaborate further, clearer what my message is,
i recall a solution level person who keeps telling his men,
dont report to me problems, give me the solution.
He happen to be responsible for providing the solution and
several other senior guys are waiting to take over his job.
Really, then put your words in action. Go have dinner at Centrepoint at 6pm today in black, show the PAP we are not happy with they way they are.Originally posted by SpeedStar:I have to say singapore is a safe and generally clean place to live in. Further more there is no winter here, which is hell of problem. Anyway sg is not a bad place to stay after all if u compare, however, there is still alot of things to concern to ensure the things stay in this way or improve in the future.
As for the complaint part in this forum....I already gave up talking to idiots who likes to take sides. I rather spend my time holidaying than argue with them. If u like it, stay, if u dun, fark off. What we need in sg is constuctive suggestion to improve, not whining or boasting about the government. We just want to have a better enviroment for everyone to stay in sg. China become stronger because they can united after the revolution, so y cant the sgporean united too?
So....I will reply selectively on ppl that is worth the attention. The rest of them, I will treat them like those maggots in the bar, ignore them. Kinda waste of time to reply to them rite?![]()
will you be there?Originally posted by qlqq9:Really, then put your words in action. Go have dinner at Centrepoint at 6pm today in black, show the PAP we are not happy with they way they are.
I hate to mention but u are one of the maggots that I dislike to comment. And u know u are on which side right? Its not hard to find out based on ur past post.Originally posted by qlqq9:Really, then put your words in action. Go have dinner at Centrepoint at 6pm today in black, show the PAP we are not happy with they way they are.
Well i share the same point with u. Too bad, some of the ppl just have the mindset crave in their head. But at least the views from the different parties offer a different kind of view, and sometimes, its entertainingOriginally posted by CX:I met with a Japanese expat living here once... He's with one of the Japanese MNC in SG...
He tells me that he likes it here, things are cheaper than in Tokyo where he was from and he and his family loves the weather here.
He still speaks fondly of his home country though... Politically, he's apathetic... he finds Japan's constant spat with China irritating and thinks that its much better for business if both countries can get along properly and he's not a big fan of sending troops overseas too.
It strikes me that he knows the difference between the country and the government and he's proud of his country even if he finds the government distasteful.
The point is, do we know what we're upset about here in Singapore? Is it sentosa? it is marina south? is it pulau ubin? Or toa payoh or jurong?
NO! a lot of us love this country and say what u like, some of us are actually happy with our little HDB pigeon hole in the sky!
A lot of Singaporeans are simply upset with the GOVERNMENT and the ruling party. And it doesn't help that the ruling party has been such a dominant part of everyone's life since independence.
The entire urban landscape and way of living bears some marks of the ruling party so intuitively, anything wrong with our lives or the country, the ruling party gets blamed, whether justifiably or not!
This does not help the cause of patriotism!
Unfortunately, many Singaporeans prefer to have a centralised source of blame-storming and simplistically lump everything together as "the PAP's fault".
Its a very tragic situation. I actually love this country but I do not always agree with the government and its policies. But when I step up and say "Singapore's a nice place to be", I get bombarded by coffee shop critics on an anti-PAP rampage...
I'm not talking about loving the "cheng-hu"... I'm talking about my home and how can I not love my home???
Don't come to this forum at all, you seems angry with everyone and think you need anger management. I am being nice just to suggest about the dinner at Centrepoint, but you are so damn evil to say allsort of things about people. See that you only talk and talk and not interested to put into action. There is no point discussing with you for you have preconcepts in your mind, why waste time talking to you. Don't expect us to agree with your everything. You are a person who shut people off, if you are so damn good, go start your own forum. Talk talk talk, when people put into action, you are not happy, when people talk you are not happy. Ni huo de fei chang bu nai fan! Pathetic!Originally posted by SpeedStar:I hate to mention but u are one of the maggots that I dislike to comment. And u know u are on which side right? Its not hard to find out based on ur past post.
There are things I do not like about the government, but there are also things i like to praise them for doing.
As for the protest, I suggest u go and fly kite. What can u do by wearing the bloody black? To show them u are unhappy and they will do what u like? What can u gain from these? I know there is nothing much u can do sometimes when the goverment makes a decision, but suggestion like this make me feels its like distrupting the peacefulness of our society. Will u offer the same suggestion when the goverment makes a decision u dont like? Correct me if I am wrong.
Ok last post for me here, I cant stand talking to ppl with both sides. From the beginning of the discussion, I can already sense what will they respond to the post. Shall not reply again. And guys enjoy ur "discussion", I go out and enjoy myself![]()
Yes. So will you condemn me and people who go? Speedstar is not happy about this.Originally posted by sgdiehard:will you be there?
Aiya, mouth belongs to other pple... let them say what they want lah...Originally posted by qlqq9:Yes. So will you condemn me and people who go? Speedstar is not happy about this.
