Originally posted by fishbuff:alright. i will let u know if i come across any.
but i really dont go around probing people "how much u have ah?".
but a quick guide, IT job as an oracle database administrator in sydney can get $900-$1100/day on contract. SAP developer will get alot more. effectively, u can earn $200,000 per year as a high end IT guy.
my IT career in sg is a goner. totally dominated and replaced by FTs. if i dont leave now, i will be picking cardboards for a living in my golden years.
Didnt know they pay so much just to be a database administrator. I bet you must be making big bucks in your IT career in Australia.
Heya Lion ![]()
Originally posted by fishbuff:oh yes, actually if u do door to door delivery, it is alot easier in a densely populated area. labour is cheap, and imports are so easy into SG. check out www.nutritionpark.com, they now even sell boutiques and condoms online.
i can give u another idea but offline... dealing with high end jewellery... good profit, legal but not quite ethical. it depend on your moral standing of course.
why is it not quite ethical?
My gf also gave me her idea of dealing with jewellery, but not so high end... It is a really good idea, and so far I've only told the details to one fren...
Ya, nutritionpark will be one of my main source that I will be learning from, although I don't see how selling boutiques and condoms are part of their original intention of nutrition...
Originally posted by TCH05:
Evanglion, are you living in australia?
Haha no, I live in Singapore ![]()
I juz wish to highlight that pple leave the country for various reasons.
Some leave becos they have better job opportunities overseas, some leave cos they wanted a more balanced life (as opposed to a hectic life here)
So there may or may not be Singaporeans who made it big in aussie.
May not = becos they just wanted to have a balanced life. To live a decent life, have a decent job and have time to enjoy and have fun with their family.
Originally posted by Genie99a:Heya Lion
Making $$$ from property in Aussie is a two edged sword.One day ,the music will stopTrue sigh hope the day don't comeIs it normal for any country for this growth rate for property prices??Ok lar booming mah.... the salary of the avg Joe so high...
how about other aspects of life i mentioned.
How is the schools,shortage of teachers,
school discipline,water supply.
Which city you are staying?
I know for certain got water shortage... but atm i dun feel it much except that cannot use hose to wash car..... and got timing restriction to water garden. Worst case scenario we make our shit water new again and drink lor.... Singapore that system successful right i heard?
Teacher shortage i nvr heard of cos i dun care i dun study mah.... but yar u probably right... best u check with those studying here ba.
Im staying in Victoria, Melbourne
Am I right to say that singaporeans who migrated to australia are those who prefer a laid back life and making money is secondary?
Originally posted by eagle:why is it not quite ethical?
My gf also gave me her idea of dealing with jewellery, but not so high end... It is a really good idea, and so far I've only told the details to one fren...
Ya, nutritionpark will be one of my main source that I will be learning from, although I don't see how selling boutiques and condoms are part of their original intention of nutrition...
pm u liao. tell me if it is ethical or not.
Originally posted by fishbuff:pm u liao. tell me if it is ethical or not.
Yes super unethical... I can't bring myself to do it... Although I agree you can earn lots...
I pm-ed you the other idea, more ethical version
Originally posted by Genie99a:I know for certain got water shortage... but atm i dun feel it much except that cannot use hose to wash car..... and got timing restriction to water garden. Worst case scenario we make our shit water new again and drink lor.... Singapore that system successful right i heard?
Teacher shortage i nvr heard of cos i dun care i dun study mah.... but yar u probably right... best u check with those studying here ba.
Im staying in Victoria, Melbourne
save it, man. no need to reply to that kid.
since when teachers shortage is a consideration for emgration???
what is next on the arguing list? oz's hotdog too short? women too big and beer too thin?
glad to hear that u make heaps there.
Maybe a kid but i think everyone should fight for their beliefs.... just dun fight blindly
And me heaps? 50k/year? wait till you degree types start entering the market lol but then again studying is tuff u guys deserve it but the disparity should not be obscene (like singapore)
1.4k sgd/mth when i entered market in Sg ... walau can cry ... cant even support myself much less get married ... still remember having to get "pocket $" from father and save $ for smokes.
Now i see a homeless still can afford a gold coin ($1 and $2) and have some semblance of dignity
Originally posted by Evangelion84:
Haha no, I live in Singapore
I juz wish to highlight that pple leave the country for various reasons.
Some leave becos they have better job opportunities overseas, some leave cos they wanted a more balanced life (as opposed to a hectic life here)
So there may or may not be Singaporeans who made it big in aussie.
May not = becos they just wanted to have a balanced life. To live a decent life, have a decent job and have time to enjoy and have fun with their family.
I guess you dont need $$ to start a family in Australia huh? Everything will be provided and life will be happy ever after. :D
some came here empty handed but rely on some relative help. then build up from scratch. if the mcdonald pays $19/hr for flipping burgers, i dont see how anyone will have difficulty in getting started here, that is, if u dont mind to roll up your sleeves and work.
here, if u are hardworking, there is always a demand for u services. there are challenges here, no doubt about it.
but like a person that come from ethopia or kenya and stay in sg, he will say that sg is a heaven compared from where he came from.
it is a matter of adjustment and appreciation of things that u would cherish. if u want $$$$, then USA and UK will be the place especially for IT works. they pay in Sterling pound and u earn shitload of money. my brit colleagues keeps comparing the good life of working there compare to here..
Originally posted by fishbuff:some came here empty handed but rely on some relative help. then build up from scratch. if the mcdonald pays $19/hr for flipping burgers, i dont see how anyone will have difficulty in getting started here, that is, if u dont mind to roll up your sleeves and work.
here, if u are hardworking, there is always a demand for u services. there are challenges here, no doubt about it.
but like a person that come from ethopia or kenya and stay in sg, he will say that sg is a heaven compared from where he came from.
it is a matter of adjustment and appreciation of things that u would cherish. if u want $$$$, then USA and UK will be the place especially for IT works. they pay in Sterling pound and u earn shitload of money. my brit colleagues keeps comparing the good life of working there compare to here..
