Originally posted by fishbuff:i just dont understand why most singaporeans have such low opinions about other singaporeans. is it an endorsement by the PAP to condemn all singaporeans to be "test tube washer"? geez, im wont use the same model as what is used to condemn my fellow singaporeans..... yet.
well, u enjoy your life there and i enjoy my here. There are many more singaporeans here in australia that come over with different or similar agenda but never voice it out on the forum. if it is soooo good in SG, then why singaporeans are leaving in droves?
1.What low opinions u refer to?I do not,cannot, will not and should not against to any one decisions to migrate or immgrate to SG.
But i found it is so strange that many dunt do their home works properly before they jump ship . some dunt know what happen in their new home land,eg water restriction,teacher storage,drugs ,gangsters.
2.''then why singaporeans are leaving in droves?''
do u mean many?how many is it?
3.I am more than happy many leave from SG.But pl give up your passport if u dunt have intention to come back,among other things.Dunt come back when u too old just to enjoy benefits but u spend your golden years in Oz etc to pay tax and enjoy.
where is your tax to SG?
The smartest guy is to be born in SG,with lowest infant mortality rate
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2091rank.html
---then enjoy not-so -bad schools and learn a good Singlish.
----armed with the little red book to apply migration visa(quota always unfilled)
---spend their good life overseas in their working life
---return to SG to retire(warm,too warm for old folks),safe,wait Temasek and GIC to trasfer funds to govt accounts for Old Folks hand out....without paying a single cent of tax to SG in their life!!
Sing with last breath:
Mari kita rakyat Singapura
Sama-sama menuju bahagia
Cita-cita kita yang mulia
Berjaya Singapura

But with the Oz passport in the safe deposit in Sydney.....
Originally posted by Spartans:Of course, especially in rural areas. For city, I heard Brishane has more racial discrimination.
Melbourne is slightly better as there is a rather high percentage of Asians living there.
So far i have not face any discrimination in Brisbane.
Originally posted by longchen:So far i have not face any discrimination in Brisbane.
congra.
Originally posted by longchen:So far i have not face any discrimination in Brisbane.
Compared to five years ago, the asian population has grown a lot.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:1.
Sama-sama menuju bahagia
Berjaya SingapuraMarilah kita bersatu
Dengan semangat yang baru
Semua kita berseru
Majulah Singapura
anyone knows what the above means? i dont know malay.
one of the bloke at age 26 is owning 2 properties.
http://www.domain.com.au/Public/Article.aspx?id=1196036956374&index=NationalIndex&headline=The%20highly%20geared%20investor
Originally posted by fishbuff:one of the bloke at age 26 is owning 2 properties.
http://www.domain.com.au/Public/Article.aspx?id=1196036956374&index=NationalIndex&headline=The%20highly%20geared%20investor
I am not sure what are you trying to highlight here, as far as I can see, this article is talking about a BLOKE (if thats what you like to call it in australia) own 2 properties, but only has $2000 cash in the bank.
supposed if the economy and housing take a dip, what are the chances of him going belly up?
Originally posted by TCH05:I am not sure what are you trying to highlight here, as far as I can see, this article is talking about a BLOKE (if thats what you like to call it in australia) own 2 properties, but only has $2000 cash in the bank.
supposed if the economy and housing take a dip, what are the chances of him going belly up?
cash is king.in the bad times,u hardly get tenants of tenants default.u wil be panic.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:
i can tell u are a old folk working in those pap grassroot. your blind faith is not shared by the majority of singaporeans, thank goodness.
remember my illustration of drowning victims? dont pull others down as well.
Originally posted by TCH05:
I am not sure what are you trying to highlight here, as far as I can see, this article is talking about a BLOKE (if thats what you like to call it in australia) own 2 properties, but only has $2000 cash in the bank.
That guy is taking a risk. No pain, no gain. Albeit the high risk.
However, I got my own apartment ( walking distance to the CBD and Melb Uni) before I was in my late twenties. The mortgage with my bank now is less than 30% of the total value from the first 5 years of working like crazy. So if I go bellyup , it is the property value that backs up against my debt . If die die cannot sell, got my savings to tide me for a year at least.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:
1.WARNING:If u cant do a biz in the country u grow up, what is the chance u will success in other country? How many % of Taiwanese,HK er,PRC er earns big bucks in setting up own biz and sales line in Oz? 2.To be successful in biz or sales line,u think JUST good English will do?How many people in SG speak god Singlish? How many earn big buck in sales or in biz? Do some home work lah,90% of biz will disappear after 5 years,and very high turn over rate for house ,insurance agents.This is a common everywhere. 3.This is naive to think SG is not a country let u release the potentials and she dunt treat u fair for your education level,skin of color,age,etc.And u think once u are in western soil,u can fly.
Actually I am flying. Thanks very much for your concern.