Like that the person considers disturbing peace, then what about the protest from the Myanmar people here. Any way, there is no need to talk and do things to suit this unkind chap. He is extremely hard to please.Originally posted by CX:Aiya, mouth belongs to other pple... let them say what they want lah...
In the same way, its your bodyso go do what u want...
I don't see it as disturbing public peace lor... But it also feels a bit futile to me lah... Just my view.
Don't you know the master of the PAP running dogs only want to hear more praise instead of complain, therefore they have thier s h i t ty time the the mediacorpses praising thier master most of the time. And here you can hear the PAP dog barking complaining people are complaining here.Originally posted by xuandao:People complain not your business lah. You so kaypoh for what.
You don't like to see ppl complain than go set up your own forum and write in the rules that nobody is allowed to complain lah
Please read through some of the pages and see how many are in praise of the ruling party.Originally posted by (human):Don't you know the master of the PAP running dogs only want to hear more praise instead of complain, therefore they have thier s h i t ty time the the mediacorpses praising thier master most of the time. And here you can hear the PAP dog barking complaining people are complaining here.![]()
Because nothing will change from an isolated few wearing black on a random weekend.Originally posted by qlqq9:Like that the person considers disturbing peace, then what about the protest from the Myanmar people here. Any way, there is no need to talk and do things to suit this unkind chap. He is extremely hard to please.
It has to start somewhere for people to express themselves in action rather than just talk. Marching on the street to protest is disallowed here. As far as possible, these people are doing it in a peaceful way not to disrupt anything any peace and ensure there is order. Why do you suggest if you think this is futile?
You hit the nail on the head, good! There is this particular one condemns people complaining and said he disagrees with the way of PAP but when credit is due he wil give credit. He is against people organising Black Saturday and the wear black have dinner at Centrepoint today saying that these disrupt peace. Sounds like PAP's running dog.Originally posted by (human):Don't you know the master of the PAP running dogs only want to hear more praise instead of complain, therefore they have thier s h i t ty time the the mediacorpses praising thier master most of the time. And here you can hear the PAP dog barking complaining people are complaining here.![]()
It is announced in Sammyboy forum. Their purpose is to let the pap knows there are people who are not happy. This is a form of expression in itself, just like people come to this forum and view their views and unhappiness about the gahmen. The only difference is other than speaking, they put in action to show their displeasure, there is nothing wrong. There are far too many people who keep talking but do nothing when others put into action they are not happy. I admire people who talk and also put into action, talk alone is cheap!Originally posted by CX:Because nothing will change from an isolated few wearing black on a random weekend.
I agree that this form of public display is non disruptive and not illegal, but it is also without agenda (other than aesthetic display) and purpose.
I would suggest that if there is a core following, they should blog it and promote it so that at least pple know about it cos I'm pretty sure that mediacorp won't cover it.
Anyway, I find it real weird cos pple (particularly singaporeans) are so easily drawn towards the pointless, like "flash mobs" and queuing up for hello kitty dolls and bak kua, but they have no spine where political convictions are concerned.
Local media is controlled by PAP. Talking about GST increase, the CNA stated that shoppers and retailers not affected by kick off of GST hike. This is obviously propaganda and untrue. How can this be? People who read, watch and listen to local press, TV and radio and believe them all are just blind and dumb.Originally posted by royston_ang:I see the complain as a form of feedback abt what is happening in real life.
The ST usually side with gov and report favorably on all gov policy. For example, during the GST increase, I find most of the article in the ST repeating the gov reasoning for the increase or even on ppl praising the gov for the increase! But hardly any arctile on how the increase burden the average Singaporean. Such reporting will give the average ppl a false impression that the gov is indeed doing a great job!
The local media keep saying the economy is recovering, jobless rate is low. But how much of this is true? How much of the job go to Singaporean? You definitely can't find answer in our local media.
But like TS said, people shouldn't complain. If there are no complain, and the local media reporting only on the partial truth, you can't blame the average ppl to be deceived to really believe the media and support the gov policy.Originally posted by qlqq9:Local media is controlled by PAP. Talking about GST increase, the CNA stated that shoppers and retailers not affected by kick off of GST hike. This is obviously propaganda and untrue. How can this be? People who read, watch and listen to local press, TV and radio and believe them all are just blind and dumb.
this kind of stuff doesn't really help in political discourse does it??Originally posted by (human):Don't you know the master of the PAP running dogs only want to hear more praise instead of complain, therefore they have thier s h i t ty time the the mediacorpses praising thier master most of the time. And here you can hear the PAP dog barking complaining people are complaining here.![]()
it is a very different story when u are dealing withOriginally posted by eagle:You are who ah? So kaypoh come in for what. Go back to bar and share your own sex experience la.