Unfortunatly, you can only choose between two markets: private or HDB.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The market sets the price. You want quality, you pay for it. If nobody is prepared to buy at 700k, they will have to lower the price. Don't blame the govt, blame Singaporeans instead.
it is historically unnecessary. thank you. by the way you are totally behind the curve for not reading the exchange between fymk and myself.Originally posted by fishbuff:do u still want the emigration information that you had mesg me before?
The government has been and is still saying all HDB flats are heavily subsidized!!! At $700K, I can't see how it is being subsidized!!Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The market sets the price. You want quality, you pay for it. If nobody is prepared to buy at 700k, they will have to lower the price. Don't blame the govt, blame Singaporeans instead.
Ulu PandanOriginally posted by reddressman:I want to laugh at your statement that says sg has a place that is ulu.
have you been overseas?
you forgot there is a group of middle aged people with lots of cpf > S$500K to buy these expensive flats.Originally posted by elindra:Firstly, the cost of a condo in the area will cost much more
Anyway you will be paying more for the view than anything else
This cost also includes the fixtures and aircon which the flat is coming with
One thing though, I think the 8k pay ceiling is bullshit
You will have to eat grass if you earn less than 8k and buy the flat
And ppl who can afford it don't qualify for it![]()
that past was due to massive FDI into S.E.A. now the picture is different.Originally posted by eagle:30 years ago, a semi D with land size 4300 square feet at Lorong 1 Realty Park costs $30k
Now, a semi D with land size 2200 square feet at the same area costs $2 million
hmmmm
Why are we still comparing prices of the most expensive of HDB flats? Why not compare with the most expensive of condos?Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:The government has been and is still saying all HDB flats are heavily subsidized!!! At $700K, I can't see how it is being subsidized!!Many years ago, they promised that all Singaporean will have a roof over our head. I was young and was very proud of our government ... now ? With this kind of pricing, how to afford ? I mean everone will want a better design and location but to price along the private property ? I cannot understand ....
Well, people here like to compare with the past. So I shall point out facts of the past and now for them lor. Just like 18 years ago, a bowl of laksa costs $1.50. Now, most places would sell for $2.50.Originally posted by Daddy!!:that past was due to massive FDI into S.E.A. now the picture is different.
from my heart, NO. Why should HDB be built and then priced at condo prices in the first place ?Originally posted by eagle:Why are we still comparing prices of the most expensive of HDB flats? Why not compare with the most expensive of condos?
$750k is indeed high. Even a small 2nd hand 5 rm flat at Holland V costs $570k now, and without lift at every floor too. But then again, there are many other factors determining the price. Is it reasonable to compare the maximum price of HDB with the average price of condos?
2nd half flat no subsidy - so price due to market force, but new HDB are supposed to be subsidized ! That is what make me mad !! You start with one and the rest is history, no more subsidy leow ... They even got the cheek to say they lose money every year ... but then hor, they can build HDB hub and the old place at Bt Merah is almost deserted ..( now don't know cos long time didn't go there leow ) ... I don't even bring in the MND building at Maxwell Road ... if lose money can built so many office building ??Originally posted by eagle:Why are we still comparing prices of the most expensive of HDB flats? Why not compare with the most expensive of condos?
$750k is indeed high. Even a small 2nd hand 5 rm flat at Holland V costs $570k now, and without lift at every floor too. But then again, there are many other factors determining the price. Is it reasonable to compare the maximum price of HDB with the average price of condos?
How about the percentage rise in HDB flats with respect to the percentage rise in income?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:The better comparison is to compare how many years people took to pay off their housing loan, as compared to now.... this would be a good gauge if indeed they are doing a good job or skinning Singaporeans for as much money as possible to put into their own greedy pockets.
i find it suspicious that first we heard about shocking news of a few lucky 5-rm hdb flats re-sold at 700K ++ and then within 6 months MANY MANY new HDB flats are launched at 700K++ also.Originally posted by eagle:How about the percentage rise in HDB flats with respect to the percentage rise in income?
Then again, 700k about the max price of hdb, whereas for condos, you can easily find 1 million dollar condos with smaller live-in area, 2nd hand.
And again, why didn't anyone compared with the >2 million dollars that developers paid for en bloc sales? Wouldn't that be considered as the "max" price for condos now?
So why do people look only at 700k 5-rm flats? Why not a 2nd hand 10 year old executive flat at Hougang selling for 360k?Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:2nd half flat no subsidy - so price due to market force, but new HDB are supposed to be subsidized ! That is what make me mad !! You start with one and the rest is history, no more subsidy leow ... They even got the cheek to say they lose money every year ... but then hor, they can build HDB hub and the old place at Bt Merah is almost deserted ..( now don't know cos long time didn't go there leow ) ... I don't even bring in the MND building at Maxwell Road ... if lose money can built so many office building ??
I didn't really look at new HDB flats for sale; I've only heard of the one at Boon Keng on the newspaper.Originally posted by Daddy!!:i find it suspicious that first we heard about shocking news of a few lucky 5-rm hdb flats re-sold at 700K ++ and then within 6 months MANY MANY new HDB flats are launched at 700K++ also.
Err if I'm middle aged and have > $500k in my cpf I sure wouldn't want to put my retirement funds into a new flat.Originally posted by Daddy!!:you forgot there is a group of middle aged people with lots of cpf > S$500K to buy these expensive flats.
Originally posted by Daddy!!:does a fish have a back-side to be whipped on?
I thought u already got Australian PR n based on that, u can get exit permit or disruption from the reservist? Why u still need to come back?Originally posted by fishbuff:
i will be back in sg on feb 24 at tuas civil defence training camp morning 10am.. u can whip my butt there.
i would, but not on a HDB. The returns will be better than keeping them in CPFOriginally posted by elindra:Err if I'm middle aged and have > $500k in my cpf I sure wouldn't want to put my retirement funds into a new flat.
I just think that for flats of those prices they should scrap the 8k ceiling thingy
It doesn't make sense especially with flats of higher prices these days
ya lor hor, everlything not their fault wan. u no the believing of the me meh?Originally posted by LordIcarus:ya. singapore alot of land mah.
everything blame garment. think la.