Now without counting Permanent residents ( since they have a backdoor exit to run)
How many % of Singaporeans can boast that they earn more than 100k per year?
How many % of Singaporeans can boast that they earn big bucks in sales or biz?
To tell you the truth , if you can answer that , I would be wondering where you got your info from because the ministries lump the PRs with citizens together in Singapore.
Originally posted by TCH05:fishbuff, are you talking about Singaporeans living in Australia having low opinion about Singaporeans living in Singapore?
It does seems that everytime we touch on that subject overseas singapoeans (in this forum) always see themselves as one up against Singaporeans living in Singapore and somehow Singaporeans who choose to live here are always being accused as blind PAP supporters or being a turtle living in the well.
To answer your question on why you are seeing so many Singaporeans in Australia, thats because Singaporeans families are rich enough to send their children to Australia for university education.
However that shouldnt be use as the reason that Australia is a better country or vice versa
If the middle class Singaporeans in Singapore make it , I am happy for them.
The most important lesson I learnt in life is thanks to Singapore as well. I am grateful for that. Better to learn from the FT policy.
Why bother complaining about FTs getting the best of both worlds? Be an FT yourself. Hey my old man started the idea , I continued with it :) .
So far I look at other countries. They recruit talents that win them the olympics, that give them a nobel prize, that brings glory to the nation internationally. So far I have seen no such output from the FTs in Singapore. Put it this way, if the ministers want to be paid like a CEO to find talents to contribute to the country's glory, and none sofar produce anything worthwhile, shouldn't they be fired like CEOs?
I don't look down on Singaporeans in Singapore , I empathise with those who are stuck , like so many of my friends, and they have cannot go because of commitment or skill deficits.
They are not the elites and they cannot talk about a 100K per annum salary in Singapore. Some are stuck paying off their 99 year lease apartments while supporting their families and trying to save with what measly they have left in a dream of a better life or wishing that they belong to the elite class.
Having said that, migration is not an answer to anyone's trouble. If you think it is gonna be a bed of roses once you go overseas, you are going to find yourself pricked by the thorns. However if you are willing to work hard for your dreams, you may find yourself the petals .
Originally posted by fymk:If Singaporeans in Singapore make it , I am happy for them. The most important lesson I learnt in life is thanks to Singapore as well. I am grateful for that. Better to learn from the FT policy. Why bother complaining about FTs getting the best of both worlds? Be an FT yourself.
So far I look at other countries. They recruit talents that win them the olympics, that give them a nobel prize, that brings glory to the nation internationally. So far I have seen no such output from the FTs in Singapore. Put it this way, if the ministers want to be paid like a CEO to find talents to contribute to the country's glory, and none sofar produce anything worthwhile, shouldn't they be fired like CEOs?
you sound very resentful though. wat's FT by the way though?
Originally posted by rlsh07:you sound very resentful though. wat's FT by the way though?
You call that resentful? You are a tad sensitive. Those are just facts. :) Relax lah.
FT= foreign talent.
Like I said, migration is not for everyone and not a total solution to their problems.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:1.What low opinions u refer to?I do not,cannot, will not and should not against to any one decisions to migrate or immgrate to SG.
But i found it is so strange that many dunt do their home works properly before they jump ship . some dunt know what happen in their new home land,eg water restriction,teacher storage,drugs ,gangsters.
2.''then why singaporeans are leaving in droves?''
do u mean many?how many is it?
3.I am more than happy many leave from SG.But pl give up your passport if u dunt have intention to come back,among other things.Dunt come back when u too old just to enjoy benefits but u spend your golden years in Oz etc to pay tax and enjoy.
where is your tax to SG?
The smartest guy is to be born in SG,with lowest infant mortality rate
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2091rank.html
---then enjoy not-so -bad schools and learn a good Singlish.
----armed with the little red book to apply migration visa(quota always unfilled)
---spend their good life overseas in their working life
---return to SG to retire(warm,too warm for old folks),safe,wait Temasek and GIC to trasfer funds to govt accounts for Old Folks hand out....without paying a single cent of tax to SG in their life!!
Sing with last breath:
Sama-sama menuju bahagia
Berjaya Singapura
But with the Oz passport in the safe deposit in Sydney.....
Let me tell you my grandparents story :
My grandma is nonya with only Pri 3 education, my grandpa born in Singapore, around the 1920s with secondary education, he looks like LKY, and supported much of the initial work LKY did in the 60s and 70s. for about 10 years into their arranged marriage, they couldn't communicate as she only spoke Malay and he English and Hokkien. Both of them went survived the Japanese occupation and understand what it was like to gather spilt rice off the floor just to survive. It was a hard life, but they eked out an blue collar existence that supported many children, due to the fact that he managed to find a decent paying job refuelling aircraft.
