then they make it more expensive to migrate. Till 90% of the 50% cannot afford to migrateOriginally posted by Catknight:Yes what if.....cause survey reflected the sentiment about our SG youths wanting to go to US or Australia and feel little roots here...
And really who can live long and be happy in a nation inc where everything is bottomline?
No wonder not enough emphasis is given on the lower-end group. They don't have the monetary capability to escape paying taxes in SgOriginally posted by Catknight:If Singapore were not careful, it could split into two or three parts, warns Foreign Minister George Yeo.
"And that third Singapore is the big chunk of people squeezed in the centre, between the poor and the rich," he said.
"This group is the most vulnerable. If they feel the high life is out of their reach, frustration can set in. And being more mobile than the lower-end group, they can be tempted to vote with their suitcases. That is an option the other group doesn't have."
Meanwhile influx of various groups who seems to be either unable or unwilling to integrate comes in..what we need is quality people who can fit in..![]()
People don't want to hear problems from ministers. People want the ministers to solve problems.Originally posted by Catknight:If Singapore were not careful, it could split into two or three parts, warns Foreign Minister George Yeo.
"And that third Singapore is the big chunk of people squeezed in the centre, between the poor and the rich," he said.
"This group is the most vulnerable. If they feel the high life is out of their reach, frustration can set in. And being more mobile than the lower-end group, they can be tempted to vote with their suitcases. That is an option the other group doesn't have."
Meanwhile influx of various groups who seems to be either unable or unwilling to integrate comes in..what we need is quality people who can fit in..![]()
Originally posted by eagle:No wonder not enough emphasis is given on the lower-end group. They don't have the monetary capability to escape paying taxes in Sg
Agree.... or at least give more seats to the opposition.... having opposition fill up the whole paliarment and having 2 PAP there won't do much eitherOriginally posted by googoomuck:I think it's more practical to elect a new govt.
Count me in......proud to be in that 50%.......in the world's 2nd largest country where bottomline is not everything.....Originally posted by Ferret:I hope u r in the 50%![]()
We don't need more of unmitigated immigration. Thank you.Originally posted by Coquitlam:Oh yes.....we would love to see 50% migrate.....after all it won't be a problem replacing us, what with all the influx from China and India, Vietnam & Myanmar......Malaysia......shiok man......we will see little India and Geylang grow in size....
Why not?Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:do u tink singapore government are gonna let dat happen?
Whilst it might not bother and affect you it certainly does bother me. It doesnt affect me but i hope one day to be able to work in singapore amongst close proximity with my friends again. Dink kopi and chiong abit for old times sake.Originally posted by :Why not?
I dun think they bother leh. To them, they'll just make the other replacement 50% citizens from other countries ma.![]()
and they can lock down ur CPF.Originally posted by eagle:then they make it more expensive to migrate. Till 90% of the 50% cannot afford to migrate
Everything is about $$$
If you migrate, you forgo you CPF till 90 yrs oldOriginally posted by ^tamago^:and they can lock down ur CPF.![]()
Govt always have the upper hand yeah?Originally posted by eagle:If you migrate, you forgo you CPF till 90 yrs old![]()
To paraphrase Neil Humphreys, it makes you wonder why on earth they left their countries in the first place.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Not to sound racist or anything but it's a little annoying that so many Asians migrate to Australia. Last time I visited home it didn't feel the same, it felt like I was still in Singapore. Worse yet, they live in Asian communities in Asian suburbs and only associate with other Asians so you get this massive separation between the races and a lot of ethnic gangs form.
Maybe some are students? What I notice is that most students, be it asian or americans , they like to mix within their own company. The americans especially. I know it because my good friend who is american , don't really like to mix with the Australian community except when he just wants to pick up chicks. He mixes with me because he knows me but he doesn't care to mix with other asians or australians he don't know. And I also notice some fair amount of american worship coming from the australians when I go out with him.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:Not to sound racist or anything but it's a little annoying that so many Asians migrate to Australia. Last time I visited home it didn't feel the same, it felt like I was still in Singapore. Worse yet, they live in Asian communities in Asian suburbs and only associate with other Asians so you get this massive separation between the races and a lot of ethnic gangs form.