Extrapolate the overcrowding now you see to the day when the population reaches 6.5 million what will you see of the situation?Originally posted by Timmay:I feel that Singapore's situation is considered mild compared to Hong Kong
Other than the sardine-packed trains during rush hour
The situation looks okay...for now
Yup I gotta agree with you on the last sentence...been helping a few friends of mine to quit but it will take time....best thinge everyone who wants to quit right now is to work towards meeting the basic criteria....and also for those coming here, just get PR will do....get the best of both worlds and do not get tied down hereOriginally posted by weiqimun:yup, i think sinkapore will rival hk in no time in terms of `sardine living'.
somehow, one will have to adapt becos not everyone can be a `quitter', even you want to be.
was at a shop this afternoon and witness another all too familiar situation. china woman came with her little dragon and wanted to buy a pretty expensive toy for her son. retail person speaks no mandarin. they had a tough time communicating even the basic thing on price and a third person, who probably scored an E8 for chinese, try to be the interpretor. he did a f*ck up job interpreting at best. becos the little dragon was insistent of the toy, mum bought anyway. $380 paid in cash. retailer cursed becos of this language barrier. china mum sense tt he's not happy but she got no choice. paid and left, probably the only time she's gonna walk thru' the door again for this shop.
another incident at popular furniture chain in tampines was also `funny'. the indian boy was way passed his height limit to go to the kids play area. Dad was not happy about being denied. told the boy to remove his shoes, bend his legs, etc., just to qualify but the shop admin stand firm. Mama man created a ruckus, insisting on seeing the supervisor, and making loud complaints. meanwhile, a queue form.
i am not generalizing. ugly sinkaporeans are a many too, but increasingly i see more of these outsiders.
if the incremental population will be mainly thru' these uncouth foreigners, we are going to see polar end of singapore's society and a culturally intolerant ans insensitive society. imagine a chinese national and an indian national got into a spat. the MIW's overeagerness to appease these ppl and let them in so easily is baffling, given the fact that sinkapore gvt pride itself of being a first world country and a bit of a perceived snob.
sinkapore has got the be the most lenient country in granting PRs. It made it seemed almost cheap. a taiwanese colleague of mine got a posting to singapore in the company last year. wanted his daughter to pick up english. within 3 weeks of arrival, got singapore pr for his family of 3 approved just like tt, and bought a hdb within 3 months, paying top dollars. it even caught him by surprise. he was just `trying his luck', he says.
like it or not, if u cannot be a quitter, then adapt and shut up (unfortunately)
PR of this country need to buy annuity.Originally posted by Coquitlam:Yup I gotta agree with you on the last sentence...been helping a few friends of mine to quit but it will take time....best thinge everyone who wants to quit right now is to work towards meeting the basic criteria....and also for those coming here, just get PR will do....get the best of both worlds and do not get tied down here
Serious?Originally posted by LazerLordz:It'll be a blast seeing all these little dragons in basic training.A lot of them cry in the Army. Really softies.
Originally posted by Airforceone:oh, you oready suffocatong?
Anyone feels that Singapore is [b]Over Crowded? or its just me. [/b]
Originally posted by Airforceone:yes its crowded...overcrowded...i heard PAP wants 7 million ppl. thats crazy!
Anyone feels that Singapore is [b]Over Crowded? or its just me. [/b]
You should go to HK or Tokyo and seeOriginally posted by robertteh:Extrapolate the overcrowding now you see to the day when the population reaches 6.5 million what will you see of the situation?

haha i kena this during my last trip back in sg....wonder why no one take any action to improve it yet....Originally posted by CoolMyth:We are already like this now:
It'll only be worse in the future.![]()
How worse can that place get... Packed till cannot add one extra person alreadyOriginally posted by CoolMyth:We are already like this now:
http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/4972/elitesns4.jpg
It'll only be worse in the future.![]()
The earlier you accept it the better man kekeke, this is a globalized world and Sillypore is going global man...I say bring in more China and Indian nationals....let them come lecture in NUS, do all the IT work for us.....let them come take care of your children as maids, and let them come and build allthe buildings as construction workers, let Malaysians, Vietnamese, Indonesians all come in, let them all bump up the population to 6.5mil people in 5-10 years time.....its so wonderful...so that the rest of us can leave and quit this pathetic place to build a better life elsewhere.....Originally posted by sunnytv:You should fart at the people who made the policy to let in the foreign in. They don't care the crowd, they care only making money as more people, more sales and taxes and money to earn from them.
They have cars, they don't take public transport.
The hawker centre, shopping centre, public place, etc is so packed.
Originally posted by fishbuff:
... like that, people here will probably work and have to give their ENTIRE paycheck to the our infamous FAP...Originally posted by tripwire:what the upstairs need to do... is revamp our transport, health, recreation and housing planning with 12 million in mind... then we can have lots of spare capacity to handle a mere 6 million...
imagine... double decker MRT train every 2 minutes...![]()
100 storey HDB flat..... every house with 5 bedrooms...
hospital with 88 storey wards and 3 beautiful nurse for every patient...
giant garden the size of ang mo kio up in the air above the clouds....
on the contrary.... where there is overcapacity.. the govt must encourage spending to ensure profitable returns....Originally posted by HyperFocal:... like that, people here will probably work and have to give their ENTIRE paycheck to the our infamous FAP...![]()