In 1983, they decided to pack up and go to Sydney to start a new semi-retired life, after all their kids had grown up and had families of their own. Renting for a couple of years that ate slightly into their life savings, working some odd jobs here that there and then finally gaining proper residency status.
In 1992 they managed to garner enough savings and earnings bought a house in Perth and migrated over there, and has been there ever since till today, retiring off the good welfare pension plans that residents over the age of 65 receive. They make yearly visits to their children's homes in Singapore. Although they liked coming back to Singapore, their visits have become shorter and shorter. The funny thing is, although they still liked Singapore, they found that they only came back to visit some of their children, and really with no other purpose. The also found that they now prefer to just settle back and relax in Australia as they get older, and are finding that Singapore's hustle and bustle, is quite repulsive to old folks.
When I was with my grandpa, he used to complain a lot about the Australian government and how dumb and backward they are, and sang high praises for LKY's initial fruitful efforts, however, he has recently stopped as he soon realised that the only type of information he was getting from the Straits Times supplied to the national library there on a weekly basis
Now my grandparents are still there in Perth, enjoying every minute of their sunset years.
It goes to show that migration was happening even way back then.
Dont mind me asking, is Australia a less competitive country as compared to places like Singapore, Toyko, Shanghai and Hong Kong?
Originally posted by fymk:...So far I look at other countries. They recruit talents that win them the olympics, that give them a nobel prize, that brings glory to the nation internationally. So far I have seen no such output from the FTs in Singapore.
....Having said that, migration is not an answer to anyone's trouble. If you think it is gonna be a bed of roses once you go overseas, you are going to find yourself pricked by the thorns. However if you are willing to work hard for your dreams, you may find yourself the petals .
1.''So far I have seen no such output from the FTs in Singapore. ''At least one won 1 4 th in Bing Bong,ok?
u need read more info,but i bet wont.there are many contributions fr FT in various fields,expecially technology,like defense,bio--medical,etc
2.''However if you are willing to work hard for your dreams, you may find yourself the petals .''This is very encouraging.But u have to ask 70,000 to 90,000 cirizens and SPR NOT staying in here over 12 months how are the lifes in their dream lands.
I can assure u if u have a job.Only IF.....
3.This is one of the reasons i wont go to OZ>>>
''THE corruption investigation into top-level leaks within the Victorian police force is likely to recommend serious criminal charges be laid against police union strongman Paul Mullett and former police assistant commissioner Noel Ashby.---
Cameron Stewart | February 05, 2008,''
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,23161170-601,00.html
When police is seriously and extensively corrupted,what do u expect other mechanisms in the OZ govamen?
I am not suprised that there are many defective platforms and lond overdue projects in OZ armed forces.Tell me which major platforms in ADF can work?REASON----CORRUPTIONS.
Originally posted by TCH05:Dont mind me asking, is Australia a less competitive country as compared to places like Singapore, Toyko, Shanghai and Hong Kong?
Originally posted by will4:
No, Australia is as competetive as Spore but Australian take a different approach to life compared to locals. Maybe it is the nature the kiasu nature of Sporeans n they have a siege mentality which drove them to work doubly hard as compared to Australian.
I thought australia pace of work is so much slower as compared to those major cities in Toyko, London, Hong Kong and Singapore.
A good friend of mine who has been working in shanghai for about 8 years now. basically he thinks that if singaporeans cant survive in singapore competitive enviroment, they can forget about coming to shanghai.
I thought australia pace of work is so much slower as compared to those major cities in Toyko, London, Hong Kong and Singapore.
A good friend of mine have been working in shanghai for about 8 years now. basically he thinks that if singaporeans cant survive in singapore competitive enviroment, they can forget about coming to shanghai.
heck, civil servants cant even survive in the private sector, let alone overseas. it is good that these pro-pap stays put in SG for good, else they give us aspiring and daring singapore emigrants a bad name.
A good friend of mine who has been working in shanghai for about 8 years now. basically he thinks that if singaporeans cant survive in singapore competitive enviroment, they can forget about coming to shanghai.
Originally posted by will4:
Pace of lifestyle is definitely more hectic in Spore n HK but this is the reason more n more locals are going to work in Australia n in Australia, u knock off at five mean five. An NS colleauge of mine who studied in US n later came back to serve full time NS cannot tahan the local environment anymore n he awol back to US for good.
I really admire those singaporeans who have the balls to migrate to places like NY and London. Singapore recently did a singapore day concert in NY and I was surprise there was quite a big Singaporeans community there.
2of my friends just went AU and staying there for good, quite true acutally
Originally posted by fishbuff:heck, civil servants cant even survive in the private sector, let alone overseas. it is good that these pro-pap stays put in SG for good, else they give us aspiring and daring singapore emigrants a bad name.
It's time to earn their money
I really admire those singaporeans who have the balls to migrate to places like NY and London. Singapore recently did a singapore day concert in NY and I was surprise there was quite a big Singaporeans community there.