1.Oz McDonald pays A$19 /hr!!Now i understand why i seldom see Oz goods and services in the market,except the Ez-link cards.(This is great product,mate.),mutons,mike etc
The high costs drive Oz products out of market!!
How is Oz Current Account?
2.''here in Spore , if u are hardworking, there is always a demand for u services. there are challenges here, no doubt about it.''sorry i act as copy cat.
I saw many PRC and Indian etc settle in SG happily
and exchange red passport for the peace of mind....
Oz has minimum wage law mah
Originally posted by lionnoisy:I saw many PRC and Indian etc settle in SG happily
and exchange red passport for the peace of mind....
To be honest hor brother,
I think the PRC and Indian come to SG cos of the $.... stinge abit in SG go back to their homeland they got more buying power cause SG dollar mah....
I believe the minute you offer them Ozzie/English/American passport they will say bye bye.
The expats leh no need say.... SG meritocracy mah.... so pay elites alot .... of cos happy lar ![]()
Originally posted by Genie99a:To be honest hor brother,
I think the PRC and Indian come to SG cos of the $.... stinge abit in SG go back to their homeland they got more buying power cause SG dollar mah....
I believe the minute you offer them Ozzie/English/American passport they will say bye bye.
The expats leh no need say.... SG meritocracy mah.... so pay elites alot .... of cos happy lar
1.It sounds those go to Oz and western countries for the sake of life style,qualities of life,democracy(i think many imply here or dare not say),freedom etc---all the good and noble reasons.THey all love OZ!!
what u huys here mean Pple come to SG just for a living,money,take it as transit hotel(earn $$,take a good education,enjoy and go),they dunt have loyalty to SG!!
I dunt know their real intentions,to be honours.But they spend their golden and most productive years in SG!!They pay tax,spend $$ here(SG need pple spending here).
Do u know 850,000 foreigners(non--SG citizens and non--SG PR here)?In 2005 and 2006,all in all 200,000 came to SG?Some come here to do no-so-decent jobs to earn $$.
SG just 3.35 million citizens and 400,000 PR!!
But there are many here contribute to SG GDP growth.
2.One guy here say no one care the education before they migrate to OZ!!Oh,u talk to some parents then u know!Any parents who dunt do their home work and migrate is irresponsible.They just jump from hell--SG--to frying pan!!
Well, any place that do not rise the living standard expenses for no reason is better than SG...![]()
Originally posted by fishbuff:some came here empty handed but rely on some relative help. then build up from scratch. if the mcdonald pays $19/hr for flipping burgers, i dont see how anyone will have difficulty in getting started here, that is, if u dont mind to roll up your sleeves and work.
I am not sure if flipping burger is something young and educated Singaporeans would want to do for the rest of their live, plus I am not sure if australian government would grant you a PR or citizenship if your intention of moving to australia is to flip burgers?
I am curious why you want to bring up USA and UK as comparison when we are talking about Australia. in fact, USA and UK are pretty bad example if you consider what is going on to their economy right now
The subprime saga that is happening in USA is a good example to show that Americans are mostly living beyond their means (ie, using the house as ATM machine), and UK is also sitting on another subprime bubble waiting to burst, hence I am not surprise to hear "good stories" coming out of these countries.
Dont mind me asking, how long have you been working in Singapore before migrating to australia?
A bit OOP... Do you think land prices in UK will drop or rise?
Originally posted by eagle:A bit OOP... Do you think land prices in UK will drop or rise?
didnt I mentioned subprime bubble? :) plus UK is big and price of property also depends on location.
Originally posted by TCH05:I am not sure if flipping burger is something young and educated Singaporeans would want to do for the rest of their live, plus I am not sure if australian government would grant you a PR or citizenship if your intention of moving to australia is to flip burgers?
I am curious why you want to bring up USA and UK as comparison when we are talking about Australia. in fact, USA and UK are pretty bad example if you consider what is going on to their economy right now
The subprime saga that is happening in USA is a good example to show that Americans are mostly living beyond their means (ie, using the house as ATM machine), and UK is also sitting on another subprime bubble waiting to burst, hence I am not surprise to hear "good stories" coming out of these countries.
Dont mind me asking, how long have you been working in Singapore before migrating to australia?
Originally posted by will4:
US is a country if u a person work hard, they can be successful n if u look at the late Bruce Lee, Jet Li they are not highly educated but when they went to US to pursue their showbiz career, they managed to be successful. Is it possible for martial artist to be successful in the Spore showbiz? Have u stayed in US or Australia to experience their lifestyle?
Will, dont you think you should be comparing USA showbiz to Bollywood instead of Singapore?
America is a big country and the lifestyle in the eastcoast, midwest, westcoast, the bible belt etc are all very different. Personally I prefer the midwest, but not the weather.
Will, dont you think you should be comparing USA showbiz to Bollywood instead of Singapore?
America is a big country and the lifestyle in the eastcoast, midwest, westcoast, the bible belt etc are all very different. Personally I prefer the midwest, but not the weather.
Originally posted by will4:
I stayed there for a couple of years studying in SF Bay area n it is the same place where Glen Tan, the CEO of Subaru Spore used to study. Anyway it is called the Silicon valley n there is plenty of foreign professionals working there n in SF chinatown, surprised to see plenty of HK people going to work in Chinese restaurant.
when there is money to be made, there will always be chinese.